Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you get slagged??

• 01-07-2008 10:06pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭

My bearded Brethren, i normally let the facial hair grow until a point when people decide to slag me off about it.
    I am an Ex Tallaght man so I get the usual talliban comment.
    Most people call me osama etc etc.

Do you get slagged for facial hair?? What do you get called??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

jonny24ie wrote: »
    My bearded Brethren, i normally let the facial hair grow until a point when people decide to slag me off about it.
    I am an Ex Tallaght man so I get the usual talliban comment.
    Most people call me osama etc etc.

Do you get slagged for facial hair?? What do you get called??

I did the same thing as you before, grow it and then get pissed off. Then one day I just decided to grow it. Once it got past the scruffy look and started looking like a beard most of the comments went.

Now, it's mostly compliments with one or two rare exceptions.

You might want to update your signature btw ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

When I had the beard I'd get called 'Jesus' a lot.

Don't get much hassle about the hat though... I think hats tend to confuse scumbags and they don't know what to make of you.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

AH I need someone to make me a new sig!! :p

Well even when its not at a scraggly look I get the slaggins, but in fairness if I was to have facial hair in an airport I would expect to get searched to no end due to the fact that I do look a bit like I should be in the taliban. :D

Well, I'm going to try make one similar to the bearded guy but with a hat too. :D
    Just not tonight, I'm tired.

Oh yeah, I just realised I'm going on a plane in about 2 weeks for the first time with a beard... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Well I made my new sig anyway.

They have to check inside my hat at airport secuirity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I get the Jesus one all the time myself. It's kind of mandatory if you have a beard and long hair. Who knows, maybe one day I'll even start to believe it. ;)

I didn't get slagged by strangers for a very long time until recently when it happened twice this week. Both by people flying past me in cars. One even threw a bottle. Wtf?

Strangely enough, one of my friends? has been known to slag me about my beard yet he himself has one! That just confuses me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Dord wrote: »
    Oh yeah, I just realised I'm going on a plane in about 2 weeks for the first time with a beard... :eek:

I'm heading away in a month!! I know I will get stopped and searched.

One of the first times I grew it a good bit I ended up getting raided by armed gardai at 7am on a Saturday morning!! Apparently I was selling weapons and the warrant was for "Crimes against the State", terrorism.... I laughed my ass off then that evening shaved the beard.
    Most people that call me Osama tho know that story aswell so that just made it funnier for people.

jonny24ie wrote: »
    I'm heading away in a month!! I know I will get stopped and searched.

One of the first times I grew it a good bit I ended up getting raided by armed gardai at 7am on a Saturday morning!! Apparently I was selling weapons and the warrant was for "Crimes against the State", terrorism.... I laughed my ass off then that evening shaved the beard.
    Most people that call me Osama tho know that story aswell so that just made it funnier for people.

Wow! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

I got called Jesus as well in school. Because I was a Dub in Sligo it was just meant as a joke, in fact they were probably more envious than anything else. Some people can take it a lot differently I know that, I just laughed it off. Jesus is coming back though as I am going to start to grow my hair out again....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I get called Chopper :(

Dord wrote: »
    Wow! :eek:

Ah it was classic tho..... not nice when it happened but I laugh every time I think about it. Plus I have a written apology from them. It will be framed soon.

I do get the odd Jesus comment and that is mainly because the beard and the fact my initials are J.C.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I get some Jebus comments too cause I have long hair and when I'm on a night out, I tend to let it down. That's the worst of it though, I look too frightening to the average muppet on the street I think to have them make any comments ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

o1s1n wrote: »
    I get the Jesus one all the time myself. It's kind of mandatory if you have a beard and long hair. Who knows, maybe one day I'll even start to believe it. ;)

Yeah I think everyone gets the jesus one all right. And to a lesser degree moses. Jesus must be p!ssed off man, having all us hairy fcukers going around being compared to him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

when i had a beard back in 6th year in school, yes every single ****ing day.

annoyed me so much i fecking shaved the whole thing off.

haven't grown one since, think i probably should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

When I had the beard I'd get called 'Jesus' a lot.

Don't get much hassle about the hat though... I think hats tend to confuse scumbags and they don't know what to make of you.

Marshmallow Hippy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

Cremo wrote: »

You are posting on a beards thread dude. Take the plunge, go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I have a beard and long hair, so I get Jesus / Moses alot.... Easter time is annoying for me, especially in the pub on the saturday, every year i get "Jaysus, Your not meant to rise til tomoro...whah whah whah":mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Cremo wrote: »

My teachers actually made me shave my beard off in school.

I've never really recovered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

i get the usual bin laden. One of the lads in the pub calls me ming. It was a joke at the start but now its my nickname only if uses. Upside down head is used a lot though ha ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Plenty of "Ho ho ho, you won't get into [crappy nightclub I wouldn't waste a firebomb on] with that on yer face! IM SO WITTY!" Always from across the street though, and they never stick around at that. How strange.

I've been called Billy Connelly more times than I care to count. The fact that the people calling me such think that's a bad thing is hilarious.

I've also been likened to Alan Moore a lot recently, which is just f*cking awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Having seen your beard in person Sarky (Though not in done-up-for-a-wedding style) I have to say it is indeed awesome \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Don't get slagged really but it does get noticed a lot.

Some americans wanted to take a picture with me because of it

some other fecker asked if it was real (cheek!)

A 45 year old woman in a wine bar kept going on about how great it is and proceeded to hang out of it.

Dude in centra reckoned he saw me hanging around a mosque

I get the odd scum bag that tells me to shave it. These folks genuinely seem offended by its existance, which is strange and kinda worrying. I get the Bin Laden thing the odd time, not so much the jesus thing though.