Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MMA clubs in Dublin

• 30-06-2008 6:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

I dont want to start any arguments here, but i was wondering which mma clubs in Dublin are regarded as the most prominant, with regards to top trainers and events involvement. I am sure they are all decent but at present who is taking the lions share of the medals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

NHB submissions in Ranelagh are probably considered the best MMA club in Ireland, none of their fights have ever lost a match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Straight Blast Gym would be considered the top club in Ireland. But there are a range of good clubs in Dublin - So go visit a few and see what suits ya,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭CFC1969

NHB submissions in Ranelagh are probably considered the best MMA club in Ireland, none of their fights have ever lost a match.

NC,

Have you any information on this club ?? trainers , fighters , comps etc ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 jembo

Ye thats the info im after, no offence to anybody out there but ive been involved in other sports and its hard to shake off bad habits picked up from unprofesional trainers its just more work. Id rather pick it up the right way first off the mark, plus ive seen boxers languise in mediocracy just because there club wasnt at the races events and contacts wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭TKD SC

I live in Ranelagh and never seen or heard of this club!
    Would also be grateful if you'd any more info...

tks
    Simon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

All,

Please note sarcasm in NothingCompares post.

jembo,

SBG Ireland, BJJ Revolution, Next Generation Ireland, Spartan MMA, KO Martial Arts and Three Castles are all actively competitive clubs. As to the exact extent of their success, I can't speak to.

From the National Submission Championships 2008, in the advanced categories, Next Gen took gold in 68Kg, Sebestain Torres(NI) took gold in 75Kg, SBG took gold in 83 and 92 and Berseker(Maynooth) took gold in +92 and the Absolute.

Maybe Mark would be able to fill you in on the mma league gold standings.

I don't think anyone has stats on club's W/L/D record in shows, however.

Colm

Thanks Colm i had good look through the forum for info and found a great thread. I guess in an ideal world im looking for a club who predominantly teach mma but have instructors proficiant in the three arts that seem to be most popular as the skills needed MT judo and bjj, im just feeling around for the right info, anyway thanks for takin the time to reply without the sarcasm i guess you must have started somewhere too like the rest of us mere mortals who were not born in a dojo.

jembo wrote: »
    Thanks Colm i had good look through the forum for info and found a great thread. I guess in an ideal world im looking for a club who predominantly teach mma but have instructors proficiant in the three arts that seem to be most popular as the skills needed MT judo and bjj, im just feeling around for the right info, anyway thanks for takin the time to reply without the sarcasm i guess you must have started somewhere too like the rest of us mere mortals who were not born in a dojo.

IMO you're better off to train boxing/Muay-Thai for your stand up, judo/Wrestling for your clinch and BJJ for your ground, all separately rather than going to an "MMA Class". For me the "MMA class" is a practice where you practice merging what you have learned from the other arts into one rather than where u learn the individual arts all in one. So personally, I'd make sure when picking a club that u find a club with high level instructors in each.

Any ideas on a club in south dublin who has this neil.

My philosophy is to train them all separately and then once a week or so mix em up in an MMA class. Basically cross training. A lot of top level MMA fighters train it this way and IMO its the only way to get really good at any of them. i know for a fact thats how Georges St Pierre trains. Time restraints mean u may shred it down and settle for a combo like Boxing/BJJ, or MT/Judo etc etc but my opinion would be to do whatever u can and then once a week mix it all up.

Muay-Thai:

Warriors Muay-Thai in Bray....PM me if u want a phone number for it.

Bridgestone Muay Thai

Boxing:

Boxing links thread

Judo:

http://www.irishjudoassociation.ie/

Brazilian Jiu-jitsu:

http://www.sbgnorthside.com/

http://www.nextgenerationireland.com/

http://www.sbgireland.com/

Personally i train at Warriors and Next Generation. I dont have time for Judo specifically but all of the BJJ clubs I gave ya there will cover at least some clinch for you.

Anyone else feel free to add links, there are LOADS of BJJ clubs if ya rummage around this forum a bit you'll fins info.

Hope this helps.

SBG Northside are on the south side now? :eek:

As regards "that's what George St. Pierre does" type thinking. GSP is an elite level athlete. jembo is a novice. Elite level athletes in MMA need seperate coaches because they now have weaknesses that cannot be addressed by one coach, and also fixing their weaknesses is a requirement for them (or else they lose --> lose money and sponsorship)

As an analogy, a J4 rugby team has one coach. The Irish Squad has the head coach, backs coach, forwards coach, defensive coach, attacking coach, strength and conditioning coach., etc. And even with that, to a large degree it's done because people believe that you need a large coaching squad.

For most trainees, one coach is sufficient, as their development hasn't reached a stage where they can properly benefit from more than one coach.

While I'm hear and you've read so far, I might as well include this point I didn't in the first post.

The original question, and my answer, are fraught with errors. It fails to take into account percentages - how many from each club entered each division, were they the best in the club, or were the best prepping for a fight? There are loads of questions like this.

Jembo,
    My personal view is that athletes should be exposed to a number of different coaches over their career (but not straight away). One coach will have a different way of viewing things than another, and this may suit you for a particular problem.

Colm
    -www.spartanmma.com

SBG Northside are on the south side now? :eek:

As regards "that's what George St. Pierre does" type thinking. GSP is an elite level athlete. jembo is a novice. Elite level athletes in MMA need seperate coaches because they now have weaknesses that cannot be addressed by one coach, and also fixing their weaknesses is a requirement for them (or else they lose --> lose money and sponsorship)

As an analogy, a J4 rugby team has one coach. The Irish Squad has the head coach, backs coach, forwards coach, defensive coach, attacking coach, strength and conditioning coach., etc. And even with that, to a large degree it's done because people believe that you need a large coaching squad.

For most trainees, one coach is sufficient, as their development hasn't reached a stage where they can properly benefit from more than one coach.

While I'm hear and you've read so far, I might as well include this point I didn't in the first post.

The original question, and my answer, are fraught with errors. It fails to take into account percentages - how many from each club entered each division, were they the best in the club, or were the best prepping for a fight? There are loads of questions like this.

Jembo,
    My personal view is that athletes should be exposed to a number of different coaches over their career (but not straight away). One coach will have a different way of viewing things than another, and this may suit you for a particular problem.

Colm
    -www.spartanmma.com

SBG Northside...well I tried. I was keeping in specific to Dublin. Like I said BJJ clubs are easy to find on these boards, hence why i only linked a few.

The "elite level athlete" argument doesnt work for me. Go to the fitness forum and people are taking tips and examples from elite level athletes. Who better to base your training on than the best in all fairness? Why limit yourself?

Hey I was just giving my 2c, IMO even if you're at the very bottom of the ladder and starting out, you would still benefit from going to classes for the specific martial arts rather than attending an MMA class and only an MMA class. i think MMA classes are very useful for helping you gel your skills but I think in order to have a proper understanding of BJJ u need to train straight BJJ with a BJJ expert. Now if in an MMA class u get striking, clinch and BJJ tuition from various coaches who are highly proficient in their said disciplines but all under the same MMa class" then thats cool also...thats my opinion people can agree or disagree.

Neil,

I didn't say don't listen to experts, of course you should take tips from experts, but to follow an elite training routine when you're a novice doesn't make sense. Allow me to use an obviously obsurd example.

"Mino works hard on his stand up, Mino has a great guard game. I should work hard on my stand up to get a great guard game."

Obviously balony but it's just blunt to try highlight a point.

"JK is working on the De La Riva sweep for nogi. JK has a brilliant BJJ game. I should start training that."

Bit of a better example (still not perfect).

Novices need to work on different aspects than intermediate than advanced than elite. Granted, I'm taking these terms from Strength programming and the lines blur more in a multi variable sport like MMA, but a Novice needs to learn basics of guard before they learn cool gogoplatas.

jembo,
    Hopefully this isn't confusing you. Another note, seeing as I'm here and I like to pack a lot into posts: MMA clubs will generally have one "sparring" night when they'll more or less just do MMA for the night, or a lot of drills. The rest of the week they'll have dedicated classes, or classes that focus on one particular part of one range.

Neil,

I didn't say don't listen to experts, of course you should take tips from experts, but to follow an elite training routine when you're a novice doesn't make sense. Allow me to use an obviously obsurd example.

"Mino works hard on his stand up, Mino has a great guard game. I should work hard on my stand up to get a great guard game."

Obviously balony but it's just blunt to try highlight a point.

"JK is working on the De La Riva sweep for nogi. JK has a brilliant BJJ game. I should start training that."

Bit of a better example (still not perfect).

Novices need to work on different aspects than intermediate than advanced than elite. Granted, I'm taking these terms from Strength programming and the lines blur more in a multi variable sport like MMA, but a Novice needs to learn basics of guard before they learn cool gogoplatas.

Oh i agree, u should never try to run before u can walk but for me the best way to elarn the basics of any facet of the fight game is in a class specific to that field of fighting. Ill take striking as an example. Footwork is one of the most important elments of the stand up game. U walk into a boxing gym or a MT gym etc and they will beat it into u about the importance of footwork from Day 1, basics.....these subtle basics can often get overlooked. Its the same with BJJ. U need to be shown the basics of positions, the importance of the underhook, the importance of technique etc and in order to grasp these things IMO, u need to go specifically to a BJJ class or a boxing class or a Muay-Thai class etc.

I think it would be FAR more beneficial for anyone looking to learn the ins and out of MMA to take 2 BJJ classes a week and 1 boxing class a week rather than 3 MMA Classes a week. Hardly training like a pro either. Especially at the beginning where I think a grasp of the technical basics is crucial.
    jembo,
    Hopefully this isn't confusing you. Another note, seeing as I'm here and I like to pack a lot into posts: MMA clubs will generally have one "sparring" night when they'll more or less just do MMA for the night, or a lot of drills. The rest of the week they'll have dedicated classes, or classes that focus on one particular part of one range.

Thats pretty much what u need. Im just staying stay away from a focused "MMA Class" as your ONLY source of training. If u join an "MMA Club" now thats a different story....as u will more than likely be coached in the different disciplines by people proficient as strikers/grapplers etc. By all means go for an MMA Club but im advising against goin solely to an MMA Class and nothing else for your training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

I dont want to start any arguments here, but i was wondering which mma clubs in Dublin are regarded as the most prominant, with regards to top trainers and events involvement. I am sure they are all decent but at present who is taking the lions share of the medals.

In all honesty, John Kavanagh has the best international reputation for mma and bjj coaching in Dublin. His club is www.sbgireland.com

John Kavanagh is coach and top fighters would be in the past Dave Roach, Ais Daly and Arni Iskasson. They are the people who have competed at in the UK and won.

I think that pretty much answers your question.

ye i think ill give that one a go, doesnt seem to have classes dedicated to Muay thai like the northside branch but hey i think ill have enough to keep me going for year or so just getting a grip on most of the basics so ill jump that hurdle when i get to it. Thanks to all for the advice and fair play, yous seem to have created a community of martial artists and the growth and evolution of these sports is amazing to watch, keep it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Chupasart Muay Thai is in the same gym as SBG Ireland.

So i see just found the site for it sounds great thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Does anyone have a new website for SBG Northside? Their site is down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    Does anyone have a new website for SBG Northside? Their site is down.

Use the search function!
    There are numerous threads on Northside, including their new site

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055365368

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Ryanzo

Colm O'Reilly how much is Spartan training per session?

Edit: Interested in joining