Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life Festival 4/5/6 July

• 30-06-2008 3:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

Was supposed to be going to Rock Werther but didnt in the end up so was wondering is anyone heading to Life in Galway? Was looking up the acts on youtube and there seems to be some really good Dj's and the like..
    Did anyone go last year? I'd assume its a pretty relaxed deal and the organisation will be up on last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

That festival is on in my home town and I never even knew it existed until now!! I heard good things about last years event when I enquired but it can't have been too big since I lived there and never heard about it last year!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Crusaderjim

Yeah i'd say it'll be good but its very pricey...I thought it was only 70 quid last year and this year its 130? I dont see anything to justify it...I mean Finlay Quaye is hardly a big draw and he probably cost a bit. They would have been better off just getting really up and coming DJ's playing and leaving out the 'Big Names'.

Good to see Channel One playing though..very good band and i'd say they'd do a cracking set. Weather looks like its going to be pretty crap though and that could put a dampener on things...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ArraMusha

Was there last year, well recommended. The rain wont be too bad if they pass off and if the sun shines it'll be the place to be this weekend for all the party people. The DMX dj's blew the roof off the tent last year. :):):):)
    Full details are on www.neutronyx.net/aborrar/life_site_69/web_list/where.html

dee8839 wrote: »
    I heard good things about last years event when I enquired but it can't have been too big since I lived there and never heard about it last year!:rolleyes:

I live in South Kerry and EVERYONE knew about it last year, and have been speaking about it for months. Think it really spread by word of mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭cosmic

i'd definitlely recommend going! i was there last year and it was so much fun. the line up this year isn't as great (what with poor old grooverider being banged up!) but it's always a fun weekend, there's a lake to swim in and you can go on adventures in the forest and whatnot! oh, speaking of line up, i don't understand why there's feck all alphabet set people playing at it this year - they're always great to have at festivals!

This will be my first trip to it. Mainly on the advice of some of my more bohemian friends who had great reports about last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Crusaderjim

I'd def be going if the weather was going to be good..i'd say it'd be a great weekend. If not i might not..from what I can see its all outdoor which is great in bermuda but not so wonderful in the Galway!
    Seems as if they are pretty desperate to sell this festival out too...new price structure, a load of ads on phantom and the papers recently. I'd love to see some of those dj's though...:(

It was a blast.

Some great music, great people, great fun, great location. Just enjoyed every minute of it. Small bit of mud there, but that didn't take anything from it. Just gutted that it went so quickly.

Spent most of the weekend in the Minimum Zen and Connected tents, called into Breakology the odd time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Seems as if they are pretty desperate to sell this festival out too...new price structure, a load of ads on phantom and the papers recently. I'd love to see some of those dj's though...:(

Um, they've always had that price structure of putting the price up incrementally in the months before the festival, to encourage people to buy tickets early.

And so what if they've been plugging it on Phantom? Is it a crime for them to want to sell out (and I think it sold out last year anyway)?

Was half afraid that there would only be a handful at it, what with the weather. Thought it would be just me and the wife huddled in a field with a few hippies. As soon as we drove in Friday night and saw the hundreds and hundreds of cars parked up, knew it was gonna be great. And it was. Just the right crowd there, though could have squeezed in more of course because it was so spread out. Some of the tents like Minimum Zen got very full later at nights. It was a blast, worth every cent and more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Had a great time too. Arrived on Saturday afternoon and knights of the jaguar was playing in the breakology tent... Had a smile plastered on my face from that moment onwards:D

Highlight for me was definitely the old skool set in minimal Zen on Sunday. Ended up missing nearly all of DJ Marky because of that.
    Shame that it had to close at 12, but at least Saturday night went on until crazy hours of the morning...
    Finlay Quay MCing to dubstep in the breakology tent was a fairly magical experience too, what a ****ing legend!

Knights of the Jaguar? How did I miss all this? Though even if I knew who was playing I would have missed it anyway in the haze of, um, drink. Wanted to see Corrugated Tunnel in the Min Zen tent Sat evening, spent half an hour listening to some dj and it was only when I met him later he said he wasn't Corrugated Tunnel at all, the schedule changed :o

Wanted to see Al Keegan too cos he is on another dance site, but missed that too. Think I caught Coldcut by accident when I stumbled into Breakology at some stage. We had no plan really, just ambled from one area to the other, but spent hours in the Connected tent after 1am Sunday morning - it was fun.

The only act I made a conscious effort to see was Finley Quay in the amphitheatre, and bailed out back to the dance tents or psytrance are or someplace after about a minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Yeah i'd say it'll be good but its very pricey...I thought it was only 70 quid last year and this year its 130? I dont see anything to justify it...
    It was €75 at the start, and went up every month until now.
    Small bit of mud there
    Small?? lol. Did you venture over to the Neutronyx stage at all? It was a total mudbath. People were dancing in it with no shoes on, it was insane!

I thought it was amazing. I spent most of my time at the Neutronyx stage, the Breakology tent and the ChillOut Zone (Stayed up most of the night there on Saturday/Sunday). Went to see a few bands in the Amphitheatre, the highlight of which was Jape. Was annoyed the time went so quickly and didn't check out more in the Minimal Zen tent or do any of the workshops in the Healing Area, will have to plan and manage the time better next time.

On the Neutronyx state, Hallucinogen was awesome, as was Ocelot. ColdCut and Subsource kicked ass in Breakology.

Fell asleep early last night, having been wrecked from the night before, so missed Max Romeo, Penta and Jesus Loves the Aciiiid, which I was slightly disappointed with, but all in all, it was a brilliant and magical experience and I'll definitely be back next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Just posting to say that I had a savage time. Really really good craic, decent crowd at it too.

I actually miss the mud.

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Small?? lol. Did you venture over to the Neutronyx stage at all? It was a total mudbath. People were dancing in it with no shoes on, it was insane!

Saw that, was there for a good while Saturday evening, wading through it.

Anyone see the guy in the brown suit around the place? That was funny, fair play to him. I take it he didn't wear it to work Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭EvolutionNights

Yep. He said he was an art piece and that his suit is the art. Got in for free!!
    Seen quite a bit of him over the weekend. Here he is in all his glory.

groovin.jpg