Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Over 50s running

• 30-06-2008 12:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

I am 52, female and have done the mini marathon for the last 7 years.This year was the first time I RAN the whole 10k. - in 68 mins.Since then I've tried to keep up with the training doing some running and some walking.I did 5k raheny run recently in 29 mins.Any tips on what is the best way to keep up the training for a relative newcomer to running?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Hi lifian and welcome to the mad world of running. Those are respectable times btw.

You'll get some good advice here I think. My advice is to continue to set goals - short and medium term. These will give you motivation when it gets tough.

Secondly, don't expect too much of yourself. Take it steady and just enjoy being out on the roads and being part of our running community.

Best wishes - let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Hi. I would try to get into a routine as regards training. Don't worry about running all the time. Really long fast walks are great training too. Make sure your gear, particularly your footwear, is in good shape, and remember that rest and nutrition are vital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 lifian

Thanks for the tips.I think you are right about setting goals.I am going to try and run 2 or 3 times a week - maybe for 20 minutes.I have always been fairly fit having played hockey most of my life and have always enjoyed walking.It was my daughter who got me into running a bit as she herself started about a year ago.We are going to try and take part in a few more runs over the summer.I'll let you know how I get on - my aim is just not to come last in any of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Best of luck once you enjoy it, it doesnt matter where you come :) once your getting out and doing it.. great feeling finishing a race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Have you thought about joining a club? There are many athletics clubs with runners of your standard and also meet and train groups. 'New' runners are often intimidated by going to a club, but once they do turn up they are always pleasantly surprised that there are many others at their level and many slower. I knwo Donore Harriers in particular in Chapelizod have a number of women in their 40's 50's and 60's who train regularly.

I'm really enjoying it and it is a great feeling finishing a race - especially having run the whole way!Myself and my daughter were wondering about joining somewhere (dublin southside) so if anyone knows of somewhere that would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

lifian wrote: »
    I'm really enjoying it and it is a great feeling finishing a race - especially having run the whole way!Myself and my daughter were wondering about joining somewhere (dublin southside) so if anyone knows of somewhere that would be great.

Sportsworld train in Bushy Park, have an awful lot of women, all standards. Depends where you are in the southside, but Sportsworld may be a good option. They have a website.

Alternatively in the Evening Herald on a Thursday, there is an athletics section with notices from most clubs. Look through that for clubs near you and maybe ring the contact number and have a chat with them to see what might suit you best. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭rdunne

the herald on a thurday is great. also try do a few more races. gets you talking to people keeps you thinking about the running. you can have a look here http://bhaa.ie we do runs in dublin every few weeks. next is a 5 k in 2 weeks

Thanks for the above replies.I think Blackrock athletics train a few evenings a week in Avoca pk.Might get in touch.Ran a couple of 5k in the last few months.Really enjoyed them.Have improved my time on each run.My best time was 27.18 mins.Will be doing jingle bells run in phoenix pk in December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

The jingle bells run is great craic, there is a real christmas atomsphere at it! You have a good few nutters dressed up in full santa suits running it (one nearly bet me 3yrs ago!!!), Tea and snacks afterwards in Donores club house afterwards also, and they usually give you a free mug, which makes a change from all the free t-shirts you get the whole time! The course is nice with a tough uphill finish, but the finish is very rewarding if you have enough energy left to sprint home because you will pass a few people at the end!