Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pigeons

• 29-06-2008 4:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭

Hello all i'm new to boards ie, i was asked to shoot pigeons buy a veg farmer who is having his crops destroyed. I was wondering if there is a season for them, or are they procted now by law. Any information would be much appreciated and fair play lads class place for information:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Open to shoot all year round. They are classed as Vermin so it is, in fact, your civic duty to shoot them.
    Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

caoibhin wrote: »
    Open to shoot all year round. They are classed as Vermin so it is, in fact, your civic duty to shoot them.
    Enjoy.
    actually your wrong there. as i found out on this forum. i was picked up on the fact i shot a pigeon out of season.
    but if you have been asked to shoot them by a farmer to protect crops then its perfectly legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

whitser wrote: »
    actually your wrong there. as i found out on this forum. i was picked up on the fact i shot a pigeon out of season.
    but if you have been asked to shoot them by a farmer to protect crops then its perfectly legal.

Your right, i meant that it is fine for a farmer to exterminate vermin on his land. The op said he had already been asked by the farmer.

Any idea what the season is by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Same season as pheasant and yes fully legal for crop protection all year round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

caoibhin wrote: »
    Your right, i meant that it is fine for a farmer to exterminate vermin on his land. The op said he had already been asked by the farmer.

Any idea what the season is by the way?
    you can shoot pigeon to protect crops and only on the fields the pigeon are doing damage too ,but it has to be a crop ,it would do no harm to ring your local ranger just to cover your ass , every hunter should have a few no on there phone for there local area ,cops, doctor ,ranger, fire fighters ,esb, co council for dumping ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

nice first post "green peter"!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Thanks for all the replys lads. Hunting is becoming more difficulty with rule and regulation, i think we should all be given some booklet when we renew our gun lisance to state what is game, vermin, protected ect and all the season for each

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

greenpeter wrote: »
    Thanks for all the replys lads. Hunting is becoming more difficulty with rule and regulation, i think we should all be given some booklet when we renew our gun lisance to state what is game, vermin, protected ect and all the season for each

and a booklet that summarises Irish firearms law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 lusoshooter

I Agree with the booklet,wen i took my hunting license 12 years ago in Portugal I needed to go for twelve months curse,take a exam divided in two parts :
    First :60 questions were you are asked from breeding cycles to kind of feeding in any of the species present or not in the country,protected species, seasons,etc... You needed get at least 50 right answers.
    Then if pass the first round would get tested in gun safety were you would be asked to choose for example the right amo to determinate quarry,they will give you a gun to the hands and observe you handling it in a safe way, like if check if is unloaded (they will put dummy Amo in it) and at this stage of the exam you can't get nothing wrong or you will be returning next year after new 12 months curse and after passed the first part again.
    So I'm glad that is like that,because I'm feel confident to go out(in Portugal)with a gun and enjoy the sport.
    By the way, if any law get changed,wen you renew the annual stamp,The services give you a paper with all the modifications,so you can't say to the garda "sorry I didn't know a but any changes Mr.Garda",:oand will be five years without the sport if you get it wrong :(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

IRLConor wrote: »

and a booklet that summarises Irish firearms law.
    and safety also:p http://www.nargc.ie/Upload/Docs/NARGC-FIREARMS-SAFETY-MANUAL.pdf