Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SE Restaurant??

• 28-06-2008 5:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭

Could it be finally true what poker players have been screaming for from the Sporting Emporium that they have finally gone and done it?
    S.Emporium wrote: »

There will also be a soft opening of our Restaurant for those who want to make use of the facility.

I will be working in the Poker room this Tuesday from 8pm and will be available if anybody would like to sit down and have a chat. Hope to see a few of you then.

Alex.

That quote has been taken from the tournament section where the SE have advertised their €400 game. Anybody heard anything about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

Hey Danny,

Yeah, this is defo happening, I was talking to Alex last night about it. Not sure what exactly they will be serving or how exactly it will work but it seems like a good start.

From what I can gather there has been a couple of meeting this week to try and turn things around in the poker room which people should start to see soon.

Last night there was three cash tables going and a steady stream of people coming in althugh I don't think that the tourney numbers were great.

Hopefuly, over the next couple of weeks, things will improve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Lao Lao wrote: »
    Hey Danny,

Yeah, this is defo happening, I was talking to Alex last night about it. Not sure what exactly they will be serving or how exactly it will work but it seems like a good start.

From what I can gather there has been a couple of meeting this week to try and turn things around in the poker room which people should start to see soon.

Last night there was three cash tables going and a steady stream of people coming in althugh I don't think that the tourney numbers were great.

Hopefuly, over the next couple of weeks, things will improve

Well its about time, it is definately a step in the right direction to get the place back in order, because i for one have left there on many a night to go and grab some grub even goin to the shop to grab something small im comeing back with pocket fulls of bars and crips for people at the table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Yes this is true.... Bout time too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Was there last night and the restaurant was in full flow. Needs to be iron out a little but its defo a step in the right direction. The restaurant is on the gaming floor but there's a menu for the poker floor and you can get the food brought up but you cant eat at the table which isnt a bad idea if you ask me.

Was talking to Alex for a long time last night about the plans himself and John have for the poker floor. It seems that they will soon be given a bit of freedom and be allowed to implement their ideas and try draw punters back.

Theres quite a lot in the pipeline with freerolls, gtd tournaments, mixed games, smaller and bigger cash games and some other quirks. They have their festival planned for November so wont be closing any time soon. Alex and John will be spending more time on the poker floor than the gaming floor which i think is what the majority of players prefer.

I was surprised to see only 22 player turn up for their satellite last night which generated 4 tickets because i'd have expected the "old" sporting to get 60+ runners for this type of satellite. Hopefully with the new ideas and the reigns off, the sporting can get back to where it was this time last year.

Good luck with it Alex and John

Thanks for the update tony did u sample any of the food by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Thanks for the update tony did u sample any of the food by the way?

On a diet Danny and everything on the poker menu seemed to include chips! Its being tweaked at the moment! Liam Flood did buy 5 or 6 rounds of sausage and chips for the tables and they seemed to go down well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Was there last night and the restaurant was in full flow. Needs to be iron out a little but its defo a step in the right direction. The restaurant is on the gaming floor but there's a menu for the poker floor and you can get the food brought up but you cant eat at the table which isnt a bad idea if you ask me.

Was talking to Alex for a long time last night about the plans himself and John have for the poker floor. It seems that they will soon be given a bit of freedom and be allowed to implement their ideas and try draw punters back.

Theres quite a lot in the pipeline with freerolls, gtd tournaments, mixed games, smaller and bigger cash games and some other quirks. They have their festival planned for November so wont be closing any time soon. Alex and John will be spending more time on the poker floor than the gaming floor which i think is what the majority of players prefer.

I was surprised to see only 22 player turn up for their satellite last night which generated 4 tickets because i'd have expected the "old" sporting to get 60+ runners for this type of satellite. Hopefully with the new ideas and the reigns off, the sporting can get back to where it was this time last year.

Good luck with it Alex and John

Great news on all fronts and glad to see the upper management are FINALLY listening to Alex and John (The lads who know what they are talking about when it comes to running a poker room).

Good luck with it lads.

I will have 2 venture in for a trip then so soon and check it out for myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

I will have 2 venture in for a trip then so soon and check it out for myself.

Oh boy the Value is back in town :D

Pabloh wrote: »
    Oh boy the Value is back in town :D

No value here paul you need to have money to be value, super nit only Aces or Kings maybe 108 suited on the button i cant resist it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

Good to see you rocking it up at any stakes Danny :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Delighted this seems to have kicked off well... I hope we can get tea and toast with jam. (im on the flushdraw diet too)