Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shafted with Electronics purchase in Benidorm

• 28-06-2008 2:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭

Hi folks,

I'm hoping somebody will have advice on this.... One of the lads from the local pub was over in Benidorm for a week with the other half and decided, in his infinite wisdom, to purchase a MP3 player.

Simple enough I hear you say but not so. He made his way into on of those shops... And they proceeded to advise him on what they deemed to be good value purchases. Let the shafting commence.......

Item 1. a 2GB MP3 player ( a real piece of sh*t ) - €20 max on Fleabay or similar

Item 2. Portable DVD player ( albeit the biggest portable DVD flip portable I have ever seen ! ) - again, another useless piece of kit, worth no more that €50 at best

Item 3. Wait for it..... a 16Mp camera! again, a piece of crap. Weights the same as a few cotton balls and has the build quality of the previous 2 items.

Anyway, total cost, paid by credit card was €1855.

Has this lad any hope of recouping some of the loss incurred or has he been irreversibly shafted ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

holy carp!!!

WHAT WAS HE THINKING

you even get warned about this by the travel reps - he should cancel his credit card too as they will put more charges on it by 'mistake'. Its a well known scam in these places.

€1800 though, ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Yep Tails, dead right !

I wouldnt mind, but this lad was lost when they invented the electric kettle ;-) He is the first to admit that he knows jack about electronics so one colu argue that he deserved it.

I am just hoping that all is not lost, although it very well might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭bandit197

Did he agree on the price with them before the transaction or did they
    charge more to his card? 1855 eur:eek:
    The real price would come in at about 10 times less if even.

I dont think theres a lot he can do but I would cancel the card too.
    Better safe than sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Murphys law:
    It is morally wrong for gobshítes to keep their money

Yep, he agreed. And you are not far away with your guesstimation - I'd say probably €130 MAX worth of goods which comes in at less than 10% of the actual price paid.

Any advice folks ?

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    Murphys law:

Gob****e.....affirmative. But a nice lad all the same ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    Murphys law:
    It is morally wrong for gobshítes to keep their money
    Agreed :D

=-=

OP, get when the guy gets his bill, he can refute the bill, saying that he was told that it cost €185.50 and see what happens.

Thats was the game plan for monday morning. Exactly as you stated ;-)

Already contacted the CC company today - but the dept who deal with gobsh*te purchases are a mon-fri operation only; got there number so round 2 on Monday AM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

the_syco wrote: »
    Agreed :D

=-=

OP, get when the guy gets his bill, he can refute the bill, saying that he was told that it cost €185.50 and see what happens.
    if he signed the docket or entered his PIN he has no hope.
    OP already mentioned that the guy knew this was the cost, so what your suggesting is tantamount to insurance fraud

subway wrote: »
    if he signed the docket or entered his PIN he has no hope.
    OP already mentioned that the guy knew this was the cost, so what your suggesting is tantamount to insurance fraud

Ah come on now........

Remember the ACTUAL worth of the items received v ACTUAL cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

dodzy wrote: »
    Ah come on now........

You are suggesting fraud.

I've done it myself with a cc reverse charge to save hassle.
    In this instance your friend is 100% at fault here.

If he wants to recover his money he needs to contact cc people. Say he never authorised a payment for that amount. he can deny that its signature if he has even used any. If there is no sig pin, he is grand. Remember always sign a bull**** sig when dealing with dodgy foreing outfits.

Then he has to send off a letter to the chargeback people stating his case. They will give the retailer a month to reply. If they are dodgy they won't probably bother.

But if your friend has €1800 to spend willy nilly on electronics then he probably won't miss the money that much.

You are suggesting fraud.

I've done it myself with a cc reverse charge to save hassle.
    In this instance your friend is 100% at fault here.

If he wants to recover his money he needs to contact cc people. Say he never authorised a payment for that amount. he can deny that its signature if he has even used any. If there is no sig pin, he is grand. Remember always sign a bull**** sig when dealing with dodgy foreing outfits.

Then he has to send off a letter to the chargeback people stating his case. They will give the retailer a month to reply. If they are dodgy they won't probably bother.

But if your friend has €1800 to spend willy nilly on electronics then he probably won't miss the money that much.

Thanks for the advice Climate. Much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

dodzy wrote: »
    Ah come on now........

yes, but its called caveat emptor.

the buyer should do their homework before entering the sale.
    if i offer to sell you overpriced electronics and you agree then that is a legal contract.
    however, if i offer to sell you electronics and overcharge your card then we have an issue

i believe that your friend knowingly bought these items at the high price and is now suffering "buyers remorse", but unfortunately, it is now too late as the deal has been completed

subway wrote: »
    yes, but its called caveat emptor.

the buyer should do their homework before entering the sale.
    if i offer to sell you overpriced electronics and you agree then that is a legal contract.
    however, if i offer to sell you electronics and overcharge your card then we have an issue

i believe that your friend knowingly bought these items at the high price and is now suffering "buyers remorse", but unfortunately, it is now too late as the deal has been completed

Cheers Subway, but what of Caveat venditor ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Honestly - I haven't decided what's worse - the eejit that did this in the first place, or the people using boards.ie to advise him to commit a fraud.

Thread locked. Let him contact his bank for advice, but I doubt they'll be sympathetic.