Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Night antics

• 27-06-2008 10:46pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Ok alcohol aside, have you ever done something at night, because it was night-time that you know you wouldnt do during the day.

I dont mean something like robbing old mary who lives down the road or peeing against your old teacher's garden fence.

I mean like something really bizarre.

I can only stomach sushi at night. If i eat it during the day, i wretch for some reason.

Also I only streak at night. Ive done it 3 times now through an estate in tallaght on 3 seperate nights. One time i wore a motorcycle helmet and i dont know why.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

faceman wrote: »
    Ok alcohol aside, have you ever done something at night, because it was night-time that you know you wouldnt do during the day.

I dont mean something like robbing old mary who lives down the road or peeing against your old teacher's garden fence.

I mean like something really bizarre.

I can only stomach sushi at night. If i eat it during the day, i wretch for some reason.

Also I only streak at night. Ive done it 3 times now through an estate in tallaght on 3 seperate nights. One time i wore a motorcycle helmet and i dont know why.

Well, I only get drunk during the night.

*swig*

EDIT: Oooh, excluding alcohol...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

89%* of Boardsies are alcos. Excluding the demon drink, you won't get many replies here.

*rough estimation. Margin of error is +/- infinity

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Dang it, in conclusion, i need a drink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

100%* of Boardsies are alcos. Excluding the demon drink, you won't get many replies here.

*accurate estimation. Margin of error is +/- 0

Fixed that for you there.

On topic, I generally drive faster at night than during the day. This is a matter of traffic though, less on the road means ability to drive at (and maybe slightly above) the speed limit, whereas during the day there's always a woman in a Micra/Yaris/Corsa in the way. And no, not trying to be sexist, just that it's always a woman in a Micra/Yaris/Corsa because no self respecting man would be caught dead in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

I have knocked on a persons door at random times of the nite because they pissed me off during the day(this was on holiday though):D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

When I was a night worker I used to like walking around in the middle of the street. Merrion Square is quite beautiful when lit by a full moon, so I'd go see it from all the angles :)

Driving too, as said. It's just nicer to drive at night and you can tip along safely at speed. Once hit 145 in my mates car driving from Letterkenny to Galway with only one other soul on the road with us who we passed at 120 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭HAPPYGIRL

jor el wrote: »
    Fixed that for you there.

On topic, I generally drive faster at night than during the day. This is a matter of traffic though, less on the road means ability to drive at (and maybe slightly above) the speed limit, whereas during the day there's always a woman in a Micra/Yaris/Corsa in the way. And no, not trying to be sexist, just that it's always a woman in a Micra/Yaris/Corsa because no self respecting man would be caught dead in one.

Right...... it just comes naturally so. :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

Soon as the staute of limitations runs down I will be nhappy to let you in on my less than proper nocturnal activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

I can't drink milk in any quantity larger than coffee untill later in the day or i throw it and whatever is in my stomach at the time up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Sebzy

1. Walk around the phoenix park at 3 am and wait for the the sunrise while drinking apple and cinnamon schnapps with the previous other half.

2. Light painting a castle with torches.

3. Bring people on ghost tours of old abandoned buildings.

4. Only bite people at night too ;)

I prefer the night as I feel more alive and especially like places that are quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

That was you?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I like going to the beach at night, just standing there, running around sand dunes, it's lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Lollers.
    I love being out in the night, 3 am on a week night and here about is all mine to wander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭spoonbadger

I know it's not exactly bizarre,but during the summer i'd occaisonally grab my guitar, walk to a bridge near my house and just sit there jamming at 3am. And of course there's no traffic, because i live something like 7 miles from KK city...

...it's deliverance country out here. So a banjo may be more fitting than guitar :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Skinny-dipping off an Irish beach ...

i live something like 7 miles from KK city...

...it's deliverance country out here. So a banjo may be more fitting than guitar :D.
    Meh, I'm surprised ye don't just string up a hurley and twang it!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭ArthurGuinness

I used to stay up all night and sleep most of the day so everything i used to do i did it at night but i am out of that routine now. One of the maddest things i have done is gone driving bollocks naked at around 2am just to see what it was like. I drove 15 miles to my nearest tesco car park drove around it twice then drove home thank god i wasnt stoppped at a garda check point and i should also point out i didnt bring any cloths. It was MAGICAL heaters on full belt cold winters nights bollocks naked! I would recommend it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Kharn wrote: »

Driving too, as said. It's just nicer to drive at night and you can tip along safely at speed. Once hit 145 in my mates car driving from Letterkenny to Galway with only one other soul on the road with us who we passed at 120 :D

KMPH or MPH? If MPH what were you driving? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭ArthurGuinness

mmmm maybe ill take a midnight drive NAKED and drive very fast sounds like fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Meh, I'm surprised ye don't just string up a hurley and twang it!! :D

Now there's a surprise. :pac:

What, me slagging a Kilkenny man? ^_~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Mine too, (ok so I wasn't totally naked) Silver strand - one of the most fun nights I ever had! Candles, bbq's, 4 guitars, bongos on the beach, water was warm and we had phosphorescent plankton flying off our finger tips like sparks! Twas amazing and so beautiful!

On of my best memories ever. :o

Mine too, (ok so I wasn't totally naked)
    Meh! :p
    Silver strand
    Sounds like you were with a big gang, but actually can be a bit dodge ... tends to get ranks of cars with steamed up windows any time after midnight, and hence attracts a few of the long mac peeping tom brigade! :rolleyes:

(And before the Sandymount smort orse chips in, no, I don't own a long mac!! :p:D )

What, me slagging a Kilkenny man? ^_~

Heh, exactly. :P
    Sounds like you were with a big gang, but actually can be a bit dodge ... tends to get ranks of cars with steamed up windows any time after midnight, and hence attracts a few of the long mac peeping tom brigade! :rolleyes:

(And before the Sandymount smort orse chips in, no, I don't own a long mac!! :p:D )

Nah, my local beach is full of creepy types at night. Pain in the orse.

Antics wise, I think one would involve a rooftop picnic on top of a Dutch apartment building in the middle of the night...

Nah, my local beach is full of creepy types at night. Pain in the orse.

Isn't it though?! :rolleyes: Thank God I spent all my summers as a teenager within an asses roar of several small beaches. They saw plenty of nocturnal activity all right, but it was us locals / the holidaymakers, all of much the same age, all up to much the same thing, so no-one worried too much!

Any weirdos chancing their arm would have been sent lurching home with their juevos re-made into pancakes! ;):D

Isn't it though?! :rolleyes: Thank God I spent all my summers as a teenager within an asses roar of several small beaches. They saw plenty of nocturnal activity all right, but it was us locals / the holidaymakers, all of much the same age, all up to much the same thing, so no-one worried too much!

Any weirdos chancing their arm would have been sent lurching home with their juevos re-made into pancakes! ;):D

Doubt most people are even aware of the problem in my neck of the woods.

Sandymount Strand though is not somewhere you could ever hope to have a private encounter. :pac:

at Silver strand, you have to pay to go on to the beach, we were camping for the night, so the only people with beach access are the people who are camping.

Are we talking about the same Silver Strand? 0_o

Though maybe they have started doing that, it was getting out of hand out there, so maybe they did something about it.

Must be talking about different ones so, becuse it's always been like that, we went as kids too. Are you talking about wolohans?

Nope, Silver Strand west of Galway!

Soz, crossed wires! :D

You should visit th SS I was talking about! You climb down very steep steps on the side of a cliff. It's a little cove so the water stays warm most of the night. And you can make as much noise as you like because you are at the bottom of a huge cliff so noone can hear you. I love it. We go nearly every weekend once the good weather starts.

Aye, that would be more similar to the type of beaches I was talking about earlier ...

Ah, the Galway Silver Strand is fine during the day too, it's just too close to the city, too open and too well known when it comes to night-time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

when I lived at home we'd go skinny dipping at night, wouldn't do that during the day, tis fun:p Unfortunately its too cold to go skinny dipping in Ireland:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

God I am dull. The most bizarre thing I've done at night is to go hillwalking. Night-time hillwalking is really peaceful and for obvious reasons throws up new challenges.

Nightwish wrote: »
    God I am dull. The most bizarre thing I've done at night is to go hillwalking. Night-time hillwalking is really peaceful and for obvious reasons throws up new challenges.

The most bizarre night time occurance I had was coming accross that lit statue of mary in Sligo. Holy fook is that creepy.

SDooM wrote: »
    The most bizarre night time occurance I had was coming accross that lit statue of mary in Sligo. Holy fook is that creepy.

Try the statue of Jesus in Rio. Every time you look up he's there - every time you do a shot, Jesus is there, disapproving. Really makes ya paranoid. ^^

In a small town in Austria I came across a crazy procession of Religious people at around 1am. They were wearing capes and carrying an illuminated cross through the empty streets and chanting. I left before it got all Wicker Man.

Austria's your problem there. ;)

Ever seen those Spanish religious lads whose robes the Klan copied?

Modern connotations make 'em look terrifying.

Thats kind of teh awesome, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

Austria's your problem there. ;)

Ever seen those Spanish religious lads whose robes the Klan copied?

Modern connotations make 'em look terrifying.
    capirote.jpg

Bingo. ;)

Jebus, they're creepy! The ones in Stanzach were more Gregorian than Klan-like.

You know, in clontarf castle they channel gregorian chants into the toilets.

It makes it very hard to have a pee, it feels like there's a monk over your shoulder, watching you.

I stayed at Clontarf castle and love the mediaeval feel it has. At least you know you're not going to be a human sacrifice to some deity in the middle of the night!

I was at a big ol Gothy wedding there once, twas great, I came from round that area. big fan of clontarf castle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,212 ✭✭✭DenMan

1) Decided to get on a train at 3 am from Bolton to Manchester to play ice hockey at the Altrincham Ice Dome. Not sure why as a group of us decided to go. Brilliant night it was.

2)Felt frustrated with my writing in Malta late at night so I went to a Belfry at the top of an old church. It was left open and I went to the top. Spent the night there and it was great for my creativity. Had to sneak out a 6 am though.

3)Spent a night in a cave in Malta. Was at a party and the boat left for the other side of the island late. Had nowhere to say so stayed inside the cave. Nice and warm and had no worries. Great times.

4)Played pitch and putt late at night with a few mates. That was a lot of fun.

5)Was reading a horror novel and felt I couldn't connect with the story properly. Did a bit of research and found the Red Rock Inn in Lancashire (Haunted Hotel). Booked to stay in for one night. Really enjoyed it. I could definitely feel something there and it gave a brand new insight/perspective on haunted/horror storytelling.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

Late night hockey rocks.:D I used to play floor hockey every couple months with a bunch of friends. Then we got drunk. Don't do it anymore though since I fragged my knees.:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Christmas day - late in the evening - I went for a walk with my headphones on, the roads were so quiet. I cried a bit, danced by myself along the road and eventually wandered home.

SDooM wrote: »
    It makes it very hard to have a pee, it feels like there's a monk over your shoulder, watching you.
    I know several schools just like that! >.<