Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Operation Lights Out!

• 26-06-2008 12:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭

This has been posted on the FingalAirsoft thread but the mods gave me the go ahead to start a thread for Lights Out! so if you want some night skirmishing with a twist... read on:
    ++MESSAGE STARTS++

Operation: Lights Out!
    Night ops, the break-out from Normandy.

Scenario:

‘Battle of the Hedgerows'

It’s 4th July 1944. The 101st Airborne has just spent the last few weeks fighting their way from the beaches getting pounded and torn apart by artillery fire and hardened German infantry and armour. U.S. troops have liberated Cherbourg.....
    You took everything that the Germans could throw at you and you held your ground. It is now the 4th of July and one day into the ‘Battle of the Hedgerows' in Normandy

You’re cold, hungry, tired and your reward for a job well done… you have been ordered to take the lead in the attack to cut of the German counter attack!.

6 Mill Hill has been taken and lost four times already. The Allies have the woods to the East, West and South of the river. It’s time to take 6 Mill Hill for the last time and push forward from the river to the Orchard and then on to 6 Mill Hill.

Allies

The Allies must move in and push the Germans back from there defences at the river and out of the hedgerows through the Orchard, once this objective is complete it must be held until 12.00 hours when support will arrive and continue on the push to 6 Mill Hill.

Scenario:

It's cold out here at night, and as you look across to the cosy lights of the farmhouse were colonel Staffenhauer has quartered himself and his staff, you can't help but hope he catches the pox from whatever local woman he's bedded down with for the night...and would Hanzen not turn off that stupid Goebbels broadcast!?

So, it's cold...and you wait...wait for the whistles and sirens and the thump of artillery to signal the appearance of these Americans you heard so much about.....well, let them come, if anything a good fight will get you warm at least.

Axis

The Germans need to stop the Allies from taking 6 Mill Hill. If 6 Mill Hill should fall then a counter attack must be launched to retake the hill and push the enemy back through the Orchard and across the river and await air support.

More Intel to come.

++STOP++
    IMG%5D
    [IMG]http://[IMG]http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h25/lo_cal/lightsout_largwe.jpg[/IMG][/IMG]photo#5215786139788413490
    Event details.

Operation: Lights Out!

This event is a night operations event combining Airsoft with a WWII story.
    Things to bring with you! What you must have to play*

• Camping gear
    • Food/Water (Breakfast roll and drink plus hot lunch included in the price so bring snacks for the night games)
    • WWII 1940s Uniform (If you have no uniform dress like a resistance fighter) If you can’t manage to get these in the time frame come with up with something as close as you can get it!
    • Airsoft equipment (WWII AEG and sidearm if possible, spare batteries, a torch* and glow stick* red for Axis and green for Allies, also a full face mask*)
    • Change of clothes if it gets wet.

Go to http://www.diggerhistory.info/pages-...all-forces.htm or http://www.2ndrangers.org/ or http://www.sofmilitary.co.uk/reenactors/index.asp for ideas.

Arrive on site Friday evening 4th of July at 7:30pm and no later than 9pm for registration,briefing and to prepare for battle. We are also looking for three marshals to give their time and experience to help with the night games, anybody interested in this please send me an email to bren@fingalairsoft.com .

The experience will kick off around 9:00pm and finish around 2/3am Saturday morning then it will be a few beers and craic around the fire if you have any energy left!
    Games start on Saturday morning at 10am and finish at 6pm, you are welcome to stay on Saturday night in the camping area for the games on Sunday but there will be no night game Saturday night!
    Prices:
    Friday night ops and all day Saturday including breakfast and lunch (see website for menu) €60.00

There will also be a draw for 5 free passes to our next night ops event planned for August:D:D. We will provide power for charging your batteries.

You can register for this event by emailing bookings@fingalairsoft.com or by calling into Fingal Airsoft skirmish site on any of our game days before or on July 2nd.
    Please read our rules and regulations on our website and download the waiver and sign it and bring it with you.
    We hope you enjoy our first night operations at Fingal Airsoft.
    Bren.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

I'd love to but i don't have any ww2 guns and i doubt there's many out there.
    Will there be compromises?
    Like say late 50's?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭FingalAirsoft

I'd love to but i don't have any ww2 guns and i doubt there's many out there.
    Will there be compromises?
    Like say late 50's?:D

It would be nice if you had a WWII aeg:D but it won't be necessary as it will be a night game so nobody is going to see your aeg:D:D!

Bren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭hairball

It would be nice if you had a WWII aeg:D but it won't be necessary as it will be a night game so nobody is going to see your aeg:D:D!

Bren

grand i'll wear my multicam speedos so

hairball wrote: »
    grand i'll wear my multicam speedos so

Don't leave your weapon hanging out!:eek:

it's camo'd as well so it's ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Chuck the Buck

Rats... won't be able to go to it. By the sounds of it it should be a great weekend! Best of luck with it (and I love the WWII theme, enough to make me finally buy a Tommy!). But one things for sure I defiantly have to pay your site a visit soon!

Starting to fill up so get booking:):)

25 for the night game on Friday.

sounding really good matey, did you tell the german players they have to to wear lingerie under their uniforms?:O

hairball wrote: »
    sounding really good matey, did you tell the german players they have to to wear lingerie under their uniforms?:O

Don't worry we have something planned for you buddy:rolleyes:...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Good luck with this lads, I am off to a wedding this weekend otherwise I would have been there (with the MP40 and Luger). Looking forward to reading about this next week.

gandalf wrote: »
    Good luck with this lads, I am off to a wedding this weekend otherwise I would have been there (with the MP40 and Luger). Looking forward to reading about this next week.

There will be a full Battle Report after the event;), bah... weddings allways in the rainy season (summer):)

Bren