Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Party Poker is charging me money for not playing

• 22-06-2008 10:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭

Just got this email from Party:

Our records show that that you have not logged in to your account for 180 days.

A $3.66 administration fee** has been charged to your inactive account. The next charge will be deducted from you account balance on: 21-Jul-2008 ET.

However, this fee will NOT be charged if your account, or any related account, is reactivated on or before 20-Jul-2008 ET.

Reactivating your account is easy: Just log in and place a cash wager, enter a tournament with a cash entry fee, or play a raked hand.
    **TERMS & CONDITIONS If you do not access your Account by "logging on" to your Account using your Account name and password for any period of 180 days, then after those 180 days (the "180 day grace period") your Account (and any related account with any ESP) will be deemed "Inactive". If your Account becomes Inactive, then the Company is entitled to charge you an administrative fee (the "Inactive Account Fee"). The Inactive Account Fee shall be deducted from your Account Balance at the end of each calendar month in accordance with the Inactive Account Fee Schedule. We will stop deducting the Inactive Account Fee from your Account Balance if your Account is re-activated.
    If you have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Our Customer Care team is available 24/7.

Does this mean that you can't close an account or do you have to log on and close it? I'm in work so can't look on the software for any "close account" button.
    Anybody else get this message?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭CoD

Its basically a way for party to take money off say someone has died and left money in their account, and it will slowly take it!

You must have money in your account, they wont charge you if you have nothing in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

Someone posted about this a few weeks ago. Gotta say I think its disgraceful shenanigans from party. If I was charged monthly by every inactive poker account I have I'd soon be broke. God knows how many accounts I've opened at one time or another and barely used.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Gotta say I think its disgraceful shenanigans from party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

I got this crap from party a few weeks ago and had it out with them to no avail. I've since closed my account and will not be returning.

About a month ago I logged back into my pacific account and notice all my funds gone, about 200 or so. I pm support and was told they took it in charges etc, but never bother to warn me etc. I gave them some abuse and have now been threaten with legal action. I can't wait to meet a pro or representive from pacific because I'm going to head butt the dick. There all a back of crooks, pacific is run and own my the biggest porn family in the states and people left them to set-up party, plus both are quote companies. I've threaten to report them to the stock exchanges ethics committee etc, but this would be a waste of time.

As far as I was concern its illegal to take money from someones account without notify them, hence if someone died they would take all the funds, which I'm sure as happen.

I'll be posting a thread soon asking the poker community to email both companies support and asking for this crap to be removed, or they'll be closing there account. We'll call it a poker revolution and players standing up together against the muppets...lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭BiffoBeater

I would email them back and threaten to close my acc if i were you.

That should sort them out:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Yeah party have charged all mine away I think, kept getting the email, never bothered to log in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Lurker1977

Ive seen you play so on a positive note, I'd say you saved money by not playing. So its pretty much +EV for you to leave it there:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

Are you just following me around posting replies to get your post count up? Wanna race to 500?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Lurker1977

Yeah but im just going to go to AH and post emo stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Nagran

I had an account with them about 2 years ago but i withdrew what little i had there.

since then they given me $10 and asked i play again there

some bs email saying they miss me yada yada yada
    i'm guessing others that cleared account of monies got similar email sometime

for some reason, i just don't like it. never warmed to site but i have no rational reason for it in particular

I'm really not a fan of Party myself - that's why i don't play there any more. they did send me a tenner a few months ago and i usd it to play WSOP steps but to no avail. When i get home this eveng i'm gonna log in and empty my account of even $2. Shower of Sh!tes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭bazwin

I think partypoker is great.....they have given me over 100 dollars in free chips over the past couple of months......it was probably because i hadn't played on there site for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 AKQJStavros

If party don't charge you for not playing I'll charge you for playing by taking all your chips, amiright? lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

Thats ridiculous. They're basically charging you double on your account then. Not only do they reinvest your money at whatever rate of interest they can get, but they charge you for leaving your capital with them to reinvest????? WTF?????? They get paid twice on it really. Absolutely ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

If party don't charge you for not playing I'll charge you for playing by taking all your chips, amiright? lol!
    Banned for being a multi-account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Tight Ted

Party really does SUCK. I can't believe it was the #1 poker room not so long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 BACAGAIN

Tight Ted wrote: »
    Party really does SUCK. I can't believe it was the #1 poker room not so long ago.

because tight is right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

i was wondering about this recently. if someone died and had alot of money in an ac online is there any way for someone else to access the money?/ a next of kin or something??

if they(next of kin) can prove there dead to the company i dont see why not

chdpoker wrote: »

but most people keep there accounts a secret and there passwords etc, so the company can decline to tell you if the person is a client for confidential reasons etc. They have it wrap up both ways.

I had this discussion with both sites and they couldn't say it wouldn't happen.

cheers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Tight Ted

I read about this before. The next of kin doesnt' need to know username or password, but just has to contact the company with the name and address of the deceased, a deathcert is needed for proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

They sent me an email looking for $1.68 probably what I had left in the account, my response was fairly abusive calling them everything under the sun, they responded saying your query 123456(or something like that) will be dealt with so I responded 'fuuck off' they they responded saying your query 123457 will be dealt with I responded 'fuuck off', this went on for about a week I just hope I wasted their time reading my queries anyway I am going home to withdraw my $1.68 not to please the feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I've decided to break up my bankroll and leave it in completely inactive accounts just to see what happens in 180 days. :rolleyes:

A Poker site is not a bank. Why on earth would leave money sitting there? Also you don't really have a right to moan about this when you agreed to the terms and conditions when you made a deposit.

I have a right to moan whenever I like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Simplicity

I had a small amount sitting in a PPP account for a few months and they sent me one of their rather funny type emails suggesting a number of useful alternatives for the money, charity and the likes.

I thought at the time it was quite nice of them.

Had one from party too. Luckily I had no money left there. They can suck my balls tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 bluenose abroad

How about just closing the account....or better still, just don't open one if you don't like the terms (if you bothered to read them).

There are lots of **** sites now, market saturation I think they call it. Threatening to close your account to some big Momma on minimum wage and a season ticket at Domino's is futile....a bit like coming on here moaning about $3.66c.

its not about the money its the fact they have no logical reason to take it. think b4 you post!

Ok, I've had a think....

It IS about the money, you plum. Therein lies the logic.....think about it.....think about it.

I certainly don't agree with it by the way, nor do I agree with condescending paddys playing the thought police.

yes it is about taking it but its not about ''OMG they like totally took the hug sum of 3.66 off me those baxtards'' which is how you think people are taking it.

your the reason that sites do this

yes it is about taking it but its not about ''OMG they like totally took the hug sum of 3.66 off me those baxtards'' which is how you think people are taking it.

your the reason that sites do this

Can you amplify your answer, please?
    How on earth am I the reason certain sites do this?
    I appreciate it's not a great deal of money, and my initial post was a trifle 'tongue-in-cheek', but the real issue is why do punters give thieving sods like this their business?

the real issue is why do punters give thieving sods like this their business?

Dunno. Theres a few on this forum who have or would close a/c because of it.
    Enough people wont, they will get away with it and will always do it.

a bit like coming on here moaning about $3.66c.
    I didn't post the thread because i was concerned about my $3.66 (I think this was all I had left in the account) I posted the thread because I think the T&Cs suk blak cok. Maybe some of the newer posters, like yourself, would take this warning and not lodge money with Party Poker.

Pacific dont have a fixed charge, its a straight 10% each month, so they would have a large chunk of your money pretty quickly.

Yes Nicky there not a bank, but they are holding funds on your behalf, this could be a lot of money or a small amount of money, but if there holding money for you, than its the same rules as a solictor holding money for you. I.E. they can't touch it with the customer consent. Also you set these accounts up in good faith and realise your paying for a service in rake, which is far to high anyway.

Of course they've covered there ass with terms and conditions, but I'm sure you have never read these either.

bluenose abroad, I'm guessing you work for Party or Pacific?

At least Party write to the customer notify them of the charge and to take some action, Pacific just take it and tell you to **** off.

Neither site will get any of my rake again.

Why are you guessing I work for either of these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

I was about to post that this is really stupid of Party as if they keep quiet and just hold on to the money in dormant accounts they will make far more money for themselves in the long run.
    Ollieboy wrote: »
    Pacific dont have a fixed charge, its a straight 10% each month, so they would have a large chunk of your money pretty quickly.
    At least Party write to the customer notify them of the charge and to take some action, Pacific just take it and tell you to **** off.
    Is that really true :confused: Wow
    Nice work if you can get it :eek:

Why are you guessing I work for either of these?

because nobody in there right mind would think this is fair and justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

They should be paying us interest IMO, not the other way round. Certainly not charging "admin expenses" or whatever they call them, but it's in the T&C's so the best thing to do is stay away until it's changed.

Stars is the best IMO, they hold your money in a seperate RBS account AFAIK so it's safe and I've never heard of any of these charges, (but I haven't and amn't going to read the whole T&C's to see if it's in there, I trust them not to rob me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

Yes Nicky there not a bank, but they are holding funds on your behalf, this could be a lot of money or a small amount of money, but if there holding money for you, than its the same rules as a solictor holding money for you. I.E. they can't touch it with the customer consent. Also you set these accounts up in good faith and realise your paying for a service in rake, which is far to high anyway.

Of course they've covered there ass with terms and conditions, but I'm sure you have never read these either.

bluenose abroad, I'm guessing you work for Party or Pacific?

Neither site will get any of my rake again.
    banks rip you off much worse than this. and of course they get your "consent".

this is about number 124342 on my list of things to consider when picking a new site.

because nobody in there right mind would think this is fair and justified.

Please show me where I said I thought it was fair and justified. If you bothered to check my posts you'll see that I already said I don't agree with it.

Some people just see what they want to see.

Ok, I've had a think....

It IS about the money, you plum. Therein lies the logic.....think about it.....think about it.

I certainly don't agree with it by the way, nor do I agree with condescending paddys playing the thought police.

I misread your first line here than, sorry. But why shouldn't Paddy's stand up and say it wrong, is there something wrong with telling people what there doing is wrong. Why do people always have to have a attitude on this forum.

and I just asked a question, no need to get smart about it with your last post.

RoundTower wrote: »
    banks rip you off much worse than this. and of course they get your "consent".

this is about number 124342 on my list of things to consider when picking a new site.

well for people with smaller bankrolls that move around sites and dont use Netteller which does overcharge you, this would be a big issue. But I can understand why it wouldn't be for you.

I misread your first line here than, sorry. But why shouldn't Paddy's stand up and say it wrong, is there something wrong with telling people what there doing is wrong. Why do people always have to have a attitude on this forum.

and I just asked a question, no need to get smart about it with your last post.

Ollie....

My response about people seeing what they want to see was based on you 'guessing' I worked for party poker, based on the fact that "Nobody in their right mind would think this was fair and justified."

As has been proven beyond doubt, I do not think it is fair and I fail to see where the 'smart' comment was.

As for my comment regarding 'condescending paddys playing the thought police', that was a response to chdult telling me to 'think before I post', when I clearly had.

My apologies for the tardy response, but I've been in Moscow for the last week or so without any internet access. For what it's worth, I think that sites who charge a fee for account inactivity are utter parasites and wouldn't get any of my business - nor should they get anybody else's.