Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Soooooooooo Angry Right Now

• 21-06-2008 10:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭

I am so very angry right now. I have just been to the local Supermacs where I witnessed a manager being so incredibly rude and disrespectful to one of the employees. The girl took my order and then all I could see was him roaring and shouting at her down the back. He continued to bawl at her, I could see this all happening from the counter. All I could see was that the poor girl was traumatised. He then followed her up to where they prepare the food, I could see she was clearly upset, the tears almost tripping her, he was ranting and raving on about something or other....until I could take no more.

I called him over, and of course I started on him. I shouted at him that he had NO RIGHT to speak to her that way, that there was no call for it whatsoever. I suppose I ranted and raved on at him for a while (he may as well have thrown me out!). He proceeded to tell me that she was losing him money out of his tills every day that I had no idea how much money she was costing him. I told him I didn't care. He also told me that I had complained one other day about him to another member of staff who told him I found him rude. I said yes that I found him highly rude and that I thought he should calm down instead of painting such a picture of himself to the general public. Blah de blah.....etc. (Oh he's such a bollox!)

Now this man is from another country. I dont know where - but hes not Irish. He's European, but I dont know where from. And I dont know if its this fact or not thats really annoying me or what, but I just feel who the hell does he think he is. She's only a young girl (probably only a student) and I know when I would have been her age, that I would have been devestated to be spoken to like this. I would have hated going into my work every day to face someone who would treat me like that.

What your thoughts on this? Am I being a tad unreasonable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

No, I've been screamed at while in a low payed job where I was easily replaceable. You can't work up the nerve to fight back because you might lose your job over it. I would have loved for someone to stick up for me like that, nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Region >> pick any category bar east :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Why does this crap need two threads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭tracker-man

no i don't think you're unreasonable at all. Some managers can't handle the responsibility and the power sometimes goes to their
    head. It sounds like this man in particular is out of his depth and is not the right person for the job at all imo. Managers must understand that employees can make mistakes and learn from them. No need to eat the head off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Bleedin' fordiners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭tracker-man

lucky enough i have a manager thats bang on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Did the worthless employee make a nice burger?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Sherifu wrote: »
    Why does this crap need two threads?

In the PI version we can talk about the OP being upset, and in the AH we can talk about the OP being a racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Even though I know you're gonna say "that wasn't why I did it"... the girl was hot wasn't she?

*she runs out of the shop after you*
    "Hey, you didn't have to do that. I appreciate it, though."
    "Oh it was nothing, he shouldn't treat you like that."
    "Tell me about it... listen I've to get back but maybe I should take you out for a coffee - you know, as a thank you. It's the least I can do"
    "Ah well I can hardly say no! When do you want to do it?"
    "Well I've to work in this dump tommorrow, wednesday and thursday. How about friday?"
    "Friday it is then!"
    "What's your number?"
    *you write number down and hand it to her*
    "Great! And thanks again. I've to go back in and face il duce. Maybe he won't be so quick to go off on one next time! Seeya friday"
    "Ok, take care. Talk to ye friday! Good luck!"
    booyah!

EDIT: NOOO ONLY JUST LOOKED AT YOUR USERNAME!!!!!! ARGH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

EDIT: NOOO ONLY JUST LOOKED AT YOUR USERNAME!!!!!! ARGH!

Lesbian perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Let's hope so, Mossy. Let's hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

The manager was hot...she likes a man who knows how to assert himself

Talliesin wrote: »
    In the PI version we can talk about the OP being upset, and in the AH we can talk about the OP being a racist.
    Oh joy of joys. :V)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I did something similar in Tesco recently.

There was girl working at the self service tills who was visibly sick, doubling over in pain every few seconds.

Her manager walked by and she said it to him and he said "You know what you need, a shotgun to the head."

It was clear she wasn't going to say anything so I stopped him and made sure that everyone else could hear while I told him what I thought of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I'm gona break my anonymity (sp?) for this one.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055264109

I think you did the right thing. Fair play.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

some assholes need to dominate others to make themselves feel important, some idiot tried that **** on my wife when she was a student in a part time job, she made mince meat of him in front of the owner who was a good friend of ours.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

girl2 wrote: »
    Now this man is from another country. I dont know where - but hes not Irish. He's European, but I dont know where from.

Why bring his nationality into it?

Im European. Im Irish. wtf like.

WHY bring his NON IRISHNESS into it?

There was a fairly battered looking car infront of us the other day, exhaust totally spewing fumes, and my mate said "Ill bet you a fiver shes black".

Now....she was black but......WHY BRING IT UP?!!?

Another mate mentioned how some travellers came around selling furniture the other day. WHY MENTION THAT?

The people I hang around with. Really. You would swear that black people disproportionately drive clapped out cars, or that travellers are more likely to sell furniture and carpet door to door. I told them to get some statistics for that assumption or STFU.

/sarcasm

BTW was this in the one on O`Connell Street? Used to be an Asian (prob Indian) girl who worked Sat nights there. If he brought her down infront of me Id have beaten him to score points.

MizzLolly wrote: »
    I'm gona break my anonymity (sp?) for this one.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055264109

I think you did the right thing. Fair play.:)
    Nice to put a user to the problem. Also, strange.

How's it strange?:confused:

Preconceptions get shattered ;_;

Aww...

Well it's sorted now. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

anonymity (sp?)

anonymity, don't worry, you're good, I spell checked it for you.

Aww...
    More pics.

TJJP wrote: »
    anonymity, don't worry, you're good, I spell checked it for you.

LOL thank you :)
    More pics.

:o Less of it.. hahaha...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

More pics.

hahah

fair play OP, definitely did the right thing!