Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gearing myself up for a circumcision

• 21-06-2008 8:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭

I'm going for a circumcision on the 16th of next month (for medical reasons). I've been looking through the threads available on the subject and they're making me a bit anxious about the whole thing. So much so that I've decided to start a thread dedicated to positive stories and comments about the procedure. So please, lads that have had one and ladies that have played with one, share your good experiences!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Im going to give you one valuable tip that i wish i was told
    after you have it done and you when you need to pee get some warm wet tissue and wipe around the head as blood will more than likely have dried around the peee pee hole and it is very painfull to have pee just burst out of your little mans eye. :(

and its going to swell up alot for a few weeks well some say they heal up fast but it took me like 2 months aprently there was alot of blood vessels more than usualy so i was in pritty bad ways after it.

But dont worry you wont even feel a thing till a few days after its done they gased me and i woke up and found my self rambling on to a nurse i didnt even know what i was saying i was out of it.

fun times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

LOL! :D Lone Stone

That reminds me about when I woke up from the OP.

Picture the scene. Lying on the Operating table in nothing but a gown, for the last hour or so you have been for all intents and purposes dead, absolutely no brain activity. Your mind was in oblivion for the duration under the anesthetic. They pump in whatever chemical to wake you up and bamb!! Your brain picks up right where it left of. In my case Oblivion...awake and imediately lifts up the gown for a look and shouts.....
    Did Yiz take much off??

Cue stifled laughter from some medical personal and disgusted looks from others :D

A few seconds later the 'smelling salts' wore off again and I drifted back into a blissful class A morphine slumber.

Woke up again in the ward a few hours later and was "OMG did I really say what I think I remember saying?"

As for the after affects of the OP. No pain in the wounds per say but fear the morning glory is all I can say. Made it 2 days after the OP before the first wood struck. Woke up in agony. Short lived of course because extreme pain is not conduscive to maintaining wood :D Basically the best thing you can do is hold onto the oul foreskin from the base and and give the stitches some slack until the wood subsides. IIRC it was about 3 or 4 mornings of this and then after that the morning wood wood...I mean would wake me up but was no longer agony. To lessen the chances of wood at all, make sure you don't drink anything to late at night and have a good long piss before bed. As you may or may not know. Morning Glory is not the result of an erotic dream but of misinterpretted signals of a full bladder.

The only other issue is sensitivity. It'll take a few weeks to loose the hypersensitive head. Who knew the insides of boxers were like sandpaper!! :D

This all makes it sound really horrific but tbh it isn't that bad at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

Had it done for medical reasons too.
    Woke up briefly after the surgery, much like Calibos and had a gander. It was pretty werid seeing your 'best mate' with a facelift.
    I was okay painwise, infact, I felt nothing at all. Didn't know how to tell the lads at first, but after I did, I was surprise to find that two of them were in the same boat as me.

It has stood to me, having it done, too. I wont get 'gritty', but previous girlfriends have, ahem *done things* that they wouldn't have done had I still had my foreskin.

Don't worry, you'll be fine!
    Just think, almost every african, most americans, jewish men and more have had it done for years. It's one of the most common surgical proceedures performed daily with minimal, tiny risks involved.

Ad think, when it's all done, he'll be much cleaner and much more aerodynamic!

All the best,
    Sean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

hey, im sorry if it has been addressed before, but how much does the procedure typically cost?

im also gearing my self up to take that extra step and go for it, but im worried that itll cost a bomb..im a student..dont have very much money!

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭im...LOST

Pornstars get it done. Therefore, it's awesome. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

im...LOST - helpful comments only please. Please take the time to read the charter with regard to posting in this forum.

dudara

I also had it done for medical reasons and my attitude was if it needs to be done then let's do it. I went under general anaesthetic. Very very straightforward. It requires a fair amount of bathing afterwards and you would probably use a bandage for a while to protect it. It had no effect on sex life at all and my partner was very supportive although surprised I had made the decision so easily. The only downside I would say that perhaps one does lose a bit of sensitivity. IIRC they suggest 6 weeks before having sex again although I felt able to indulge within two weeks.

As for cost I think it was over €1K but it was covered on health insurance. Most of the cost unfortunately is the hospital room.

Hi
    My bf had this done around 2 years ago. Told friends he was having his appendix out....got some funny looks alright!

Anyway from my perspective the only advice I can offer is to go buy yourself some silk jocks. My bf found it very very sensitive for the first couple of weeks and as another poster has said, boxers tend to feel like sandpaper.

I think he took a couple of days off work. And in total I'd say he was back to his normal self within 3 weeks? He recovered well and doesn't regret it for one second.

He had to get it done for medical reasons...and was referred by his doc...so only cost him €60 afaik.

He much prefers the bald mickey.....:) :) and would recommend it to anyone!
    Hope it goes well for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭NukeD4

I had it done early march of this year,for medical reasons, best decision of my short life,
    in my experience your looking at a couple of days of pain and a couple of weeks of discomfort,buts thats all really and it is soon forgotten about, i really could not be happier with the results, heres a link to a really good forum where they can answer questions and alleviate any fears you may have
    http://xsorbit28.com/users5/foreskinforum/index.php?PHPSESSID=05a9c4b3f17ee5daa86b00145ecd84da&board=1.0
    good luck

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Out of curiosity, when you all say medical reasons... What were they?

If it's a case of not being able to pull back the foreskin, i am not able to do that either, but it doesn't really effect sex or anything else for that matter. So i don't know if it's a waste of time even contemplating a circumcision tbh.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Eh I would say not being able to retract your foreskin means you're losing a hell of a lot of sensation. Most of it in fact.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Well, with the effort of sex, it does retract... But in other circumstances not really, unless with a lot of time and effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭jeepers101

Out of curiosity, when you all say medical reasons... What were they?

If it's a case of not being able to pull back the foreskin, i am not able to do that either, but it doesn't really effect sex or anything else for that matter. So i don't know if it's a waste of time even contemplating a circumcision tbh.

It wasn't affecting me either until about a year ago. I didn't even know foreskin was supposed to retract until then (I have Catholic sex education to thank for that one). I only found out when my gf went on the pill and when she went on top she ripped my foreskin. Had a chat with a mate after that who told me I'd have to stretch it. I did this for a while, stretching it a bit further everyday until I could get it down over the head of my penis. Very very painful but eventually I got it. Then I would arouse myself while my foreskin was retracted. Even more painful but it did the job in the end. The only problem was that when my penis was erect, the foreskin just stayed bunched up behind the head of the penis. It wouldn't 'stretch out' so to speak. Might not sound like a huge problem but it made it uncomfortable when having sex without a condom and also putting on a condom is a nightmare as it keeps getting caught between the bunched up foreskin and the head of the penis. I also noticed a bit of swelling of my foreskin if I had sex for any longer than about half an hour. Anyway, went to see a urologist a couple of weeks ago and he wasn't long booking me in for surgery. He said I did a good job stretching it but there wasn't much else could be done without surgery. He said it was necessary as the way my foreskin was sitting, it was just a matter of time before I ended up in the A&E with swollen foreskin that would cut off the blood supply to the head of my penis.

So thats my medical reason. I'm no medical expert but I'll give my opinion on your situation. First of all, if your foreskin doesn't retract, you're missing out on a great sexual experience. When I first had sex with retracted foreskin, the sensitivity was amazing, a lot more enjoyable. Also I don't know if you're always using condoms so if you are, there's a chance of something tearing when you don't. Lastly but probably most importantly is hygiene. You need to be able to retract your foreskin to clean in behind it. There's a substance called smegma, which is very smelly and builds up behind the foreskin which can cause infection. You might have noticed this already and dismissed it.

I would strongly recommend you try some stretching. Don't rush it. Foreskin is extremely elastic. There are some freaks I've come accross on the net that can fit beer bottles up there. So take your time, a little bit every day and see if it will come right after that. If not, take it from there.

Let me know if I've been helpful or if you have any more questions.

Where are you getting it done?

I have the same problem, with foreskin being tight and not being able to pull it over the head, sex is fine but I do put on a bit of ky gel just in case.

Im considering doing it privately, but I cant find a clinic that doesnt need a referal from a urologist.

Having to go to a gp to get a referal ( or worse try strecthing and creams etc ), then waiting weeks for an appointment to see a urologist, then having to wait weeks again to have the operation, all while having to get time of work ( very busy ) is a real mind job.

I know a place in the UK, that seems to be legit that will do the operation without all this hassle, but would prefer not to have to fly.

http://www.integralmedical.co.uk/

Any cosmetic places in Ireland like above that you can book an appointment and be done with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Wibbs wrote: »
    Eh I would say not being able to retract your foreskin means you're losing a hell of a lot of sensation. Most of it in fact.

Seriously. If thats the case you will be really really sensitive for a while OP =/

On the bright side once you get used to it you will last longer in bed. Anyone without their foreskin will be used to the ol boy rubbing off your johns all day long and in truth it does make you a lot more impervious to the feminine wiles of lady bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Rayven199

Hey Guys,

Just wondering, is it a normal thing for the foreskin to tear? Its just that my boyfriends has torn twice in the past two months and it takes ages to heal, does it usually happen more than once or it this normal? Will it keep happening I guess is want my main concern is, because he has said that circumcision is something that he would NEVER consider, but if this is going to keep happening I cant see any other solution!
    That would be medical reasons foe having the procedure wouldnt it?
    Cheers

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

jeepers101 wrote: »
    So thats my medical reason. I'm no medical expert but I'll give my opinion on your situation. First of all, if your foreskin doesn't retract, you're missing out on a great sexual experience. When I first had sex with retracted foreskin, the sensitivity was amazing, a lot more enjoyable. Also I don't know if you're always using condoms so if you are, there's a chance of something tearing when you don't. Lastly but probably most importantly is hygiene. You need to be able to retract your foreskin to clean in behind it. There's a substance called smegma, which is very smelly and builds up behind the foreskin which can cause infection. You might have noticed this already and dismissed it.

I would strongly recommend you try some stretching. Don't rush it. Foreskin is extremely elastic. There are some freaks I've come accross on the net that can fit beer bottles up there. So take your time, a little bit every day and see if it will come right after that. If not, take it from there.

Let me know if I've been helpful or if you have any more questions.
    Good post. Yep it should retract for sex. It's evolved to protect the sensitive end of the penis and retract when said sensitive end is in play. IE sex.

If it doesn't retract as jeepers wrote, beyond the lack of pleasure, there is the hygiene part to consider. It's going to get pretty funky otherwise.

From what I gather stretching works for many. Also topical steroids from your doctor apparently. With some things like diabetes the skin won't stretch as fair as I gather(?), in which case the snip is indicated.

Tearing like Rayven199 was saying is not a normal thing, so maybe he should go to his GP. If he's dead set against circumcision, then there are alternatives that he could look at. If his GP is dismissive of such alternatives, he should find one that is. At least until all avenues are explored. I say this because a mate of mine was up for the snip and he wasn't too keen and through his own research he found in the end he didn't need it. Apparently there are more than one type of circumcision too. I dunno, but that's how I found out about a lot of this stuff. I was blissfully ignorant myself TBH and I'm quite sure if I had a problem I wouldn't have known about it.

Obviously a fully functioning foreskin is the most preferable state(hence personally I don't condone circumcising infants for no reason), but if you don't have a fully functioning foreskin then circumcision is bound to be a hell of an improvement.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Rayven199 wrote: »
    Hey Guys,

Just wondering, is it a normal thing for the foreskin to tear? Its just that my boyfriends has torn twice in the past two months and it takes ages to heal, does it usually happen more than once or it this normal? Will it keep happening I guess is want my main concern is, because he has said that circumcision is something that he would NEVER consider, but if this is going to keep happening I cant see any other solution!
    Cheers

Hey I think I replied to already on another thread but my urologist told me a couple of months ago that its pretty bad if your foreskin is tearing as it can leave scars which can leave an untidy circumcision when it is eventually needed. It can also affect the sensitivity of the area. That is a medical reason for having it done btw. Why is he so against having a circumcision?

Maybe he just doesn't want to lose erogenous tissue from his penis and maybe have less sensitivity in the head of the penis without looking for alternatives. And that's fair enough, if he was getting some treatment for this. If not then it's likely that he'll need the snip sooner or later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Hey Guys,

Cheers

Hay , this is why i had to get it done it tore a tiny tiny tiny bit around the edge and i thought its grand will heal up but i didnt realise the scare tissue that was there after it had healed up was the reasson i could no long pull back for cleaning etc so if it is around the the head of penis where it comes out through the skin and he is no longer able to pull back he would probaly be best to get it done befoe it starts to stink and itch !

Going unreg'd for this. Gonna share a wee bit of information gathered by a former roommate and I during his ordeal with medical circumcision, and since he posts on boards I think it's best to stay anonymous. He was suffering phimosis and was geared up for the procedure but, at my behest and a second, third, fourth and fifth opinion, he turned it down, went the less drastic route and is eternally grateful for it. I have never talked so much about penises as back in those dark days. We refer to this period as "penis April" and, well, we're too insecurely heterosexual to talk about it so often. Earlier this year, a friend of mine with joint Turkish citizenship was informed that he would have to be circumcised before doing his compulsory military service. We informed him of the consequences and he's in the process of gaining an exemption from going through with it.

There's a stupid ammount of misinformation floating around there, so this is what I learned by sifting through the crazy.

First, I would recommend that you absolutely do not have the surgery until you've exhausted every option. Foreskin is naturally elastic, and while at first you may not be able to retract fully you certainly can "train" yourself to do so. There are various steroid creams and topical treatments available that have enormous success rates. Do not, under no circumstances, have the operation until you're satisfied that these options have been thoroughly tried. GPs tend not to be quick to recommend the knife, so ask about less invasive strategies.

The foreskin does not naturally start retracting on its own and normally starts happening during puberty when boys start commiting self-pollution (as my old teachers used to say). If you generally masturbated in an unorthodox manner, then that would likely explain any phimosis. The point is, foreskin is flexible. True medical phimosis is likely (in my view) extremely rare.

To dispel a myth, smegma (the stuff that can build up under the foreskin) cannot become infected. It's there to fight infection protect the glans. It's not a mark of poor hygiene. It's produced in equal volumes in penises whose glans are exposed more often, it's just more noticeable in penises that tend to remain covered. You don't need to actively "clean it." It might be aesthetically displeasing, but there's no clinical risks associated with it.

Circumcision will prompt a major (though not instantaneous) loss of sensitivity. Having the glans constantly exposed causes this. The loss of the frenulum, too, is a cause of major sensitivity loss. Furthermore, circumcision (if anything) is less hygienic. Without the foreskin's protection you're at risk of chaffing, rash and so-called "crotch rot," especially as someone who has been circumcised late in life.

The common use of circumcision is, in my view, the result of decades of misinformation and misconception. It's an incredibly drastic measure to treat phimosis and should be averted the vast majority of the time. It is a detriment to the health of penis if anything and was introduced in most cultures not out of hygiene concerns, but to make masturbation more difficult.

So, unless you've run out of options, it's worth reconsidering.

I had a circumcision at the age of 21 and it was one of the best decisions I ever made. Couldn't recommend it more!! Everything went smoothly, and I was back in "training" within about 2 weeks (although I do heal fast...). It really is a simple "procedure". I went in in the morning and was out mid afternoon. I actually felt on top of the world that first day, turned out I was still off my box from the drugs they gave me. I was wrecked the next day though and after a few days I could move around as normal. Anyway, to sum up, it's nothing to be worried about. Anyone else thinking about having it done should do. All you need is a week off work/college and no one needs to know. I told about a total of 3 people.

Well, i think it's safe to say i'm in need of a circumcision.... :(

A while back i used to retract my foreskin in the bath when the skin was softer and less effort was required, this with the aim to stretch it out. But it didn't last long as i don't have the patience to have a bath everyday. I'm more of a shower guy.

So anyway, last night i decide to give it another shot and the foreskin actually retatracted completely, leaving the full head exposed something which has never happened before, believe it or not. Imagine me sitting in the bath seeing my bell end for the very first time at 24 years old haha:D

But the problem was pulling the forskin foreward again, it just wasn't happening, it was too tight. There was a moment of panic there haha. But with some major effort, i got it back to normal:) So, i don't think any amount of stretching in the bath is going to stretch the skin THAT much, enough to have it retract with ease.

I also tested it's sensitivity in the process, and my god it's unbearable.. I honestly don't know if i could handle that amount of sensitivity after the OP.

What to do.. sigh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

Well, i think it's safe to say i'm in need of a circumcision.... :(

A while back i used to retract my foreskin in the bath when the skin was softer and less effort was required, this with the aim to stretch it out. But it didn't last long as i don't have the patience to have a bath everyday. I'm more of a shower guy.

So anyway, last night i decide to give it another shot and the foreskin actually retatracted completely, leaving the full head exposed something which has never happened before, believe it or not. Imagine me sitting in the bath seeing my bell end for the very first time at 24 years old haha:D

But the problem was pulling the forskin foreward again, it just wasn't happening, it was too tight. There was a moment of panic there haha. But with some major effort, i got it back to normal:) So, i don't think any amount of stretching in the bath is going to stretch the skin THAT much, enough to have it retract with ease.

I also tested it's sensitivity in the process, and my god it's unbearable.. I honestly don't know if i could handle that amount of sensitivity after the OP.

What to do.. sigh!

keep at it man you dont need a circumcision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

just go to the doctor.

ruh roh wrote: »
    Going unreg'd for this. Gonna share a wee bit of information gathered by a former roommate and I during his ordeal with medical circumcision, and since he posts on boards I think it's best to stay anonymous. He was suffering phimosis and was geared up for the procedure but, at my behest and a second, third, fourth and fifth opinion, he turned it down, went the less drastic route and is eternally grateful for it. I have never talked so much about penises as back in those dark days.
    That's damn near word for word how I ended up finding out more than I needed to know about penises.:D
    There's a stupid ammount of misinformation floating around there
    That I'll agree with. On both sides too. I blame our American cousins for a lot of it. War on terror? Ah sure benefit of the doubt. Credit crunch? Sure it could happen to a bishop. This one I'll call them on though.:) As circumcision at birth is a majority tradition over there, there exists small but vocal groups on both sides, anti and pro that have polarised opinion, especially on the interweb(and I gather from rellies in the medical field over there to some degree).

First, I would recommend that you absolutely do not have the surgery until you've exhausted every option.
    That I agree with and indeed would be my default position with any medical procedure that involves alternatives to surgery, however minor.
    Foreskin is naturally elastic, and while at first you may not be able to retract fully you certainly can "train" yourself to do so. There are various steroid creams and topical treatments available that have enormous success rates. Do not, under no circumstances, have the operation until you're satisfied that these options have been thoroughly tried.
    I would tend to agree with that as with patience skin will grow and stretch. If it didn't putting on a few pounds after christmas would be hazardous.:) Plastic surgeons use the ability of skin to grow for skin grafts etc http://www.plasticsurgery.org/patients_consumers/procedures/TissueExpansion.cfm
    All that said there will be situations where no amount of stretching or creams will help, or the expense and effort involved will be counterproductive. Diabetics would be one category of people I can think of, where AFAIK the skin becomes scarred to the point, where circumcision is a foregone conclusion.
    GPs tend not to be quick to recommend the knife, so ask about less invasive strategies.
    Well my mate found the opposite. The first two he went to, that was their first recommendation and when he brought up other options, he was shot down in a nice way.
    The foreskin does not naturally start retracting on its own and normally starts happening during puberty when boys start commiting self-pollution (as my old teachers used to say). If you generally masturbated in an unorthodox manner, then that would likely explain any phimosis. The point is, foreskin is flexible.
    That seems to be one opinion out there alright.
    True medical phimosis is likely (in my view) extremely rare.
    Again it depends on the people asked and what side of the fence they're on. As I say a polarised debate.
    Circumcision will prompt a major (though not instantaneous) loss of sensitivity. Having the glans constantly exposed causes this.
    Well I do know a guy who had it done later in life and he noticed that. At first it was very sensitive(naturally), then it was fine. A few year down the line and he regrets not trying other options as he phimosis wasn't that bad apparently. Against that there are people who've had it done here that are glad they went for it.

My position and my opinion would be, that a normal functioning foreskin is clearly the ideal with the highest function and sensitivity, followed by a circumcised penis. A non functioning foreskin is the worst of all worlds, with health risks and utter lack of sensitivity. For me, pleasure from sex without my foreskin retracting would be massively reduced and if I was in that position and the alternatives didn't work I would have it done, or at least some surgical procedure done to correct it. That said the foreskin itself is sensitive(at least with me) so the loss of it alone would be a biggy for me, never mind the glans toughening up down the line. Hence I would look hard at alternatives.
    The common use of circumcision is, in my view, the result of decades of misinformation and misconception. It's an incredibly drastic measure to treat phimosis and should be averted the vast majority of the time.
    I agree it should be the last resort, not the first, in many cases. Not all though. It's still a procedure that some will need no matter how many alternatives are tried. There are also diffferent types of circumcision I gather, so discussing that with the surgeon should you need the procedure would be a plan, so that the loss of tissue can be minimised..
    It is a detriment to the health of penis if anything and was introduced in most cultures not out of hygiene concerns, but to make masturbation more difficult.
    Or it's for religious reasons or just cultural(I had it done, my dad had it done etc). many older men in this country had it done as babies for that reason. It's also indicated medically in kids, when there's been recurrent urinary infections and can be a life saver in that case.
    So, unless you've run out of options, it's worth reconsidering.
    That kinda sums it up.

I will say this, any time this topic has come up, I for one have been surprised how little men know about their willies, given how much we talk about their use.:D The lack of knowledge about the function and health of such an important part of what makes us a man physically, is in many ways more a worry than the circumcision debate itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭DAVE_K

Beside your bed at night put a bucket of very cold water or ice if you can manage it. This is to plunge your hand into first thing in the morning to get the morning wood to GET THE F*CK DOWN - this for me was the worst of it. The little fella would stand to in the morning putting unbearable strain on the stitches holding him together.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Jesus dont think I could go through one of them ;-/,best of luck with it op.

Hey I think I replied to already on another thread but my urologist told me a couple of months ago that its pretty bad if your foreskin is tearing as it can leave scars which can leave an untidy circumcision when it is eventually needed. It can also affect the sensitivity of the area. That is a medical reason for having it done btw. Why is he so against having a circumcision?

Hey,I think I replied to you in that other thread too! I dont know why he is so against it,i think he is just a bit wary about having the procedure,and he thinks that he will loose alot of sensitivity after its done so he doesnt want that. Also,he has had a few surgeries before (Not on his willy though!) and he really HATES being put under anestethic coz he does be really messed up after it! Hes not really keeping an eye on the tear either or doing a wholt lot about it,I keep asking if its ok and he just says - I dont know,presume so!
    I dont know how happy he would be about me suggesting he get it looked at!

Hey,I think I replied to you in that other thread too! I dont know why he is so against it,i think he is just a bit wary about having the procedure,and he thinks that he will loose alot of sensitivity after its done so he doesnt want that. Also,he has had a few surgeries before (Not on his willy though!) and he really HATES being put under anestethic coz he does be really messed up after it! Hes not really keeping an eye on the tear either or doing a wholt lot about it,I keep asking if its ok and he just says - I dont know,presume so!
    I dont know how happy he would be about me suggesting he get it looked at!

Well if he is that against it, I would suggest that you just let it be for a while, maybe use more lube when you're doin the business and if it tears again, make him go to get it looked at. If you insist on it, he'll go in the end. Thats how I ended up going.

ruh roh wrote: »
    To dispel a myth, smegma (the stuff that can build up under the foreskin) cannot become infected. It's there to fight infection protect the glans. It's not a mark of poor hygiene. It's produced in equal volumes in penises whose glans are exposed more often, it's just more noticeable in penises that tend to remain covered. You don't need to actively "clean it." It might be aesthetically displeasing, but there's no clinical risks associated with it.

Circumcision will prompt a major (though not instantaneous) loss of sensitivity. Having the glans constantly exposed causes this. The loss of the frenulum, too, is a cause of major sensitivity loss. Furthermore, circumcision (if anything) is less hygienic. Without the foreskin's protection you're at risk of chaffing, rash and so-called "crotch rot," especially as someone who has been circumcised late in life.

The common use of circumcision is, in my view, the result of decades of misinformation and misconception. It's an incredibly drastic measure to treat phimosis and should be averted the vast majority of the time. It is a detriment to the health of penis if anything and was introduced in most cultures not out of hygiene concerns, but to make masturbation more difficult.

I think you're kinda missing the point of this thread. I've made a very difficult decision that I've spent a lot of time thinking about while investigating both sides of the story. I was tired of reading posts like yours so I started this thread for positive comments, stories and suggestions. I would appreciate if posts like this could be kept for the other circumcision pages.

And don't try and say you're dispelling myths, you have stated a lot of disputable facts in your post. Anyway, to clear up a lot of so-called misinformation floating around I'll be keeping a diary of my surgery and recovery on this thread (I'll have little else to do). I'll try and make it as informative as possible, while addressing the supposed misinformation and misconception on both sides. Surgery's on the 16th so I'll start it that evening.

I think you're kinda missing the point of this thread. I've made a very difficult decision that I've spent a lot of time thinking about while investigating both sides of the story. I was tired of reading posts like yours so I started this thread for positive comments, stories and suggestions. I would appreciate if posts like this could be kept for the other circumcision pages.
    That's a fair point. Regardless of what people think of the pros and cons, you've elected to undergo this procedure after you seem to have exhausted all the options so lets try and keep this particular thread on the positive side and keep the anti side to other threads or other fora.

Thanks a million Jeepers101, I mentioned it briefly to him last night (Just about the tearing causing scarring etc. and touched on the circumcision bit) He seems to be totally against it, but as you said we will lube him up when hes healed and hopefully he will be ok after that, but if it happens again and keeps happening I will insist that he have it looked at!

Thanks again and best of luck with your op! If you're keeping a diary on this that would be cool,first hand info on what its like-I might show it to him so he wont be as worried about it!

Thanks a million Jeepers101, I mentioned it briefly to him last night (Just about the tearing causing scarring etc. and touched on the circumcision bit) He seems to be totally against it, but as you said we will lube him up when hes healed and hopefully he will be ok after that, but if it happens again and keeps happening I will insist that he have it looked at!

Thanks again and best of luck with your op! If you're keeping a diary on this that would be cool,first hand info on what its like-I might show it to him so he wont be as worried about it!

here's my diary thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054899493

hope that helps

tbh wrote: »
    here's my diary thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054899493

hope that helps

Thanks a million!

Wibbs wrote: »
    That's a fair point. Regardless of what people think of the pros and cons, you've elected to undergo this procedure after you seem to have exhausted all the options so lets try and keep this particular thread on the positive side and keep the anti side to other threads or other fora.
    With respect, I feel the OP has posited quite a bit of information and reasoning in this thread that is somewhat suspect, and given that quite a few people would browse these threads on the basis of seeking advice or other experiences, I think it would be a little irresponsible to simply allow a pro-circumcision thread (a thread casually insisting on a medical course of action given a particular set of circumstances) to progress without the "second opinion" being present.

Crucially, this thread is not here for discussion of the procedure. However, the OP quite explicitly presented a set of defined circumstances and drew conclusions from them to justify his position. If this thread was simply a "I'm getting circumcised, who has stories" affair, then there'd be less to my argument.

Certainly, it's no venue for a full on circumcision debate. However, in an issues and advise forum in which opinions are asked for a multitude of opinions should be shared, lest it simply become a one-sided advertisement. Consider the structure of this thread in relation to issues like family planning or abortion. While discussion should never become incendiary, it's important that no one opinion be presented as salient (as the OP has tried to do here having offered his reasoning so openly).

With respect, I feel the OP has posited quite a bit of information and reasoning in this thread that is somewhat suspect

What exactly do you find so suspect about it. I'd be happy to send you some pictures if you don't believe me.
    and given that quite a few people would browse these threads on the basis of seeking advice or other experiences, I think it would be a little irresponsible to simply allow a pro-circumcision thread

I never opened a pro circumcision thread. I simply asked for a thread without comments like what were in your post, as they were making me nervous. If people were searching the forum for advice, they would find a lot of circumcision debates, and would clearly see from my opening post that I was asking for positive aspects.
    Crucially, this thread is not here for discussion of the procedure. However, the OP quite explicitly presented a set of defined circumstances and drew conclusions from them to justify his position. If this thread was simply a "I'm getting circumcised, who has stories" affair, then there'd be less to my argument

I presented those circumstances and conclusions because I was asked... by somebody who no doubt read my opening post and therefore had a fair idea of the context of the thread.

However, in an issues and advise forum in which opinions are asked for a multitude of opinions should be shared, lest it simply become a one-sided advertisement

First of all, its not an issues and advice forum, its an issues forum. Secondly, if you read my post on page one again I do give my opinion on somebody else's situation but not once did I suggest that he should be circumcised, I suggested that he start stretching. I agree with you that it should be the last option so I can't see where you're plucking this one-sided advertisement theme from.

I'm going for a circumcision on the 16th of next month (for medical reasons). I've been looking through the threads available on the subject and they're making me a bit anxious about the whole thing. So much so that I've decided to start a thread dedicated to positive stories and comments about the procedure. So please, lads that have had one and ladies that have played with one, share your good experiences!

Let me just say this - if you have a look in the thread I quoted above, all of the lads who have had one, who have actually had one, every one of them say the only regret they had was that they didn't get it done sooner. I understand why people sometimes advise against getting one done, but to be honest, sometimes you don't have the choice.

With respect, I feel the OP has posited quite a bit of information and reasoning in this thread that is somewhat suspect, and given that quite a few people would browse these threads on the basis of seeking advice or other experiences, I think it would be a little irresponsible to simply allow a pro-circumcision thread (a thread casually insisting on a medical course of action given a particular set of circumstances) to progress without the "second opinion" being present.
    I would agree if this was the only thread on the subject and if no other opinion had been posted, but I felt that there has been the opposing side put in this and other threads on the subject and I didn't want to see it getting mired in that debate again. Perhaps it would have been wiser for me to suggest keeping debate to a minimum rather than stifle it entirely.

For the record I would be on the anti side except in for genuine medical reasons and would feel that it's a procedure performed too quickly without looking at alternatives, so my intentions were not coming from a personal take on this emotive subject.