Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hibernian Poker News

• 20-06-2008 2:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭

Hibernian Poker have two big games planned for 2008 both of which require prior booking from players wishing to play in them.
    The first is the Hibernian Poker 2008 team event:

1. Who is running the event (Hibernian Poker.)
    2. The purpose of the event (commercial)
    3. Date and Location of event: Bank Holiday Monday 27th October 2008, Oldcastle House Hotel, Oldcastle
    4. Registration and Start time of event. 5pm SHARP
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, which is free)
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number ( 120 players i.e. 30 teams of 4 per team, players must pre-book)
    7. Type of Tournament ( NL Hold'em Freezeout)
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. €600 per team, i.e. €150 per player
    9. Cost of registration €15 per player included in above price
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund 100%
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. with 30 teams we have €16,200 in prize money, €7,200 for top 3 teams (€4,000, €2,000 and €1,200 with €9,000 for 10 final table individuals)
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. none
    13. Starting Chips 10k
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. None
    15. Blind levels, 40mins throughout
    16. Blind timeframes 50/100 100/200 150/300, 200/400etc
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash. Top 3 teams & top 10 individuals top 3 individuals win tickets for the 2008 Cavan Poker Open (worth €300 each), all else is cash pay out.
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill, dealers from level 4 onwards
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules yes
    20. Is there a tournament director yes
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. Mick Mc Guane TD

The 2nd major event of the year is the 2008 Cavan Poker Open,

3. Date and Location of event Friday 5th, Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th December 2008, Crover House Hotel Mount Nugent
    4. Registration and Start time of event. 8pm SHARP
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (players must pre-book by e-mailing mick@cavanpoker.com or by phone on 0862205111)
    7. Type of Tournament ( NL Hold'em Freezeout)
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. €300 with 1 rebuy or top up for €150
    9. Cost of registration €50
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. 1st prize of €25,000, estimated total prize pool in excess of €70,000. Last years pay out with 180 players was €68,000, this years rebuy has increased from €100 to €150 so prize-pool should exceed €75,000
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. 1 for 1st 3 levels
    13. Starting Chips 10k with a 1k bonus for players registered in person before 8pm
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. 10k
    15. Blind levels, 1 hour throughout
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash. Top 20 individuals all cash.
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill, dealer dealt throughout, good

Our new web site now finished at cavanpoker.com.
    For these and other events you can ring me on 086-2205111 or email mick@cavanpoker.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭RoadSweeper

Can you post the exact blind levels, as i know Hibernian poker tournies usually end in a crapshoot, even the deepstacked ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Mr. Wolf

I think you're confusing Hibernian Poker with another company buddy. Exact blind levels for my midweek games which start at 9pm and normally finish around 2am (based on 30 players)
    $10k starting chips with 1 re-buy or top up whcich gets another $10k. So its $21k per player.
    Blinds are 15 mins long through out and go as follows:
    50/100
    100/200
    200/400
    300/600
    400/800
    500/1000
    600/1200
    800/1500
    1000/2000
    1500/2000
    2000/4000
    2500/5000
    3000/6000
    4000/8000
    5000/10000
    6000/12000
    8000/15000
    10000/20000
    15000/30000
    20000/40000
    and frozen at that point.
    As you can see I push the blind hard at the start so that I can go easy on them when they matter, so it DOES'NT BECOME A CRAPSHOOT!
    My bigger events follow the same criteria except I have a 150/300 level and a 250/500 level and the blinds are 30 mins to start and 25 mins from levels 5 to 15, 20 mins thereafter.
    The Cavan Open has blinds of 40 mins throughout the entire 3 days.
    Crapshoot? I think not, r u confusing us with someone else???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭pierce hard

i guess he must be confusing you with Libernian poker who operate in Navan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Not that i have any intention of playing but 50 reg on a 300 game is scandalous imo.

Very good, I have had the name of my poker company confused with that of another poker company in the past though, something to do with scottish football teams or something.

On a more serious note though, time is a sensitive issue when it comes to running poker tournies. If I finish a game at 2am, i pack everything away, drive home, normally i'm not in much before 4am if even. So as far as i'm concerned the game can run until 5am it matters not. BUT if I have players missing work on a Wednesday because my Tuesday game goes on to late, even though it means they're finishing in the money if they're still there at that stage, do you think they'll come back the following week? The blind structure I operate is designed to keep pressure on from the start but never too much, i base everything on the ratio of the average chip stack to the size of the big blind, which towards the latter end of a tournament may well be average stack equals 10 big blinds or even 9, but lets face it poker players, if 9 times the big blind doesn't get your opponent off a pot then you've just walked into a monster. I find that once players are aware of the blind structure and play within its limitations they will do what must be done to ensure their survival.
    Having said all that my bigs games leave plenty of room for play and no one can deny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

Mr. Wolf wrote: »
    Very good, I have had the name of my poker company confused with that of another poker company in the past though, something to do with scottish football teams or something.

On a more serious note though, time is a sensitive issue when it comes to running poker tournies. If I finish a game at 2am, i pack everything away, drive home, normally i'm not in much before 4am if even. So as far as i'm concerned the game can run until 5am it matters not. BUT if I have players missing work on a Wednesday because my Tuesday game goes on to late, even though it means they're finishing in the money if they're still there at that stage, do you think they'll come back the following week? The blind structure I operate is designed to keep pressure on from the start but never too much, i base everything on the ratio of the average chip stack to the size of the big blind, which towards the latter end of a tournament may well be average stack equals 10 big blinds or even 9, but lets face it poker players, if 9 times the big blind doesn't get your opponent off a pot then you've just walked into a monster. I find that once players are aware of the blind structure and play within its limitations they will do what must be done to ensure their survival.
    Having said all that my bigs games leave plenty of room for play and no one can deny that.

I can see your point mate. I think the €50 reg on a €300 buyin is what most people will have an issue with here. just my 2.34 cents.:D

Nothing scandalous about it , There is one rebuy or top up in the game for €150 so the game is actually a €500 from which the €50 reg covers dealers and venue. which works out at 10%
    The prize pool generated last year was €68,000 with the winner receiving €25,000 and top 21 getting paid (21st got €500) The reason i do it this way is that its easier for me to get out a €300 ticket in one of my smaller games than it is to get out a €500 ticket, last year I had 180 players, 125 of whom had won their tickets, the reg last year was €30 but it was self dealt up until level 10, so the extra €20 this year is to cover the dealers from the start of the tournament and the free entries which I will have for advertising purposes.

See earlier quote, unlike some other companies, the entire re-buy and top up gets paid out, next year I will cahnge the format, I think the Waterford Opens €500+€50 is the way to go, but for this year i've already got 60 tickets out so must follow it through. I prefer the freeze out for obvious reasons its just that on night when I have a €1,000 first prize, its better to give €700 plus a ticket than to give €500 plus a ticket, do u agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

Nothing scandalous about it , There is one rebuy or top up in the game for €150 so the game is actually a €500 from which the €50 reg covers dealers and venue. which works out at 10%
    The prize pool generated last year was €68,000 with the winner receiving €25,000 and top 21 getting paid (21st got €500) The reason i do it this way is that its easier for me to get out a €300 ticket in one of my smaller games than it is to get out a €500 ticket, last year I had 180 players, 125 of whom had won their tickets, the reg last year was €30 but it was self dealt up until level 10, so the extra €20 this year is to cover the dealers from the start of the tournament and the free entries which I will have for advertising purposes.

these free entrys who pays there money in to prize pool ?

'so the extra €20 this year is to cover the dealers from the start of the tournament and the free entries which I will have for advertising purposes'.
    I will have an estimated 5 free entries (€1,500) as mentioned in the quote which you quoted, this amount is covered by the 10% registration fee!!!
    Their money will be in the prize pool. Will yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

So what if i have 5 average stacks and decide not to rebuy or topup, ive paid 50 reg on a 300 buyin, you cant assume everyone will topup and charge them juice on it accordingly. There is never a reg fee on rebuys anywhere in the country.

Also expecting people to pay an extra 20 euros reg to cover your free entires you've given out "for advertsing purposes" is hilarious. Pay your own advertising bills imo.

This is my last comment in this thread and if people are dumb enough to play this then good luck to you but i think its pretty bad/verging on robbery. 500+50 next time would be far better.

Also the 9 times bb monster thing amused me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

€50 reg!!!! OMG!!! abuse!! abuse!! abuse!!! scandelous!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Guys Seriously,

You really need to have alook at what it cost to run a tournament like this!!!

I'm speaking here with my players cap on here and not my TD cap. Irish poker players have the best structured tournament in the world at the moment. Do we realy want to discourage tournie orgainsers from running great games like this?

We could revert back to €500 & €50 Reg, 6k stack and 30 min blinds!! This by the way would have been considered great in the UK only 12 months ago!!!

Every player on this forum has no problem in playing a $50 & $5 or $100 & $10 game on stars or ipoker ect because it's 10% reg fee, which by the way has sweet f*&k all in over heads compared to running a live event.

But when a TD goes out of his way to run a really good game like this one and charges more than 10% we all give them a hard time.

I will personally give €100 to the 1st person who can run a 2 day tournnament like above in a hotel with food, dealers ect and make enough money to cover all additional costs (i.e. advertising, transport ect) and make a profit that makes it worth your while on a €30 reg.

If you don't wish to top up at the break thats fine, i'm charging you €50 reg to play a tournament with a guaranteed 1st prize of €25,000. How much is that worth? how many €500+€50 games generate that prize? or a prize-pool of €68,000?
    I ran The Cavan Open last year with €30 reg, it was 100% pay out on all entries, rebuys and top ups and I had a €68,000 prize pool. I covered the free entries from the reg fee and paid dealers from level 5 for the remaining 12 hours of the tournament, I paid the venue and food bills, 180 players generated €5,400 in registration fees which just about covered this, the price of new equipment i'd purchased for the game and any profit for myself was non existent. The game was a customer service for my players who play with me regularly and believe me when I say the buzz was f***ing brilliant, i'd do it every day if I could (though i'd probably go broke) I don't run cash tables and don't charge any fee for side tables (of which there were about 50 run over the 2 days of the event) so there was no other areas where I could recoup expenses. Like I said their were 125 of the 180 players who had won their entries into this event via smaller games and these included 3 games which I had run as fund raisers for local charity causes at no fee.
    I don't know you MDwexford and you don't know me I'm a fan of poker and really enjoy running games, you're obviously a disgruntled cynic, why? I don't know. I'm glad that that was your last comment on this thread, i thought Boards was a good place to let people know about decently run and fair poker tournaments but obviously I was wrong. You just want to have a whinge md, good luck to you son.

Thanks for the vote of confidence JP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

I'm with JP on this. I have no problem paying €50 reg for a €300 game once the following conditions are met:

1--The game is held by an operator outside of a casino. (I would absolutely refuse to pay more than 10% reg for any game in a casino.

2-- A proper blind structure is in place so the game has plenty of play.

3-- Dealers for all tables have to be provided.

4-- 100% of entry fees have to be paid out.

From what I can see, the game above matches this criteria.
    JP is right in saying that we poker players are spoiled. Both JP and myself can look at this from both sides of the fence as we both play and we both run tourneys. The reg in Vegas is nearer to 20% than 10%, thats in casinos!!, and nobody complains. Players dont understand the running costs incurred in organising a properly run event. If opetators have to run a proper game in a hotel over 3 days, running it for 30€ in nigh on impossible. The op has stated that he couldnt possibly run this event for a €30 reg fee and he detailed why, fair play to him for doing so. But we as players have to start thinking a bit outside the box. If operators dont make some kind of profit, then they'll stop running games, and then all we'll be left with is casino games and the choices we now have would be limited.

If the game is organised and ran properly, I see no problem in I paying a €50 reg fee whether the game is a €300, €400 or €500 entry fee. I'm paying the €50 to the operator towards his costs for running the event. The costs dont change because the game is €300 rather than €500. The only downside is for a 3 day tourney, I would expect a 1 hour clock.

Connie ( not sure whether I'm wearing my playing hat or organiser had, but
    my opinion would be the same I think)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 523ISE

i have to agree with JP and Connie . i have only tried to run a couple of small tourney's at no profit and the 1st with an overlay for an irish open ticket and it was more hassle than it is worth. At times as poker players we take things for granted and grumble too much about petty little things when someone like Mick comes along with a good tournament we tend to pick at the bad points instead of looking at a well run event by a man that works tirelessly at promoting the game and creating better events. i know Mick personally and would travel anywhere to play his tourney's because they are well run ,and i hope he continues to run them . More power to ya mick

Jeez, just as i was beginning to give up faith in Boards, thanks guys. I will do my upmost to make this years Cavan Open as much a success as last years event, AND I PROMISE TO CHANGE THE STRUCTURE NEXT YEAR to keep in line with the excellent events that are currently being run by companies JP Poker, Bigslick and Poker Ireland i.e. a €500 + €50 reg game with 1 hour blinds, but like I said, i've already managed to give out 60 tickets for this years event and will have to follow through on the current structure.

Sounds good, but imho, you still have time to up the blind levels to 1 hour. You'll still finish easily within 3 days. Have a think about it anyway.

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

As a tournament organiser as well, I have to agree with whats been said above by JP, Mr.wolf etc... Its very difficult to run big buyin events without someone complaining or giving out.
    We're only a small time outfit compared to ye guys, and have never ran an event longer than 1 day, so I can only imagine how much it costs to both advertise and run a 2/3 day event. There are times when its more hassle than its worth running games down this side of the country...especially games where the players are getting a decent structured tournament.

I think your event looks like a very good event mr.wolf. As connie said...maybe a 1 hour clock for nexts years schedule.

nice one.

Carlo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

i think connie means that he has the 1 hr clock for this tourie he can change that now easy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

My two cents.

Mick's mid week games are tight on Blind time. IMO. And every time i have played with him i have said so. Saying that, you do get home at a reasonable hour but its much more of a gamble. This is not what he is advertising here is it. It is two large events later in the year that are not tight on time.

I played the CPO last year. It was well run, there were dealers about half way through day one. Which was great for the players.

I think the €50 euro fee is fair game. It fact it is cheap for the hotel and quantity of food served last year. The hotel was on the edge of a beautiful lake and is really hidden away. Now with full dealers it will be even better.

Not sure about the rebuy idea though. I would prefer straight 500 freezeout.

Free entries and club tickets seem part of the marketing of any event and are always offered. I would like Mick to branch out and offer these to a wider audience, clubs and organisers further a field. I guess he needs a sponsor to pay for them rather than out of the pot. If it is not 100% payout then it may feel like a CPT event......(don't kill me Mick)
    Can't betdaq, laddies, boyles sponsor him. Betdaq gave out 4k on friday just to boards people. I guess Mick will have to speak to Ross and get it sorted.

Nice idea about the team event.........it's a great idea. Wonder where you got it from. Are you going far enough with it though.

looking forward to a good weekend for this

I have changed the blind lengths to 1 hour long for this years event, and The Cavan Pker Open 2009 will be a €500+€50 reg event. Thanks all, constructive criticism is always greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

I have changed the blind lengths to 1 hour long for this years event, and The Cavan Pker Open 2009 will be a €500+€50 reg event. Thanks all, constructive criticism is always greatly appreciated

Well Done. I hope to make it to this myself. I will do a few sats for this nearer the time.

Good stuff JP, cheers for that, and vice versa buddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

I guess you need to list some satellite tourneys. If 60 tickets have already gone out when are these events happening?

Count me in for this. But as always, i would like to sat in .

As you know Iain all my mid-week games have tickets for best hand and for the bubble to monthly games, my next one is the Bank Holiday Monday game on August 4th, i'll give full details on it closer to the time buddy.

On that positive note, you can take it that I will be playing in your event. I will also run a satt in the club and qualify 3 or 4 more players and we'll travel up together. So you can book 2 hotel rooms for us.

If you make it down to Killarney for the Ladbrokes poker festival in early October, bring down some fliers with you as our field in that would also be the market your after, and better again, if you want to do a satt for it, we'd be delighted. Talk to you soon,

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

big_iain wrote: »
    I guess you need to list some satellite tourneys. If 60 tickets have already gone out when are these events happening?

Count me in for this. But as always, i would like to sat in .

Mick has added a €350 ticket to the prize-pool of the Dundalk One Hundred, this month and every month up to the event if he gets a bit of positive feedback.

The winner of the tournament on 6th July is going to get the €350 ticket.

I hope players can understand the amount of work and cost that goes into an event like this before the first card is even dealt.

Thanks for that Connie, I was already in touch with Neil about doing satellites for the Poker Festival and will definitely be running 1 in September for you guys and hope to play in it myself. I'm away for the next two weeks but will be in touch when I get back.

As Steven says there is a ticket to be won in the Dundalk 100 on July 6th, and hopefully 1 on August 3rd, i'm doing a game on the bank holiday Monday in August in Oldcastle co. Meath, here are the details:
    The next satellite for the Cavan Poker Open will be held on Bank Holiday Monday August 4th. The top 3 players in this event will receive tickets for the 2008 Cavan Poker Open in addition to the cash prizes available. The average pay out for games of these structure (based on my last 8 games of this format is €12,000) with a high pay out of €15,100 (109 players) and a low of €4,800 (33 players, a very bad showing which clashed with several other games on the day and for which I had not given out many tickets due to fundraisers I had been running in the previous fortnight) I'd be very confident of having 80 plus on August 4th

3. Date and Location of event: Bank Holiday Monday 4th August 2008, Oldcastle House Hotel, Oldcastle
    4. Registration and Start time of event. 5pm SHARP
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (players can pay on the day, maximum capacity in the venue is about 200)
    7. Type of Tournament (NL Hold'em Freezeout)
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. €100 with 1 re-buy or top up option for €50
    9. Cost of registration €10 per player included in above price
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. No (see above)
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. 1 for 1st 3 levels
    13. Starting Chips 10k + 1k bonus for players registered before 5pm
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. 10k
    15. Blind levels, 30mins for 1st 5 levels, 25 mins thereafter
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash. Top 3 players receive Cavan Poker Open tickets worth €300, best hand receives a €100 ticket all else is cash pay out.
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill, self dealt until level 5/6. Good dealers thereafter

For further details on this and other events please contact me on 086-2205111 or e-mail Mick at Cavanpoker.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 ShaneMcGrory

I have known mick personally now for quite a while, through playin the weekly/monthly and cavan open, and i will first say what a pleasure to have a peoples person and a TD who is not only interested in his players but cares about how we are doin live/online and who will listen to his players views and opinions(even though he may not agree with them all :)). U wont find many around like mick and that is a fact and all who know him would surely agree.

I have played in a lot of micks games and imho the midweeks games are structured fine as to finish at 2am mon-thur is a reasonable time for the poor people that most work for a living:eek:. The monthly games and bigger ones are def suited for the player and any1 from england who play such games as 100rb in casinos which i did while back, 1k starting stack 1k rebuys and 1k add ons, will know where im coming from that u dont exactly get play r value for ur money.

The cavan open last year was a great success and a great weekends fun win or lose, a most attend for 2008 and 2009. 40 mins is plenty time with all levels included and the structure was spot on. I look forward to this years, and bringing the trophy back ( to my new homeland hehe)

Any questions or comments feel free to contact mick as he will be more then welcoming to any queries u have.

Shane McG