Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Apres Match

• 20-06-2008 11:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

Can this painful muck be brought to an end ? It has long ceased to be funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

mickd wrote: »
    Can this painful muck be brought to an end ? It has long ceased to be funny

I find it amusing at times and if you don't maybe you should just change the channel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Auvers wrote: »
    I find it amusing at times and if you don't maybe you should just change the channel

+1. I like it whenever I get the chance to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

I change channel all the time. However a split second of their mediocre talent and smug expressions that they there are on the RTE gravy train still makes it painful muck,

I change channel all the time

your problem is solved so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Punchbowl

I change channel all the time. However a split second of their mediocre talent and smug expressions that they there are on the RTE gravy train still makes it painful muck,

Wow!! There's plenty of stuff I don't like out there, but I'm not letting it get to me/losing sleep.. I suggest you don't either..Probably best to switch it off.

For the record, it's one of the best things on RTE (or anywhere for that matter).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Another angry net warrior.

/me is scared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

Yep. I got to agree guys. It's really starting to get boring now. I have been a huge fan of Apres Match for years but lately it is starting to get really stale. I mean 'Ireland's Got Analysis'. It's really bad. I think it is a great show in small doses. I havn't seen them live but I would say that gig would be great. It also reminds me of the character Jake Stevens from Naked Camera. Great in small doses but when he went to America for that series I found it very boring, too much!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Yer man who does Bill O'Herlihy is brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

It has it's ups and downs. Some of the ones that have been on have been painfully unfunny, and then there are others that are hilarious. It's only on for about 2 minutes anyway. Watch an ad break if you don't like it.

Whats brilliant about him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I change channel all the time. ,

Where's the problem so??

I really like Apres Match tbh...

its a bit longer than two minutes and i would like someone to tell me what amusing by have someone imitating Frank Stapleton taking to his dog, or have Dunphy impersonated minutes just after the real charlatan was on.

Dunphy impersonated minutes just after the real charlatan was on.

hmmm problems with Dunphy now, why do you watch RTEs coverage at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Aprés Match is hilarious and I'm just thankful that RTE decide to allow some of this pisstake satire comedy on their show. The mocking of the SkySports & Setanta pundits is shocking to say the least, in a good way!

Good in small doses some say? Well your right there. It is in small doses...

Also, I hate to be the person who does this but, Aprés Match thread

armour87 wrote: »
    ..Also, I hate to be the person who does this but, Aprés Match thread

that's the Soccer forum and its private, you need to be invited to post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

that's the Soccer forum and its private, you need to be invited to post
    Not true, you need to apply. Soccer Access Requests

hmmm problems with Dunphy now, why do you watch RTEs coverage at all?

Still watch RTE's coverage because Grahame Souness and Ray Houghton are very good analysts, Souness has shown on regular basis that he has a greater knowledge of the European game than both Giles and Dunphy. Giles I find ok as he uses knowledge he has gained from years in the game where as Dunphy just mutters what any half-wit in a pub would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Souness :)
    Ray Houghton :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

Apres Match - v hit and miss this tournament..

RTE Analysts - Def the most entertaining bunch on the box without doubt, ignoring whether they are actually right or wrong in their assessments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Apres Match is brilliant,this year has been great with the exception of a few sketches,but other than that it has been very very good. Great impressions and pisstakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I think the impersonations are really good, but the humour is not up to much.

They need a good comedy writer.

That Ireland has analysis and Ryle Nugent thing was just awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Whats brilliant about him?

He does an excellent impersonation and is usually really funny.

What kind of answer were you expecting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

its a bit longer than two minutes and i would like someone to tell me what amusing by have someone imitating Frank Stapleton taking to his dog, or have Dunphy impersonated minutes just after the real charlatan was on.

In English please?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Sorry, what? Aprés Match is possibly the only funny thing left on RTÉ...I will digress that the format has become a little old and busted maybe, but it still has it's moments and has been peerless in the past.
    What I can't understand is where Murphy and the rest of them are when there's no footie on...these guys have a comedic edge that's badly needed on our home produced stuff, so why don't we see them in much else? Okay perhaps they might be sh*te if they weren't talking football, but it'd be nice to see RTÉ giving them some more work in a wider format, instead of showing repeats of Friends and Scrubs for our staple dose of "comedy".
    Miriam on Lisbon and Ireland IAM cookery slot were well worth a laugh this week...not a patch on the stuff they did for the '06 world cup though.
    I'll be the first to criticise RTÉ for almost anything, but credit where it's due for keeping this link going for as long as they have...it's in danger of becoming an institution...and as others have said it's only a few minutes at the end of what can for some be a pretty boring 105+ minutes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭ElNino

I would agree with some of the earlier posters that there have been a few duff sketches this year but the Pat Spillane diva sketch made up for all that last night :D The guys on the Sunday Game must have almost died laughing when they saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

It was quite funny last night watching Bill O Herlihy nearly lose it after the Apres Match sketch before the Spanish game last night..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

What's with all this 'just change the channel' nonsense? It's a television discussion forum. Should every single post be replied to in this fashion, so?

Leave it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Like any comedy it's not going to hit the mark 100% of the time. When it's poor it can be very poor, but that's when I change channel, or go make tea. It does have moments of genius though. The one that had O'Herlihy in stitches yesterday or Saturday was good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Still watch RTE's coverage because Grahame Souness and Ray Houghton are very good analysts, Souness has shown on regular basis that he has a greater knowledge of the European game than both Giles and Dunphy. Giles I find ok as he uses knowledge he has gained from years in the game where as Dunphy just mutters what any half-wit in a pub would say.

Giles, Dunphy and Brady are absolutely fantastic. Sure Dunphy mightn't know a hell of a lot about football but at least he speaks his mind (as all RTE pundits do) and it just so happens his mind is hilariously entertaining.

Souness is alright and will prob take over from Brady. Houghton is grand as a second commentator but not great at proper analysis.

As for Apres Match hit and miss but they put out a lot of output and usually have to tailor their sketches to what happened moments less than half an hour before

He does an excellent impersonation and is usually really funny.

What kind of answer were you expecting?

Fair enough its an impression but brilliant is a bit OTT. Impersonating Bill O'Herlihy is hardly a feat of comic genius or an example of brilliance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I love Après Match but I wish they'd stick to the football. The cooking, Bono, three lads on the sofa ones have been very poor IMO but when they parody the RTE panel it's absolutely brilliant. Especially the improvised ones, where they analyse the match that has just been on and take the piss out of things the panel just said.

I'm gutted there's no 3rd/4th place play-off in the Euros. The WC 2006 one was hilarious. It'd be great if they started putting sketches on after Champion's League matches when the new season starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

The Pat Spillane one last night was great. To say he isn't a popular man here in north-west Cork would be an understatement, so it went down well with everybody that was in the living room at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭nevey

The Pat Spillane one last night was great.
    Funnily enough I didn't think that one was great, but I thought the beans not on toast one was hilarious ... I don't even know who the male presenter who was being parodied was .... but I still thought it was priceless. As a rule, I like it better when they are taking the piss out of the panel that was just on - it seems that the beans/Spillane/bono sketches are pre-recorded - but when they do this they get some priceless comic moments by repeating and twisting comments that the panel have just said. It feels very authentic and spontaneous.
    I am more than happy to sit through a few less than excellent sketches as long as there are a few gems there as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭iseegirls

The beans with no toast was just hilarious!! I love the panel stuff aswell, but that one just stood out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭nevey

I thought the panel and the apres match crews had reversed roles last night.

I've never seen such a load of prickly panelists. Liam Brady insisting that Dunphy had said germany wouldn't do well, giles insisting on this belief thing and dunphy insisting that belief without talent won't get you very far .... and then repeat all three positions for about 10 minutes. They were parodying themselves.