Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EPT season 5 - Dublin scrapped

• 19-06-2008 5:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭

pokerstars has released the schedule for the ept 5 and unfortunately the dublin ept has been scrapped. an awful pity for irish poker imo. must be because of the poor turnout at the last 1. also they have dropped the buy in of most of the other events from 8k to 5k.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

this is really old news isnt it??
    PPP have replaced it with a festival i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

Is the PCA seperate to the EPT schedule? I thought it was an EPT event, but I could be wrong...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭DBC2007

BIGMICKG wrote: »
    pokerstars has released the schedule for the ept 5 and unfortunately the dublin ept has been scrapped. an awful pity for irish poker imo. must be because of the poor turnout at the last 1. also they have dropped the buy in of most of the other events from 8k to 5k.

not surprised. but the fact that the buyin has dropped should be good news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

I heard this news some time back from an interview with John Dulthie. No great loss imo, last years event was a national disgrace. I spoke to numerous visitors from overseas who insisted that they would not return after the fiasco they had to endure in the cattleshed of the RDS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭davidgti

hear some rumors here and there ...so whats the story with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Conbro wrote: »
    I heard this news some time back from an interview with John Dulthie. No great loss imo, last years event was a national disgrace. I spoke to numerous visitors from overseas who insisted that they would not return after the fiasco they had to endure in the cattleshed of the RDS

Stall the ball there! national disgrace?! steady on. How does organising a poker tournament badly have anything to do with anything in terms of coming back to ireland?! (i take it you mean to play poker :rolleyes:)

A key problem for Ireland is always gonna be a venue, we dont have any supercasinos like in Barcelona or Dortmund (the only 2 ive been to). CityWest runs a really good big tourny. Imo a 5k EPT event there next year would go down very well. 8k buy-ins are counterproductive. I'd prefer to see it at a uniform 4k myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,714 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Conbro wrote: »
    Well the Regency was terrible as well. Two bad venues in a row was enough I suppose.
    It was the only venue to have less players in 2007 than the previous year. I think the Regency really killed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

How does organising a poker tournament badly have anything to do with anything in terms of coming back to ireland?! (i take it you mean to play poker

Yes obviously I meant to play poker at the EPT Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

tossed in a few questions during a sng with John today:

ROONEY_DIVES: john is EPT dublin permanently off the agenda or just next year
    Dealer: HARPER69, it's your turn. You have 12 seconds to act
    Dealer: Regular time for player HARPER69 has expired, TIME BANK has been activated
    John Duthie: prob permanently
    Dealer: HARPER69, it's your turn. You have 12 seconds to act
    John Duthie: sadly
    Dealer: HARPER69 has timed out - hand is folded
    Dealer: Game #18268445529: John Duthie wins pot (75)
    ROONEY_DIVES: hmm i think it could be a success @ 5k but you're the man in the know!
    Dealer: Game #18268473513: gabyalp wins pot (30)
    Administrator: LAPT-Punta del Este: $22+R sat to $530 Qual. begins in 5 minutes. To register see T92137874 under the Events/LAPT tab.
    Dealer: Game #18268480145: parachuting wins pot (210)
    John Duthie: Not so much me, Paddy Power have pretty much tied up all the major events
    Dealer: Roshchin, it's your turn. You have 12 seconds to act
    Dealer: Game #18268491842: John Duthie wins pot (525)
    Dealer: Limits going up: blinds 25/50

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Feckin Paddy Power!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

I blame that cheese eating hoor Noel Hayes

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

He does like his cheese alright.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

firstly, is this Dan's way in telling us he's move up levels after his big win...lol. Dont burn all that cash too quickly mate...

I think what John is stating is that the local market doesn't have the money in it to have two major international events at that level of buy-in and I totally agree. I think Dan is right, 5k would be better, but they should try to get back to 4k and have the bigger fields, but the pro's don't want this. The pro's are there regular market, but the others would make up about 80% of there business I would guess. I think the EPT have it wrong here and you only have to look at the WPT in the states which might be heading into its last year of business. Once value at 1 billion and today at 27 million or something like this.

The answer is:

4k buy-in
    1000 starting fields.
    5 day event
    1 hour blinds
    10k starting stack
    with 90 minute blinds from 18 players down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

lol yeah that would make it an instant success, why didn't they think of that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭BiffoBeater

RDS was terrrible idea as well:mad::mad:.

Compare a big cold industrial hall to a plush hotel with 2 golf courses. I know which tourny im playin anyhows.:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Stall the ball there! national disgrace?! steady on. How does organising a poker tournament badly have anything to do with anything in terms of coming back to ireland?! (i take it you mean to play poker :rolleyes:)

A key problem for Ireland is always gonna be a venue, we dont have any supercasinos like in Barcelona or Dortmund (the only 2 ive been to). CityWest runs a really good big tourny. Imo a 5k EPT event there next year would go down very well. 8k buy-ins are counterproductive. I'd prefer to see it at a uniform 4k myself.

Dan it has nothing to do with not being able to find a suitable venue. There are plenty. This years EPT Prague was held in a hotel conference centre and they got nearly 600 runners almost none of whom were locals. Dortmund EPT 3 was one of the worst EPTs ever but Stars put the effort in to make it a much better event in the exact same venue in Season 4, but with Dublin they just didn't do their homework or put the effort in.

Also it seems obvious that the majority of European tournament donks prefer to play elsewhere. The Dubin EPTs reputation was left in tatters after Season 3 in that diaboical pink airport hotel and I'd imagine a lot of players either didn't want to come back or were put off coming to Ireland by players that were there.