Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Embarresing pics on the loose

• 18-06-2008 12:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

Wasn’t sure if this belonged here or work issues forum. I’ve seen a similar PI thread to this

Was charging my ipod Touch in work today. It’s a fairly impressive device and my teammate asked could he have a look.
    I said no problem and headed off to the lunch.

You can store photos on it and I recently tried entered the fitness challenge they are running over in Fitness forum. So I had a few pics of me in swimming togs from a few angles, maybe for a “before and after” pictures for my own motivation. I’d forgotten they were on the ipod.
    I’ll admit they aren’t muscle and rippling abs. Not in great shape, pretty poor actually but I do my best and am trying hard to improve.

For the “craic”, my colleague took the pics off the ipod (it’s easy to do) and sent them around to a few others with the usual smart comments. As these things go it soon went around to the girls in the department and now it’s 40 people plus.

I couldn’t care less and I can laugh these things off since it’ll be forgetten in a week. I’ll admit I’m not in great shape but there is nothing there that you wouldn’t see if you meet me at a swimming pool. But someone involved HR and now they want to start a disciplinary process.

I simply asked could my teammate send a quick apology around in an email and it’d be forgotten in a week. But management are involved too and it just gets bigger and bigger.

Don’t want to get someone fired but I do want their ass kicked.

What to do folks?
    I'm a lad btw if it wasn't clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

What to do folks?
    Let the moron take his medicine.
    It's not your concern if he gets fired - he made a dumb decision, let him deal with consequences. Stupid people shouldn't be protected.

When you're asked, all you can do is be honest - say how he got the photos and that you're not embarrassed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

seamus wrote: »
    It's not your concern if he gets fired - he made a dumb decision, let him deal with consequences. Stupid people shouldn't be protected.

When you're asked, all you can do is be honest - say how he got the photos and that you're not embarrassed.

Also I wouldn't just consider this guy stupid, I'd also consider him a jerk, and hopefully he gets what's coming to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Don’t want to get someone fired

You're getting no one fired... your colleague may get himself fired though.

All you can do is say you weren't really affected and just ask for leniency.
    Final outcome is with management now it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

This person had no right to take private pics of u off ur ipod and send them around to other people. He made his bed now let him lie in it. I know i most certainly wouldnt be sticking up for him if this had happened to me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Oh well he might he learn in his next job.

You did nothing wrong. He thought it great to be a smart ass. Not so smart now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭brian_ire

seamus wrote: »

Completely agree with the previous posters. You allowed this workmate to use your Ipod in good faith and he clearly disrespected this. I could understand if you had put the pics into the public domain and he simply drew attention to it, but this is not the case... to me its a major invasion of privacy and he deserves what he gets!

Just explain the situation and let justice take its course!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

For the “craic”, my colleague took the pics off the ipod (it’s easy to do) and sent them around to a few others with the usual smart comments.

What an insensitive, thoughtless asshole.
    I totally agree with seamus, let him reap the consequencs of his actions and just be honest when asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

He deserves everything he gets...........its a form of bullying.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

you shouldn't try and defend this guy, he invaded your privacy. what right did he have to look through your photos anyway! the guy sounds like a d*ck to me and he deserves all he gets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

OP I dont think the other posters probably realise that in some offices what people call the craic in one office is disciplinary in another. Your office sounds like the former. Basically tell HR that you are not bothered by the pics and it was probably a bad oversight by your mate. Then get him to buy you bucket loads drink in one of the city centre pubs. Dont bring a camera though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

He deserves everything he gets...........its a form of bullying.........

Nail on head there. Noone would do that thinking it'd be just some craic. They know there'll be some pride and emotion damaged...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭Gross Halfwit

Totally agree with all the posts ... let the douche get what's coming to him. Not your fault. Not your responsibility. Make it known that you don't want hm to be fired though cos just in case he is then the rest of work may treat you like a pariah ... you know how cliquey work can be!

Skiddoosh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

Nail on head there. Noone would do that thinking it'd be just some craic. They know there'll be some pride and emotion damaged...

I have lots of friends who would do it for the craic, it really depends on what the OP's relationship with the colleague involved is. If it was a good friend of mine who did it to me I'd laugh it off - if it was someone I wasn't particularly friendly with, however, then it'd be an entirely different matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

I'm delighted to hear the clown is getting his come-uppance.
    Sorry OP I know that's no help to you. Just be honest with HR. You could also ask that they be lenient. Be clear that you are not involved in any way though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

If I was you Id let the little bollox take whats coming to him.you cant do that sort of thing to a work mate and expect to get away with it, I know if it was me id get the little runt back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

dodgyme wrote: »
    OP I dont think the other posters probably realise that in some offices what people call the craic in one office is disciplinary in another. Your office sounds like the former. Basically tell HR that you are not bothered by the pics and it was probably a bad oversight by your mate. Then get him to buy you bucket loads drink in one of the city centre pubs. Dont bring a camera though.
    And I suppose that in some offices slapping a female co-worker on the ass is just playful and it's not the guys fault if she doesn't appreciate the attention.
    That 'boys will be boys' argument just doesn't wash anymore.

OP, what this guy did was clearly malicious and intended to make you the laughing stock of the office. Whether it bothers you or not is besides the point. It was an act of bullying and he's obviously a prat who deserves whatever is coming to them.

I think it shows you work in a good company if HR didn't join in with the crowd and instead took a professional view of the situation.

Leave it to them to sort out now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭bottletops

Totally agree with all the posts ... let the douche get what's coming to him. Not your fault. Not your responsibility. Make it known that you don't want hm to be fired though cos just in case he is then the rest of work may treat you like a pariah ... you know how cliquey work can be!

Skiddoosh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,516 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Kinda understand where you're coming from on this one. I'd be similar, i wouldn't like the thoughts of someone getting fired over an incident involving me. It can lead to people thinking you're no fun at all even when we know this is not the case.

As for the OP, be honest. thats all. If HR ask did you give permission for the pics to go up, say no, do everything to help them with their enquiries but i wouldn't push for him to get fired. If he ends up fired, you have nothing to be ashamed of, you didn't ask for it and he should have known better.
    If he doesn't, well chances are he'll get a bit of a scare regardless

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

OP I dont think the other posters probably realise that in some offices what people call the craic in one office is disciplinary in another.

I also work in the former type of office. That still doesn't come under what anyone with a bit of cop on would call 'the craic'
    It was a real betrayal of trust on the guys part and a complete lack of any type of 'cop on'
    Not once did he think of the OP's feelings.
    No matter which way you look at it, it just wasn't funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

Totally with Red on this one.. I know that I would not like to think i was directly or in this case indirectly involved in getting this guy fired.

What he did was thoughtless and silly but at the same time how did he know how you were gonna react. I'd be more odd that he actually never thought that you'd be upset

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

Wasn’t sure if this belonged here or work issues forum. I’ve seen a similar PI thread to this

Was charging my ipod Touch in work today. It’s a fairly impressive device and my teammate asked could he have a look.

You can store photos on it and I recently tried entered the fitness challenge they are running over in Fitness forum. So I had a few pics of me in swimming togs from a few angles, maybe for a “before and after” pictures for my own motivation. I’d forgotten they were on the ipod.
    I’ll admit they aren’t muscle and rippling abs. Not in great shape, pretty poor actually but I do my best and am trying hard to improve.

For the “craic”, my colleague took the pics off the ipod (it’s easy to do) and sent them around to a few others with the usual smart comments. As these things go it soon went around to the girls in the department and now it’s 40 people plus.

I couldn’t care less and I can laugh these things off since it’ll be forgetten in a week. I’ll admit I’m not in great shape but there is nothing there that you wouldn’t see if you meet me at a swimming pool. But someone involved HR and now they want to start a disciplinary process.

I simply asked could my teammate send a quick apology around in an email and it’d be forgotten in a week. But management are involved too and it just gets bigger and bigger.

What to do folks?

Take part in the disciplinary process if necessary, and be honest. Talk to the guy, let him know you're pissed off but you didn't involve management or HR. Then just let events unfold.

More importantly use this incident as motivation, get serious about fitness and in a couple of months make sure you send around those "after" photos.;)

Take part in the disciplinary process if necessary, and be honest. Talk to the guy, let him know you're pissed off but you didn't involve management or HR. Then just let events unfold.

More importantly use this incident as motivation, get serious about fitness and in a couple of months make sure you send around those "after" photos.;)

+1 to the first half.

Not so sure sending the "after" photos around would be wise, could be seen as you being "smart", if the guy or someone else felt their feathers ruffled by this incident (or indeed anything else), they could decide to make a disciplinary issue of that.

Best just participate honestly in the disicplinary process, and leave it at that.

You're in no way responsible for whatever disciplinary action is doled out to this clown. So I wouldn't waste a breath feeling bad about it.

EDIT: Also I think ANYONE who would do something like this or anything "for da craic" in a workplace environment is either a bit thick, or innately insensitive. No matter how friendly you are with your workplace colleagues, they are colleagues first, and friends second. Certain rules will take precedence over your personal feelings in the workplace, particularly when something hjas been escalated to a formal complaint level. The best way to avoid this, and be able to maintain friendships in work is to keep certain kinds of "messing" out of the workplace. Save it for the pub on Fridays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I understand where you're coming from OP not wanting anything to happen to him but the first rule between 9 and 5 is professionalism. It's nothing got to do with you anymore apart from it's your pic.

It's between him and HR now.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

How did he get your pics of the ipod without accessing your machine too ?
    If you plug an IPOD into a machine that doesn't have the media on it's hard drive it normally deletes it as part of the autosync ? (maybe i'm wrong)
    He deserves what he gets ...fair play to you for having the confidence to overcome this but many others wouldn't .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

If you plug an IPOD into a machine that doesn't have the media on it's hard drive it normally deletes it as part of the autosync ? (maybe i'm wrong)
    There are ways around these things. Sure most people build up their music collection by copying their mates ipods. It can be easily done though I don't know how.

lol :D
    @Angrybadger, I think you read too much into this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

He deserves what he gets ...fair play to you for having the confidence to overcome this but many others wouldn't .

this only comes into it if you use itunes.

with ipod touch and iphone the photos are stored in a folder as an external hard drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Was the ipod connected to a work computer at the time?
    akamossy wrote: »
    This person had no right to take private pics of u off ur ipod and send them around to other people. He made his bed now let him lie in it. I know i most certainly wouldnt be sticking up for him if this had happened to me.

micmclo wrote: »
    lol :D
    @Angrybadger, I think you read too much into this post.

:pac: I usually do, makes everything so much more dramatic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭DenMan

Hey OP

That's a first I have to say. Your pal was very stupid to have taken those pics off your i pod. Surely he must have known, making copies of somebody else's pics. If he does that then he must be dishonest and should take the punishment. You trusted him with it, obviously it didn't take much for him to go behind your back. He deserves what he gets, you just say he wanted to listen to your music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I have to say OP, you are pretty laid back about all of this. I'd be of the same opinion as everyone else here.

I dont know what made him think that he would get away with it. Any company worth their salt would put him through the hoops for this one.

He should soak it up imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

Even better, 'for the craic' demand royalties for the use of your pictures!

If he doesn't cough up, sue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭oneweb

Whatever about the OP's feelings, the guy obviously defied what would be standard company policy, something along the lines of
    "employees shall not use company resources to send or redistribute inappropriate or offensive material" blah blah blah.

Policy may also state that no external storage devices are allowed connect to the company network etc. (so if HE connected it to download the pics he's doubled-f*cked!)

Anyway by sending such pictures, he has created awkwardness for everyone invloved as well as invading the OP's privacy so what's to say he won't again - or doesn't already - invaded someone else's.

If it was me I'd tell HR I'm not bothered but secretly hope they punish him somehow.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Even better, 'for the craic' demand royalties for the use of your pictures!

If he doesn't cough up, sue!

Right.. you've no idea what you're talking about anyway.

OP: I'd agree with what mostly everyone else has said, let him take it on the chin and lets see how smart he is after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

It's all well and good having a bit of craic around the office, I think every office needs a bit of it, but this lad was taking the p1ss.

If I were you I wouldn't be too bothered about the outcome of any disciplinary actions taken by your HR dept. I would though keep your distance from HR while co-operating with them. That way he can't blame you, only himself. The only thing that you OP did wrong was to trust this guy. Let him be a victim of his own stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

....sent them around to a few others with the usual smart comments. As these things go it soon went around to the girls in the department and now it’s 40 people plus.

Totally aside from any bullying / embarrassment angle, if they were "sent" via email or the company network the above alone is probably 100% against the company usage policy.....immediate disciplinary action.

How much is up to the company, but definitely a serious rap on the knuckles, with added sting because of the effect on another employee (i.e. you).

EDIT : Sorry - just spotted that oneweb beat me to the gist of this, but will leave it here as a confirming "second opinion"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

What to do folks?

Seriously?

Grow a set tbh, stop acting like a shemale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Seriously?

Grow a set tbh, stop acting like a shemale.

Post up some pictures of yourself in speedos and let us take the pi55 out of you and I'll take your comment more seriously.

Anyone who does something like that deserves everything coming their way. While you may not mind, the fact that he took personal photos of yours without your permission and the proceeded to send them around shows that he is nothing more than an inconsiderate ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Sending those pics around to a group of mates (assuming you're in the group): bit of office banter.

Sending it around to the whole office: Total stupidity, and unbelievably inappropriate.

Don't beat yourself up about this OP, the guy that did this is a total idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

TINWOP

OP good show on not losing the head, I know people who would have flipped out.
    Hard to tell if he'd be let go, depends on the company. But don't worry about it. Jobs in Dublin are 10 a penny now, and he'll get one very easily and have learnt a lesson in privacy at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

fair play for not getting uptight about it. However HR had no choice but to get involved. As the pics were sent from their email servers, if those pics were circulated outside the company and were sent to people who found the content unacceptable then the company will get in trouble over it. Thats the trouble with email you never know who it will be sent to!
    If you decided afterwards that you were in fact upset about this, Hr could be in trouble for not taking steps about it and they will obv want to avoid any problems long term.
    I know one lad I worked with who used to send funny emails with picture of employees super imposed on things for the craic. he got away with it in the Irish office but eventually was fired when he went to the US office and thought it was ok - they didnt

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

MrPillowTalk. Your comment was hardly helpful, now was it? Read the charter.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.