Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to get a section 42

• 17-06-2008 2:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭

alright a chairde,

i was speaking to a farmer lately that has serious problems with deer on his land, he asked me would i shoot them and i said i couldnt because it is out of season still, he said can i get any special permission to cull a few so i told him id find out, thats why im here :) does anyone know how do i apply for a section 42 or how would he apply for one and use me to carry out the cull?? any help would be great,cheers!

tiny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

alright a chairde,

i was speaking to a farmer lately that has serious problems with deer on his land, he asked me would i shoot them and i said i couldnt because it is out of season still, he said can i get any special permission to cull a few so i told him id find out, thats why im here :) does anyone know how do i apply for a section 42 or how would he apply for one and use me to carry out the cull?? any help would be great,cheers!

tiny

there is a number on your deer hunting renewel for ballybay just ask them who is you wild life officer is your area could lt could lorcan scott he is based in kilkenny .he would not thank me for putting his no on hear .the big problem with section 42 s is most hinds/ does have just caved or are going too .just because you cant see a calf does not mean there is not one ,and calfs can be born up to september and after but its not that common .thats why only stags should be cull at this time of the year .if you kill a hind thats lactating now you have little chance of finding the calf to kill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

JW is 100% there.

And to be honest shooting a few stags at this stage wont have much impact on overall numbers if that is the goal.

you best bet is to go through the local ranger, but I think it is the landowner who has to make the application - the booK says that the liceance can be issued to the " landowner,agent or nominee". Application to be made in the usual way.

kerryman12 wrote: »
    JW is 100% there.

And to be honest shooting a few stags at this stage wont have much impact on overall numbers if that is the goal.

you best bet is to go through the local ranger, but I think it is the landowner who has to make the application - the booK says that the liceance can be issued to the " landowner,agent or nominee". Application to be made in the usual way.
    spot on kerry ,all your doing is pushing on the problem .a crow banger would work just as well .i spent three hours walking the hill yesterday eve and watch n deer some fine big calf about some hinds minding unseen calf s and some very fat ones also about 4 billion migge, bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

jwshooter wrote: »
    also about 4 billion migge, bastards
    Hope They ate ye!!:D

E. Fudd wrote: »
    Hope They ate ye!!:D

they did and the dogs , book in the post ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

thats great cheers lads, il probably just leave it off till september its a terrible time of year to do it i suppose,although i got permission to shoot on a good 400 acres off him and 200 acres off his neighbour, so its happy days :)

your pro in a corner the land owner s want a few whacked and you want to keep in the good books thats fair enough .go get the section and shoot a few young poor bucks to keep him happy ,better still go put up a high seat and spend a few weeks at it .that will keep the land owner happy and put the deer off a little

very true jw, are high seats worth the hassle? ive never used one before but i could get one made up no problem, the land i got would be perfect for one too, id better do that shoot a few young bucks and keep in their good books, funny enough he told me not to shoot any foxes there,himself and the wife love them!

i hate sitting in them ,but at times the worth the effort, a lean too style if you have something lean it against of course works well as you can move it they do not have to high 8 ,10 foot is enough most of the time do some home work on how handy you can get in and out of it and wind direction and back stops ..

thanks again JW thats a good idea, does anyone have a drawing for one that i can put together?? timber or steel it dont matter!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 lusoshooter

Give a look to this site: www. cabelas.com is an American Supermarket with 3 floors and bigger than a soccer field,only with hunting,shooting and all the outdoors stuff you can dream of,They ship over seas and they have very good prices,and with the exchange rate in the dollar,maybe you get a bargain:D and save the time and work of building one.:rolleyes:

ok today he has told me that he got a section 42 already and the person supposed to carry out the cull isnt doing it so he wants me to do it, does he just change the name of the hunter on it or does anyone know how this works??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

i am not sure it suggests a name on it and if it does there is no big problem changing it. just carry the section with you in case a ranger stops you but generally speaking its never a problem

Maybe talk to the ranger upfront, it might take a few minutes but it could save a sticky situation later.

good stuff, does the farmer usually have the license or does the guy whos supposed to be doing the shooting for him??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

you need to keep a copy of it incase you are stopped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭bogteal

The section 42 is looked for my the farmer, he has to nominate the stalker or stalkers, they come out and check the damage caused by the deer and then give licence, your name will have to be on the form, he will have to ring to get it amended should be no problem hope this helps.

oh right thats great so lads cheers, il let ye know how i get on!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

Does a section 42 allow for night time shooting and/or the use of lamps?

My understanding is that is does - but i am not sure!!

I am sure that clarifies matters for u Ivan!!!!!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

No, it does not. That got mentioned at the FCP conference. You need a seperate permit to lamp deer on top of the section 42.

oh right thats great so lads cheers, il let ye know how i get on!
    the sports man are selling a high seat for 99 sterling made by seeland