Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running Coach - Cork Area - Wanted

• 17-06-2008 1:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

I'm wondering if its a good idea for me to rent/hire a running coach for a birthday present. Its for my girlfriend and she is training for the Dublin marathon, and the training may be helpful.

Anyone know of someone that may be willing to coach her for a few lessons in Cork city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Hi karlnolan,

Coaching can be very effective but just so you're clear, she still has to work hard all the coach can do is advise on how to work hard and smart to get the most out of a race. There are plenty of training plans out there for free and unless your gf is very injury prone (necessaitying specialised planning) one of these will get her around the marathon. What a coach can do is get the best out of someone though.

If you are interested in a coach, I know a guy, he is NCEF certified and all that professional jazz but more importantly (imo) he is a veteran marathon runner himself. He has done loads of marathon coaching and been on Irish teams for several events so really knows his stuff. He only takes on people after meeting them though, I guess personalities working together are an important part of this. Let me know if this sounds like what you are after and I'll put you in touch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 karlnolan

thanks hunnymonster for the quick reply.
    I realise and so does she about the effort required to train for a marathon, she is very determined.

But what I was looking for was help/tips/advice about her running technique and what can be done to improve her technique.

I would be very interested in getting a number of your guy, so that I could give him a call. What kind of rates per hour should I expect? and is he near cork city?

Hi Karl, I'm afraid I have no idea about rates but I will pm you his details and he can better advise you. He is in the City, usually to be found hanging around in either the Mardyke or Silversprings gyms.

Another thing to think about, if technique is the main concern is the chi running techniques. I've done a couple of sessions with Danny Dreyer in the USA <insert name drop here>. it sounds a bit touchy-feely but there is a lot to be said for it. I guess Caterina McKiernan is the person most Irish runners associate with chi running and she regularly runs workshops.There is one in Cork on the 5th July.
    http://www.catherinamckiernan.com/DesktopDefault.aspx?tabindex=3&tabid=877
    Obviously this only covers technique, not marathon training plans and the other components.

Hope this helps. Good luck to your girlfriend. I wish my boyfriend would buy me coaching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

"Running is one foot in front of the other" - that's the most my coach has ever said to me about running technique!

hopefully has has also said, running well is "one foot in front of the other faster than the other guy"!

Seriously though, if we were to look at the running technique of some of the great runners (I'm thinking the bobbing head of Paula Radclliffe here) they would never make the start line. The point where it becomes important is where there is some aspect of your technique that causes you to get injured or places an unnecessary load on any body part that means you can't train as hard as you would like. Then technique can become very important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 10 Toe Runner

Or another option for you could be to buy her membership in an Athletics Club. I'm not a member of any, but can see others benefit from the group training, and the social aspects of knowing people at races, etc. She might get more out of training with a group than just her and a coach. Depends on what you think she would like I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Mod: Lads Im closing this thread. The OP has been and gone from this site and has not been around for over 3 years. The recent reply was somone trying to advertise their own product