Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ourmemoryof.com launched - looking for feedback

• 16-06-2008 6:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭

Just thought I'd let you know that I've launched OurMemoryOf.com, which allows you to create a memorial website for your loved ones. If you get the chance, maybe you'll give me some feedback on the website, sign up process, and the application for managing your website. We're putting together a feature request list and bug list while we're in beta so anything you could add, I'd really appreciate it.

Here's a memorial site I create for my uncle as well:
    http://ourmemoryof.com/shaywarren/

Thanks in advance,

Dave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭heggie

lovely site, very tastefully designed. congrats.

The only thing that struck me a little, was the very 'happy' picture of the girls in the 'how it works' section, not sure if that ties in that well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Cantab.

I think you should have a selection of samples.

I was trying to see what kind of info people would put up on a site like this.

Isn't there an rip.ie already?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭mneylon

Cantab. wrote: »
    Isn't there an rip.ie already?
    That's just death notices - very handy though, as they list all the service and location details. A family friend used it recently when my grandfather passed away

• Registered Users Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭forbairt

few things ...

as heggie already said ... the girls are a bit strange there ... they are also on all the pages ?

A Sample would be great to see what one could do ... people are potentially devestated who would be using the service ... having some ideas could be good. They may do it way later ... they may do it the day they find out ... (keeping busy and so on) knowing what to put there could be good for them.

The book of condolences .... I'd see as a touchy subject ... will ye be moderating comments to it ... ? or is it something the people will have to enter themselves ? (personally I don't really want to get hit with viagra messages or abuse to my loved one on the site)

Just a few thoughts ... nicely done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Looks good, and a good idea! Well done!

Just watch the spellings, particularly if you're showing one of them as a demo.....the mis-spelling of "binoculars" hit me the moment I opened the site.

Couple of other questions, such as how the "A Little About XXXX" picks up and displays the name, considering it's a non-standard font, and also what happens if 2 people have the same name ?

But best of luck with it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Hi Dave, beautiful site.
    I have no doubt it will be a success.
    Not sure why the logo isn't linkable to the home page though.
    The social networking buttons aren't serving much of a purpose in my opinion. I think they're diluting the 'good will' aspect of the site too a little bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

Hi Dave,

Very nice site, well put together, nicely coded and clean!

Just wondering like above what happens with two duplicate names?
    Also how are the Condolence's moderated, by ourmemoryof or by the person who has setup the account?

Also on Shay's page up the top there is a "We miss you 6 !" - Was this a nickname maybe or possibly a type.

All in all lovely site and very well put together!!

Kyle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Nice site Dave, well done.

A couple of small things, on the sign up page you use the phrase "recently deceased", I think just deceased would be fine. An other thing, with the confirmation caluculations, I think you should limit the two numbers to be added to be less than 10. Now I wouldn't have trouble, but 14 + 48, or 36 + 17? It seems just a bit much when all you need to do is confirm that a human is filling out the form.

Otherwise, +1 on the image of the girls, it looks more like a happy wedding shot.

All that said, top job and best of luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Anything that I was going to say has already been said already so I'm not going repeating anything.
    But in addition to the question in relation to condolences, and how it will be moderated; How will your website ensure that the people who are listed on it are actually real people.

Bearing in mind, asking for death certificates can sometimes be a sensitive issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭forbairt

nevf wrote: »
    But in addition to the question in relation to condolences, and how it will be moderated; How will your website ensure that the people who are listed on it are actually real people.

Good point actually ..

I mean I don't want a page for me just yet (yes in an ideal world who would do that)

Also image moderation would have to be called into play (one would assume one could validate credit cards and that'd get rid of spam images being entered to the system) Don't know if you're letting others add photos to the system ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

I really like that javascript slider function.

I've an idea or two of my own now!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭cgarvey

I still think there'll be a bit of weirdness about the concept, but you're certainly doing your bit to break that tradition and fair play for that.

I prefer my content on my own site, so I'm probably not your target audience, but I've NO IDEA how you're going to come up with a pricing model for that. I'd guess high-volume, low-cost, but how low do you go, to get that critical mass!? Tough cookie.

The site itself is excellent stuff. Really well laid out, and to the point with stunning graphical support. Very nice job (and I don't often say that here!).

Well done & good luck!

Surely it's easier to post out a Mass card?

Emailing people a username and password isn't very appropriate I think.

Will take lots and lots of education to change human nature.

Can't see online funeral etiquette making it into DeBrett's any time soon.

Site looks good though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Nice job, great looking site.

Love the use of the colour scheme.

Good luck with it!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

OP - A very innovative website. Ive signed up, and fooled around for a few seconds - the ease with which you page can be edited is perfect. People who use this would not all be wholly computer illiterate I would imagine.

The brown colour scheme works very well - somber but not depressing. I think its very welcoming. The only thing I would disagree with is the 45 degrees Sign Up notice because it looks too corporate, and not sensitive enough for the subject matter.

I dont think pricing will be a problem. Its an excellent service, one people will want to use. I think a low-cost, high volume perspective like the poster above said is right - you dont want to give the impression that you making a load of profit. You want people to think that the cost is simply to sustain the service for example to keep servers up.

I would imagine that they would expire after a certain period of time - you pay more you get more time.

5* if only for simplicity of use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

Also about the addition sums - I would imagine it would be relatively simple to conjure a PHP program to read the sum because it is always in the same part of the page. I would advise a captcha.

However, once people start paying this will not be necessary (except for the condolences section).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭MrMicra

i would suggest a limited free service to encourage people to try it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Great site... Funny, I had the exact same idea recently and spent a couple of hours looking into it. Never had a serious go at it though, thankfully !

Good luck with it

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads check the dates before posting..this thread is over a year old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Tim M-U

The first thing ill say is congrats on making a great website!. I find it sad looking at the website..:(. Anyways... the signup process is very fast and the logo is very nice. I don't see anything wrong on the website!

Congrats!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Tim M-U wrote: »
    The first thing ill say is congrats on making a great website!. I find it sad looking at the website..:(. Anyways... the signup process is very fast and the logo is very nice. I don't see anything wrong on the website!

Congrats!

Read the post i made above yours...:rolleyes: