Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

throwing a sickie!

• 16-06-2008 9:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭

i havent done this in years, i overslept...ooops, i was supposed to be in at 6, and i rang in (9-ish0 to say i was on the throne all night with the ****es!! i sounded convincing enough, i hate doing it! as i said i havent done it in years and it wasnt self-nflicted, just lazy-itess. I have an awful guilty head on me! What would you do on an un-planned day off? (i cant be seen around the town)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

flanum wrote: »
    i havent done this in years, i overslept...ooops, i was supposed to be in at 6, and i rang in (9-ish0 to say i was on the throne all night with the ****es!! i sounded convincing enough, i hate doing it! as i said i havent done it in years and it wasnt self-nflicted, just lazy-itess. I have an awful guilty head on me! What would you do on an un-planned day off? (i cant be seen around the town)!

You need Dr. Phil....or Oprah, which ever somes on first!:D

I did it last week & probably should of done it today as I am as hungover as Shane McGowan after 10 bottles of Jack. Hate feeling like this in work, the horror, the horror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You wouldn't believe the rubbish that is on TV during the day.

Try Ricky Lake. Not sure do they show Jerry Springer anymore.
    Sit back and enjoy

KaG1888 wrote: »
    I did it last week & probably should of done it today as I am as hungover as Shane McGowan after 10 bottles of Jack. Hate feeling like this in work, the horror, the horror.

Shane McGowan has never had a hangover, he's only in fact ever gotten drunk once, and is still goin:D... if he does get a hangover eventually, i'd like to be in a different country....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

Get a tattoo. Sneak down there undercover. And you'll look genuinely in pain tomorrow so they'll believe u were sick today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

ok, edit to add... i did happen to have a couple beers last night, but nothing out of the ordinary, just happened to press the wrong button on the alarm whwn it went off!

the thoughts of daytime tv actually makes me feel sickie!! i think i might do a massive fry-up now and go fishing(while chuckiling to myself at the river).

jeez i have an almighty guilty conscience now, feel absolutley terrible about it!

Its happens, your human etc. etc. also try building a fort.... hours of entertainment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Go fishing! Its what I'd do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭GBX

You'll get over the guilt quicker than the hangover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

ok, edit to add... i did happen to have a couple beers last night, but nothing out of the ordinary, just happened to press the wrong button on the alarm whwn it went off!

the thoughts of daytime tv actually makes me feel sickie!! i think i might do a massive fry-up now and go fishing(while chuckiling to myself at the river).

After your last experience of going into work after a few beers the night before, probably for the best..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Enjoy the morning, then hop in the car at about midday, call when you're on the road saying you were feeling a bit better and didn't want to leave them stuck, and use phrases like bull through it, and flat to the mat. They'll all be singing your praises then, as the trooper that came in even when he was sick!

Works a charm! ;)

glee! im havin a cuppa now and eatin me sandwiches that were supposed to be for work, also looking at my fishing rods that just happen to be "beckoning" me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Mirror wrote: »
    Enjoy the morning, then hop in the car at about midday, call when you're on the road saying you were feeling a bit better and didn't want to leave them stuck, and use phrases like bull through it, and flat to the mat. They'll all be singing your praises then, as the trooper that came in even when he was sick!

Works a charm! ;)

Ah no. He might as well go the whole hog :)

When I was working in retail back in the day, I sometimes just used to get lazy and ring saying that I was running late or didn't have a lift and that I'd be in an hour late...boss knew I lived in the sticks so got away with it!

Only did it about twice in four years all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

its PULLING a sickie :D

glee! im havin a cuppa now and eatin me sandwiches that were supposed to be for work, also looking at my fishing rods that just happen to be "beckoning" me!
    Sure head down to the liffey and catch some illegal fish with the poles and the unemployed nacker daily pike fishers/can drinkers

Mirror wrote: »

Works a charm! ;)

heh, a colleague does this on a regular basis and tbh, itd look better if he just took the whole day off, still he gets away with it. im just wandering now would it look better if i took tomorrow off as well:eek:

no, ill just put on the "i think ill just about manage it" look tomorrow.

feck it tho, mondays sickies never look good no matter how ye try to dress it.

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    Sure head down to the liffey and catch some illegal fish with the poles and the unemployed nacker daily pike fishers/can drinkers

ha, im afraid the liffey is a bit too far away, i think ill stick with the river Annalee (source of the Erne), its only about 500 yds from me house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

17 relpies and not one contains a picture of someone throwing a cancer patient out a window? tut tut

illegal fish

i have a mental picture in my head of gangster trout!:D

Oops sorry for assuming you were Dublin

I know that river well :)
    Good for fly fishin, I caught a 2lb rainbow trout on it once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭watsgone

I am enjoying my day at work today as I know I will be "sick" tomorrow

Just need the interview to go well for me to be free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Nothing wrong with throwing a sickie the odd time, I haven't done it in years tho! Just sit back and relax and watch crap on tv all day while eating you own weight in food :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

You ought to keep a low profile. Don't do what I did years ago. Rang the boss to say I wouldn't be in due to sickness, went on the lash all day on a massive pub crawl, then finished off the evening in a pub that just happened to be my bosses local. He walked in to find me hanging onto the bar slightly ga-ga.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

How's about this for the worst ever reason to miss work? One Monday morning I couldn't find my keys. I called in to say I wouldn't be into work that day.

I found them at about 11. Still, I thought it'd be easier to pretend I'd been "sick" than to go in for the afternoon and explain that I had missed four hours of work because I couldn't find my keys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

heh, a colleague does this on a regular basis and tbh, itd look better if he just took the whole day off, still he gets away with it. im just wandering now would it look better if i took tomorrow off as well:eek:

no, ill just put on the "i think ill just about manage it" look tomorrow.

feck it tho, mondays sickies never look good no matter how ye try to dress it.

Yes, really open to debate whether to take the Tuesday off too. If you really want to tear the arse out if it, go in looking like sh1t tomorrow morning then run for the loos at about 10am, come out quivering and perspiring and they will send you home. Then you have a guilt-free day off.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

IF I were you I would go back to bed for sleepy time and shexy time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 HitlersHorsebox

Nah it's called calling in sick.

Pulling a sickie is going to the hospital to meet chicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Nah it's called calling in sick.

Pulling a sickie is going to the hospital to meet chicks.
    Yeah, throwing a sickie = projectile vomiting

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Yeah, throwing a sickie = projectile vomiting

throwing a sickie= national judo finals in dundrum mental hospital.