Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

muay thai training partners

• 15-06-2008 2:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

Hi guys,
    I'm moving to Dublin in September and I'm looking for some training partners in muay thai. I'm looking for people who are willing to train 4 to 5 times a week. I'm not looking to join a new club or organization, just looking for people to train with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Welcome to boards.ie

Can you give some more details, like where would you train? I'd be interested, depending on time and place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 jarahsane

Oops sorry! I don't have a place to train, would you be able to suggest somewhere? The times can be sorted out closer to the training, I'm fairly easy.

Whereabouts in Dublin are u living? Whats your experience level?

And your height / weight. :) Not to be funny, but padding / sparring with someone who's a lot taller / smaller / lighter / heavier doesn't always work out well.

Venue would be the biggest issue though. If you don't want to train at a club, it could be tough finding somewhere that will let you train, purely for liability reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Very true. For example anyone who wants to rent my gym has to have their own insurance and that's been the same for any hall or space I've ever rented. If you were a member of a commercial gym and they had a space you would be covered by their public liability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Roper wrote: »
    If you were a member of a commercial gym and they had a space you would be covered by their public liability.

Hercules club have a wrestling matt that can be used if you interested, fees are 85 euro for 3 months which isnt bad and you also get to use the gym too

I'll be living in either Tallaght or the city centre. I'm 5'8 and fight between 61kg and 65kg but walk around at 65kg, I generally spar with bigger guys tho. I have 17 pro rules fights.

Where is hercules club?

jarahsane wrote: »
    I'll be living in either Tallaght or the city centre. I'm 5'8 and fight between 61kg and 65kg but walk around at 65kg, I generally spar with bigger guys tho. I have 17 pro rules fights.

Where is hercules club?

very close to the city centre and near to the luas line if you going to be living in tallaght, www.herculesclub.ie has all the details

that gym sounds like a good spot alright, would they be ok with a few lads coming in to do pads and sparring? as far as I'm concerned you train under your own responsibility i hold no liability for injuries:). what do you guys train at? and what weight are you guys at? I'm hoping to fight for an Irish title in November so thats why I'm looking for training partners as I'll be in college and unable to get to my own club during the week.

would they be ok with a few lads coming in to do pads and sparring?

no problem doin pads and sparring as long as ye join the gym, few guys use the mat already doin bjj etc, ive done thaiboxing for about a year bit of a weight difference ian 107kg at the mo

WOW that is a weight difference alright ha ha ha ha ha, will look into the Hercules place got another offer i'm looking into at the moment too. just want to get a few lads interested in training before i say yes to the fight got to get the training in for it. it defo sounds like there is a lot of interest, be good to get in with a few fellas who just want to train hard and smart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Excuse me for being nosey. Are you moving from a location outside of Ireland to Dublin or from a different part of Ireland to Ireland? You have 17 pro rules fights so you're obviously an experienced Thai boxer. Why are you not interested in training with another club? Politics and allegiances?

just want to get a few lads interested in training before i say yes to the fight got to get the training in for it. it defo sounds like there is a lot of interest, be good to get in with a few fellas who just want to train hard and smart.

id have a few lads fropm the gym that would prob be interested in doin a bit aswell, pads i can get for 80 euro not he cheapest but there decent quality

Yeah its politics and allegiances, i can't travel up and down to my own place because of time and cause I'm a poor student. I'm moving from outside Dublin to Dublin, i don't want to offend anyone by saying i don't want to train in other clubs but I'm part of a club already and i don't want to be part of another one, i don't know anyone in Dublin so I'm just looking for some like minded individuals to train with.

dave80 wrote: »
    id have a few lads fropm the gym that would prob be interested in doin a bit aswell, pads i can get for 80 euro not he cheapest but there decent quality

hey man i have a set of my own thai pads, focus mits and belly pads and i can get a few more if needs be so don't worry too much about that, its more bodies and a place i'm interested in:)

Yikes. That makes things a bit tougher. I'm fairly eager to avoid politics and that sounds like a politics maker to be honest.

I train out of Bridgestone. I'm sure you're welcome to train there too. We get plenty of non-bridgestone heads training there. Even coaches from other gyms from time to time. :)

I train out of Sean Dillon's club in carlow, to be honest with ya man i don't deal in politics its not my thing, but i don't want to go to a different club its a personal preference of mine. i just want to see if i can find a few lads who are interested in training no strings attached you know yourself, i'm not into debates over clubs and stuff its not my thing. if you ain't interested its cool if you are also cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Seeing as you mentioned your weight I take it I know who you are "jarahsane":D but will respect your anonimity BUT I would suggest anyone interested in taking up this guy on his suggestion certainly WON'T be wasting their time. REALLY looking forward to that fight in November btw, best of luck with the training and the fight.

sbgnorthside.com have a few lads doing thai boxing on a wednesday night at 8pm not a real muay thai club as such but might interest you to get training in.

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    Seeing as you mentioned your weight I take it I know who you are "jarahsane":D but will respect your anonimity BUT I would suggest anyone interested in taking up this guy on his suggestion certainly WON'T be wasting their time. REALLY looking forward to that fight in November btw, best of luck with the training and the fight.

thanks Dave, how are things? i just hope it comes off was supposed to be in September but Craig had to change the show date so i got to try get me some people to train with when in the old college. you got anything planned? any of your boys in the Europeans?

sbgnorthside.com have a few lads doing thai boxing on a wednesday night at 8pm not a real muay thai club as such but might interest you to get training in.

yeah i might give it a look in alright, anyone connected with john kavanagh tends to quite good alright. paddy clint teaches the thai there right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

thanks Dave, how are things? i just hope it comes off was supposed to be in September but Craig had to change the show date so i got to try get me some people to train with when in the old college. you got anything planned? any of your boys in the Europeans?

The usual, busy busy but exams finished in May, got results last week and got a credit so I'm happy out. Hopefully you should be able to get sorted up there but if I/we can be of any use at weekends for sparring, just let me know. Might consider running a show sometime before Craig's but its a lot of work when you don't have much time on your hands and I'll hopefully be going back to the Diploma course in September (flippin 3 year course, which is great fun with working full time, running the club and trying to have a family life:eek:)

We were supposed to have two of the seniors go but one is a teacher and is in his first year of teaching and had a ton of sheet to do so couldn't train. I then had to pull out for personal reasons and the other lad wasn't too into going over on his own. My junior Thai lad is only 13 and is way too small and young for the junior event so definately wasn't letting him go.

tell me about the college stuff got my results the other day did real good so got to go back and do even better for third year:). i know that feeling trying to study and work and train lucky enough i don't have to worry about the family stuff. would love to get down for some sparring some weekend would be right craic. sean was on to me to go but i can't do anything with those pads on just don't feel natural:D

yeah i might give it a look in alright, anyone connected with john kavanagh tends to quite good alright. paddy clint teaches the thai there right?

no that's www.sbgireland.com . I would have suggested their but you said you wanted to do your own thing.

ok cool, sorry mis read that, do you train there? would you be able to introduce me?

yeah sure no problem