Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ltd eclipse 1000

• 14-06-2008 5:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭

so lads its that time again, i feeling a new purchase soon im happy with the c7 hellraiser just i want something else too now, so has anyone any experiance with the ltd eclipses ,are they worth the grand or is it better to save up the extra 400 euro and go for an all out esp eclipse II. thanks for any help in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I'd save up the extra and go for the ESP. Awesome looking (and sounding) guitars. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭darrenw5094

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Are you honestly saying Darren that an Edwards is a better instrument than an ESP? Are you aware of who makes the Edwards?

Sub, they're both awesome instruments but if you spend the little extra, you'll get a guitar from one of the finest manufacturers in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

feylya wrote: »
    Are you honestly saying Darren that an Edwards is a better instrument than an ESP?
    He said Korean so I assume he's talking about Ltd rather than full-on ESP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

not a fan of those guitars at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

-=al=- wrote: »
    not a fan of those guitars at all

That's helpful! :D

Honestly, I'd go the extra mile and get myself a full on ESP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

yeah go the extra bit

friend has one of those ones ^^, i just dont liek it, seems to fake or light or something, but keep in mind im used to a proper heavy les paul kinda type, i know its just the same shape, but yeah it just doesnt have the tone or weight as ud expect, but its a different kinda guitar i guess too, different stroked for different folks

shamoneeeee

feylya wrote: »
    Are you honestly saying Darren that an Edwards is a better instrument than an ESP? Are you aware of who makes the Edwards?

Sub, they're both awesome instruments but if you spend the little extra, you'll get a guitar from one of the finest manufacturers in the world.

Fully aware who makes them....that is one reason why they are called Edwards ESP........yeh....

I meant the Edwards ESP made in Japan are better than the ESP LTD made in Korea.........can you argue with that.........someone probably will.
    And they would be cheaper than the Korean LTD's......that makes a bit of sense, doesn't it.

Just wanted to clear that up.....Feylya almost made me look stupid.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Jack Vegas

To be honest, I'd go for the Ltd EC-1000.

The EC-1000 can be bought pretty cheap from the net (keep your eyes peeled on eBay for a while and you'll probably get a great deal) and is a very high quality instrument, used by many pro-guitarists.

I recently got to play a genuine ESP Eclipse and while it was a brilliant instrument, the difference between the sound and feel of it in comparison to my own EC-1000 simply wasn't worth anything near 400 euros to my hands and ears. It's a personal thing, but unless I had a money tree growing in my garden, it's probably not something I'd go for myself.

Just my €0.02

How about the Edwards ESP on jap sites for the same cash.....?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭subzero12

How about the Edwards ESP on jap sites for the same cash.....?;)

ive an epi les paul custom the elitist one ,which is a mij guitar and i like it but im after something a bit different that why wondering about the eclipse
    im not after an edwards les paul cause its simliar to the epi,
    so any other ideas lads ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

subzero12 wrote: »
    ive an epi les paul custom the elitist one ,which is a mij guitar and i like it but im after something a bit different that why wondering about the eclipse
    im not after an edwards les paul cause its simliar to the epi,
    so any other ideas lads ?

Only one possible answer to this, you need a Bacchus Duke. :pac:

http://www.deviser.co.jp/modules/bacchus/index.php

Dord wrote: »
    Only one possible answer to this, you need a Bacchus Duke. :pac:

http://www.deviser.co.jp/modules/bacchus/index.php

hmm i think you maybe be right . i quite like the look of the duke master.im going to have a look and see can i get any video clips of them on they web looks very intresting is all i can say .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

TBH played both the eclipse 400 and 1000 and theres feck al difference between them in build quality.

If i were you id go for a proper ESP(as in not ltd), either that or save some money and get the 400 series and spend the cash on some more gear. I know the extra money for an esp is a balls now but its worth it and therel be no need to upgrade a few years down the line. Plus the resale value on the ltd's is gonna be way worse than the esp.

TBH played both the eclipse 400 and 1000 and theres feck al difference between them in build quality.

If i were you id go for a proper ESP(as in not ltd), either that or save some money and get the 400 series and spend the cash on some more gear. I know the extra money for an esp is a balls now but its worth it and therel be no need to upgrade a few years down the line. Plus the resale value on the ltd's is gonna be way worse than the esp.

Patricide wrote: »

whats was the spec difference between the 400,500, and the 1000 if ya dont mine me asking ?

Just spotted this on buyandsell.ie

ESP Eclipse II. Leinster Co. Dublin
    (Gibson Les Paul shape). EMG 81 active p/ups. Amber Cherry. Quilted maple top. Sperzel tuners. silver h/ware. Mint condition. 1,000 087-222****

Not sure if i am allowed to give you the phone number here.....i am already on my second yellow card....:rolleyes:

The difference between the 400 and 500 is an ebony fretboard afaik, and the difference between the 400 and 1000 is the fretboard and the binding and inlays, of course the 1000 prob has better pots and electronics too but its not enough to warrent the price difference imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

I have the ESP in snow white, I love it. I really like ESP guitars in general, just wish they offered alternatives to EMG pickups on all models. I got it through drumcityguitarland.com who I can't recommend enough.

DSCF1302.jpg

Esp offer duncans on all models afaik, its just that most places dont stock the duncan models.

Yup drumcity guitar land are meant to be ace to deal with, they have some really nice guitars on there site, like bernie rico jr guitars.

thanks for all the help lads
    im torn at the minute between the actual esp esclipse and http://www.thomann.de/ie/esp_ltd_sc_608b_blk.htm that ive already have a 7 and maybe its just greed and the love of meshuggah:rolleyes: that i want more strings .

Well if it were me id get the stephen carpenter, but thats just me a meshuggah and a deftones nut. You can never have too many strings is what i always say(unless you have more than 8 :) )