Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay Rugby

• 13-06-2008 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭

Anybody see this on the news?

I dunno. I mean some of my best friends are... etc etc but is this just silly. Rugby is rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Was it a report and if so what did it say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I saw that.
    And the only context i can put it in is how i would feel if i was playing against an all female team. I dont think id be turned on.
    So, if you get what i mean, i dont think i have a problem with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

I play rugby, I'm a girl, I go to DCU (where all the competitors are staying) and I'll go to some of the games tomorrow. What's the problem.

http://www.binghamcup.com/ for those who don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Peared wrote: »
    I dunno. I mean some of my best friends are... etc etc but is this just silly. Rugby is rugby.
    Personally, I'm waiting for Vegan Tennis.

rugbug86 wrote: »
    I play rugby, I'm a girl, I go to DCU (where all the competitors are staying) and I'll go to some of the games tomorrow. What's the problem.

http://www.binghamcup.com/ for those who don't know.

The problem is, if i was playing against them and i came to believe they were getting frisky, well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

What the hell are ye's talking about? If you play rugby you are gay or if you're gay you probably play rugby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Ha, starting a thread with no information in it ftw.

I don't have a problem with it, I don't know why there has to be gay this and black that all the time. Can there not just be this and that?

Its to promote non discrimanatory sport.. by having gay and bisexual players?

Sometimes making an issue out of something makes it an issue.

Why not just have 'players'?

Lesbian best mate agrees and is sick of being represented by people that dont represent her. But that's another days work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Extra tight scrums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ginger

I played against a predominately gay team and it was possibly the funniest game I ever played.

One of the tacklers was penalised for not rolling away from the tackle and said to the ref "But I like him!" which got everyone laughing!

The scrums the lads really hammed it up, and had lots of ooooohs on the engage. Bloody hillarious you couldnt take it seriously.

It was just a fun game rather than a league or anything.

Great bunch of lads, played a good game and enjoyed a pint afterwards.

Actually the RTE footage was pure Father Ted. Close up on a mustachioed guy running with the ball then cut away to the goys hugging each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

rugbug86 wrote: »
    I play rugby, I'm a girl,
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,281 ✭✭✭regi

What's next? Gay cowboys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

So what if they're gay? It's time you all stopped laughing at Leinster, and I'm saying that as a Munsterman, born and bred. Leinster won the Bulmers League this year, y'know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

Yeah i don't know.....
    Are they wearing extra baggy shorts to accommodate unforeseen bodily reactions?
    I mean again like everyone got a few gay friends myself but i just cant see how things don't turn into a game of sweaty man twister post match in the changing rooms.

Agamemnon wrote: »
    So what if they're gay? It's time you all stopped laughing at Leinster, and I'm saying that as a Munsterman, born and bred. Leinster won the Bulmers League this year, y'know.

I don't see being gay as an insult and I don't generally laugh at gay jokes and yada yada but... I lolled :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Agamemnon wrote: »

Excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Ah, After Hours, reminds of that scene in the Simpsons where Bart reads Skinner's mind

"That's right, I think things I would never say" :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Sherifu wrote: »
    Extra tight scrums.

LOL! :D Certainly tarnishes rugbys "macho" image

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Don't see the issue tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

The radio ad is priceless... Although it's probably not the image they want to put forward if they want to be taken seriously as sports men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

pff..only in leinster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

From what I can gather, a group of gays are trying to play in the non-gay league, is that it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Personally, I'm waiting for Vegan Tennis.

Feck that, Lesbian Trampolining and Wrestling world championship FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭suspectdevice

all those rugger buggers better watch out, wouldn't go down too well with that shower of male chauvinistic pigs.

they'd be well beaten anyway. i hear the others lads ball handling skills are second to none

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Not a new thing. It was definitely on the news last year and possibly the year before.

Rugby is rugby. If you have an interest in it, watch it. If you don't, don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

With all that groping, I'd be more surprised if a new, straight form of rugby emerged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Peared wrote: »
    Ha, starting a thread with no information in it ftw.

I don't have a problem with it, I don't know why there has to be gay this and black that all the time. Can there not just be this and that?
    And you have in no way contributed to this..... :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

ALLS I HAVE TO SAY IS

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

who's going to be HOOKER or TIGHT HEAD PROP LOLOLOLO!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

I used to work with the captain, ciaran osullivan.. sound lad. we used to slag him about the showers after the game etc etc, but tbh, the team is actually a very good one and they do take thier game seriously. here they are:

http://ewrfc.ie/

flanum wrote: »
    I used to work with the captain, ciaran osullivan.. sound lad. we used to slag him about the showers after the game etc etc, but tbh, the team is actually a very good one and they do take thier game seriously. here they are:

Damm gays, they are like the Greeks...

Thats why I voted NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭breadmond

flanum wrote: »

Very good? I read in the Times there that they lost every single game in the J4 league this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭VIS VIRES

I bet they like playing with ball in hand:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Sure, all sport is gay.

Rugby - Man handling
    Football - Watching sweaty men exercise
    Wrestling - Man handling
    Everything else - Gay Rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

It's a bit stupid. It's kinda homophobic, isn;t it? And this isn't my drunkeneness speaking btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Crouch, touch, pause, engage.

Hmmmm yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Davidius wrote: »
    Sure, all sport is gay.

Rugby - Man handling
    Football - Watching sweaty men exercise
    Wrestling - Man handling
    Everything else - Gay Rape.

If men did curling and synchronised swimming, there'd be at least 2 heterosexual yet macho sports!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Fair play to whoever's doing the PR for this, because it's been great.