Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hip-hop lessons in Cork - update

• 12-06-2008 5:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

h,i im looking for a good dance school in cork, does any1 know where i can go for hip hop lessons, ill do anything, im 15 and i love to dance,but most schools are doing ballet,nothing wrong with it, just not 4 me, help please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

Hi jo5,

Have you checked out the Firkin Crane? They have a website www.inschordance.com or give them a call. Also, as I said in the other thread, one of the lads I used to teach with is setting up a new school and has yet to pass on the details. He texted me last week for some video clips I took of his classes to put on his website. Once I get the details, I'll let you know.

Best of luck finding other schools in the meantime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 jo5

they're starting hip hop lessons in cork finally, first week in july, can't wait, ASPIRATION; IF YOU OUT THERE,ill let you know if its good or not

jo5, that's great news! let me know how you get on and who's teaching.

Is this with a dance school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 brownboots

hi!
    can someone tell me where these hip hop lessons in cork are?
    Id be really interested in them, oh and what age group? Thanks;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 trickey08

HEY jo5!!!!!!

i've just read your last entry & would LOVE to find out where you'll be taking those hip hop dance classes at the start of july. I've been searching for classes for ages & it seems impossible to find any!
    your help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 brownboots

any update?!!:rolleyes:

Guys I'd suggest PMing jo5 so she gets email notification that someone is looking for info on these Hip Hop classes.

On another note, I've been asked to teach Hip Hop on Saturdays for a school in Cork. I haven't accepted/declined the offer yet - still waiting to meet the artistic director to discuss ideas but I'll keep ye updated. The classes will be in town, and I've plans to start up a company class for pre-professional perfomances and such. Whether this will be supported or not is a different story, but I want something to come out of the classes - which is why I'll be meeting the director first.

EDIT: That URL above should be http://www.instchordance.com (missing the "t")

Hey Aspiration,

thanks for your help re contacting jo5...

As for your possible hip hop classes...they sound perfect!! just what ive been looking for. i love your idea of getting something out of the classes like the performance etc and would be seriously interested in joining. saturdays also sound perfect as I am in college in Limerick during the week etc.

i understand that nothing is certain yet but i would really appreciate it if you kept me posted with details if something does come about.

One concern that i would have would be the age group you'll be dealing with and also the times that your classes would be on at as i also have a part time job to deal with.

i know that that these are early days yet so i'd just like to wish you the best of luck with the meeting. hope everything works out for you & if it does, you definitely have one keen supporter behind you!;):)

Ah cheers for the support trickey08 - really appreciate it :) As far as I know, the classes will be split in terms of age. It's been suggested I teach kiddies (from about 7) up to adults. The adults will be probably be split up again depending on levels - probably beginners/intermediate and intermediate/advanced. Until I have an idea of what level dancers will be at, I won't be able to split them up just about yet.

Because I'm coming from Dublin at the weekends, I guess it only makes sense that I teach for the whole day. The classes will be scheduled accordingly. If you like, let me know what time suits you best and I can try and work this out with the director.

Apparently the studios are proper too! Whooppeee! Really looking forward to teaching again!! *fingers crossed* it'll all work out as I hope! :pac:

Hey Aspiration!

That sounds fantastic! Things are looking good then! Glad that its all working out for you!!:D

As for the class times any time in the morning would probably be the best. Or even in the late evening. My longest working shift is 9 hours so ill more than likely be able to make the class if in the above times....BUT i realise that you have a long journey to make & time is precious so please dont let me disturb any plans that you or the school may have. If it happens that the class is on during the day I can always see what could be arranged at work;)

In the meantime i'll keep an eye out for any updates you may have for me. Looking forward to the classes if things work out:) Best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 scorpionmuffin

I just heard that a really great professional hiphop teacher is coming to Cork to teach at Donnas Dance sTudio I think! His name is Rob Diaz. He is fantastic and I have been looking out for somebody who is really good as I have been dancing for years and just wanted to try a proper hiphop class!
    I think that studio is moving tho - I will find out the number and where its goinng.

I have been onto the shcool there. It is moving to Kinsale road commercial park by the kinsale road round about! There are childrens, teenage and adult classes but they said there that they are starting to fill up so you should book by calling to put your name down - 0214963173

Salsa, Ballroom, Pilates and Yoga are also starting in the same place and are all taught by professional instructors so I'd say it should be good! I dont know prices or times cause the main receptionist was out, but give them a call anyways to book.

Cheers Scorpionmuffin!!:)

That sounds fantastic! Will definitely give them a ring to find out further details. Thanks for your help! Really appreciate it!;) Will let you now if i get any further details...........:rolleyes:

scorpionmuffin, is this a masterclass or regular classes? Rob Diaz teaches in The Dance House in Dublin every week. I've taken some of his classes and he's pretty cool alright!

Best of luck guys!! Yayy to more hiphop in Cork!!

I am not sure because the classes are only beggining this week, but I will ask. He is also teaching Krumping which is awesome! Happening on Thursday evenings in Kinsale Commercial Park.
    There is also a choreographer from Australia teaching adult begginer tap but with a funk element, I dont know who else is into that but I have seen it in a few shows and it looks brilliant. She is also supposed to be an excellent teacher, I have heard alot about her recently! I think she is choreographing this years Opera House Pantomine.

Oooohh, I know Eileen Nolan who directs the Pantomine so I'll ask her about this girl.

Awh, doesn't look like Rob isn teaching in Dance House any more. Best of luck with him - he's really cool! If anyone remembers that dance show on RTE a few years back, he was on it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 ItalianPosh

Always wanted to go for hip hop classes. I would have love to have joined but am probably too late.

ItalianPosh, why don't you give the teachers/school a call and see what they say? Rob Diaz's classes were drop in in Dance House so perhaps that's how he's doing it in Cork. Also, if it's too late to sign up for this term, you can always join next term.

It is a weekly class, teaching hip hop from scratch,its really good. there's another girl Louise Barry who also comes down when Rob isn't available, shes cool! they have different styles to eachother but theyre both unreal. It's challenging enough but good craic like.

There's a body conditioning class staring tomorrow night on every tuesday for anyone who does alot of dancing or sports. I dont know of anywhere else you can do it in Cork so if anyone is interested they should check it out. it'll be tough going but its supposed to be really good for building up strength. its on from 8.15pm for an hour i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 TanjaB

Hey there,
    I've been reading all the posts about Hip Hop here and thought you might like to know about Hip Hop classes that are starting soon in Cork.
    The classes will be on Tuesdays at the Cork Dance Studio in Penrose Wharf
    Details are on the website www.corkdancestudio.com :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 me1

elj in glanmire are a hip hop based dance school for children aged 2 up to adults. there are plenty of classes and styles of hip hop to choose from (open 6 days aweek). the classes are in the dance centre ( a fully fitted hip hop dance studio). call emma on 0860843440. my daughter goes there and she loves it and the teachers are lovely x x