Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hunting holidays/weekend planned?

• 10-06-2008 9:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭

Well now that the summer is upon us folks has anyone got any outdoor hunting holidays planned for themselves or anthing in the pipeline for the winter. My firends are off to hunt ducks in scotland in october. unfortunatly i dont have the money for that so im planning a poor man weekend for myself.

Thinking of heading to the lakes in westmeath around loch ennil or lillyput for a weekends camping. Im think i'l take the uncle if i can, he has a nice kayak so i can go out for an row around the lakes in it. I think i'l take the fishing rod and try for a few pike. Also i think i'l dust off the .22 and take it out for the weekend. get up early in the morning and head off for a trek and see if i can poach a bunnie for dinner.

anyone else any plans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

My brother has exclusive permission to a farm in Cork. We're from Clare, so I'd say a weekend away to deal with the rabbits down there is in order. Wanted to go 2 weeks ago but the brothers wife pulled rank on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Vegeta wrote: »
    My brother has exclusive permission to a farm in Cork. We're from Clare, so I'd say a weekend away to deal with the rabbits down there is in order. Wanted to go 2 weeks ago but the brothers wife pulled rank on us.
    its always nice to have permission like that veg! the weather is looing good for some summer hunting.

i see a lot of pea farmers now are setting up weekends shooting at a cost for pigeons. seemingly theres loads of italians coming over for the shooting paying big bucks.

stevoman wrote: »
    its always nice to have permission like that veg! the weather is looing good for some summer hunting.

Family friends. To be honest he'd be better off giving a few local lads the nod too so we could all work as a group in keeping the numbers down.
    He is a crop farmer and they do serious damage every year.
    i see a lot of pea farmers now are setting up weekends shooting at a cost for pigeons. seemingly theres loads of italians coming over for the shooting paying big bucks.

He also has big problems with pigeons too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

i'd love to get over to the welsh game fair,i hear its excellent.
    i find it hard to get away for weekends cos of the dogs, i can get any number of people to watch the kids but no one to take care of the dogs! me and a mate will take turns walking,feeding each others dogs when we're on hol's. i've just got a caravan down in wexford so im going to try for some permission on farms down that way when i head down in july.
    i'll bring the gun and the springer(he goes every where with us) and see if i can get some bunnie shooting down there, never know i might get some permission for the hounds come winter.

Family friends. To be honest he'd be better off giving a few local lads the nod too so we could all work as a group in keeping the numbers down.
    He is a crop farmer and they do serious damage every year.

He also has big problems with pigeons too

make sure to get out there so veg! if you dont make the effort somewhon else will get the permission and you could end up kicking yourself!

whitser wrote: »
    i'd love to get over to the welsh game fair,i hear its excellent.
    i find it hard to get away for weekends cos of the dogs, i can get any number of people to watch the kids but no one to take care of the dogs! me and a mate will take turns walking,feeding each others dogs when we're on hol's. i've just got a caravan down in wexford so im going to try for some permission on farms down that way when i head down in july.
    i'll bring the gun and the springer(he goes every where with us) and see if i can get some bunnie shooting down there, never know i might get some permission for the hounds come winter.

the game fair is supposed to be great. i was at the basc country fair there last year and it was excellent. had a great tiem and spent all around at it. i heard the game fair can be a bit roughter than the country fair but thats a matter of opinion. the stalls had a lot of problems with thieves at the game fair.wexford is great place ofr having a caravan. i love heading down there for a drive every summer. some great places to hunt alright! the fishing is great down there too! are you set up nar curraclough whitser?

no its a place near our ladys island, carne beach. good bit down. it looks like real good hunting country. im hoping if i get some decent permission, i can head down in winter and stay over with the hounds in the caravan then hunt away the next morning. i'll see how i get this summer, might take a couple of years before i have enough land worthy of a trip down with the hounds,thats if i get any. i know lads in wexford that keep hounds, so i could always stay in the caravan then hunt with them, make a weekend of it. hunting and drinking, good for the soul.

whitser wrote: »
    hunting and drinking, good for the soul.

amen to that!

wifes,the curse of the hunting man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

well Now That The Summer Is Upon Us Folks Has Anyone Got Any Outdoor Hunting Holidays Planned For Themselves Or Anthing In The Pipeline For The Winter. My Firends Are Off To Hunt Ducks In Scotland In October. Unfortunatly I Dont Have The Money For That So Im Planning A Poor Man Weekend For Myself.

Thinking Of Heading To The Lakes In Westmeath Around Loch Ennil Or Lillyput For A Weekends Camping. Im Think I'l Take The Uncle If I Can, He Has A Nice Kayak So I Can Go Out For An Row Around The Lakes In It. I Think I'l Take The Fishing Rod And Try For A Few Pike. Also I Think I'l Dust Off The .22 And Take It Out For The Weekend. Get Up Early In The Morning And Head Off For A Trek And See If I Can Poach A Bunnie For Dinner.

Anyone Else Any Plans?
    Pm Send:d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

heading to western Canada for 3 weeks - Honeymoon. I would love to try a bit of hunting over there. But not sure if it will be possible, not lease beacuse "its our honeymonn, can you not give it a break for a few weeks"!!!:D

Anyone know what the crais is like over there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

tell her ,"we're married now , the romancing is over"

BryanL wrote: »

You're such a gentlemen :p

Personally I'd try and use the angle of "its my hooneymoon too"

You do her stupid sh1t like posh dinner for 2 in a romantic setting, so she should let you go hunting to make up for it. Never going to hapen but we can all dream

BryanL wrote: »
    You're such a gentlemen :p

Personally I'd try and use the angle of "its my hooneymoon too"

You do her stupid sh1t like posh dinner for 2 in a romantic setting, so she should let you go hunting to make up for it. Never going to hapen but we can all dream

lads there is no way in this or the next world:eek: we are the ones that are stupid HOW we married them :eek::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

My one wants to "see what shootings all about" so that she can "understand what I'm talking about":rolleyes:

So.... considering she's fairly squeemish, and used to have a pet rabbit, I think an afternoons bunny shooting and a bbq after is in order!:D Might, with the help of all that is sacred, put her off wanting to join me on any further trips!!:D;)

On a side note, the last evening I went for a ramble with the .22, there was a rabbit that had nice white markings! Might save this one just for her!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

thehair wrote: »
    lads there is no way in this or the next world:eek:
    I'm finding it very ironic that we have such immediate understanding of our chances of getting whatever we want with the wife and yet such complete belief that we can get whatever we want with the Gardai and DoJ :D:D:D

E. Fudd wrote: »
    My one wants to "see what shootings all about" so that she can "understand what I'm talking about":rolleyes:

So.... considering she's fairly squeemish, and used to have a pet rabbit, I think an afternoons bunny shootinng and a bbq after is in order!:D Might, with the help of all that is sacred put her off wanting to join me on any further trips!!:D;)

good idea ;) mmm i will be put on the bbq not the rabbie THEHAIR:eek:LOL

Sparks wrote: »
    I'm finding it very ironic that we have such immediate understanding of our chances of getting whatever we want with the wife and yet such complete belief that we can get whatever we want with the Gardai and DoJ :D:D:D

well at least the gardai will give you a fair chance:rolleyes: my wife aaa no chance at all:eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

And with the Gardai you have written rules and a legal appeals mechanism as well :D

So.... considering she's fairly squeemish, and used to have a pet rabbit, I think an afternoons bunny shooting and a bbq after is in order!:D Might, with the help of all that is sacred, put her off wanting to join me on any further trips!!:D;)

On a side note, the last evening I went for a ramble with the .22, there was a rabbit that had nice white markings! Might save this one just for her!!

i can see a new post to put up on the shooting boards:D
    MAN BEATEN TO DEATH BEY A RABBIE WITH WHITE MARKINGS
    no no judge it was the rabbie not me said the wife:D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I nearly took out one of those feckers coming home this morning at five o'clock. Are multi-coloured rabbits less willing to live than normal ones or something?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Sika_Stalker

Well now that the summer is upon us folks has anyone got any outdoor hunting holidays planned for themselves

well im headin down to the eastern cape of south africa in the end of june for a month. ill be working with a safari crowd that i went over to in september and they asked me back over again, so i said what the hell they have plenty of work and i have some time off. how bad????

I nearly took out one of those feckers coming home this morning at five o'clock. Are multi-coloured rabbits less willing to live than normal ones or something?!

are you talking about the rabbie or the WIFE:eek::p

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

thehair wrote: »
    are you talking about the rabbie or the WIFE:eek::p

Unless he got married to a woman who likes to jump out of ditches in front of cars at 5a.m. I reckon he's talking about a rabbit. :D

IRLConor wrote: »
    Unless he got married to a woman who likes to jump out of ditches in front of cars at 5a.m. I reckon he's talking about a rabbit. :D

when i USED TO come home after the PUB the wife will always be ther
    even in the middle of the night MMM I THINK MY WIFE WAS IN SAS:eek::p
    SHE HAS A LOOK THAT WILL KILL ANBODY DEAD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Mac Tire

You could try booking your future wife into a nice relaxing day at a spa or something like that where she can be pampered...tell her that she desevres it and that you want your marriage to continue in the same vain...Her being pampered and relaxed and.....well...you get to bugger-off up the mountains!!! Gentlemen, charm and kindness will get you everywhere :D
    (or just be damn right sneaky!!!)

Mac Tire wrote: »
    You could try booking your future wife into a nice relaxing day at a spa or something like that where she can be pampered...tell her that she desevres it and that you want your marriage to continue in the same vain...Her being pampered and relaxed and.....well...you get to bugger-off up the mountains!!! Gentlemen, charm and kindness will get you everywhere :D
    (or just be damn right sneaky!!!)

mmm let me think ok i agree:pjust be damn right sneaky:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

Guys

thanks for all the advise on my private life :D:D:D

As usual a wide range of suggestions from the sublime to the ridiculous. :confused::eek:

Getting back to my question though - anyone any experaince of shooting in western Canada?

canada looks amazing for hunting. i was on another forum,about hounds, and there was alad on it that hunts coyotes in canada. he uses pack of hounds with radio tracker collars. but to train the young hounds to hunt, they keep some coyotes in a large pen and let the young hounds hunt them,the pen is a 1000 acres! the vastness of the country is hard to imagine.