Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin v Louth - attendance

• 10-06-2008 7:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭

Interesting to note that the attendance for Dublins opening championship game this year was circa 56,000. Where have all the famous Dublin followers disappeared to?

Would Euro 2008 have anything to do with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

OK - I'm from Louth - let's get that out of the way.

Talking to a few Dubs over the weekend they were saying that they didn't want to waste their money on seeing Dublin hammer Louth - which proved to be the case.

What I think is bad is that the Dubs will pack out Hill 16 - is this because they are cheaper tickets??

S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Enough already.

A few games in and I'm sick of this petty **** already.

Locked cos I can see no good coming from this.
    Where have all the famous Dublin followers disappeared to?

^^
    On second reading, this may have been said with the best intentions but it is guaranteed to get fewls in spouting crap about sunshine supporters etc etc.

Reopened but I actually hope I'm not proved right. Be nice guys, the OP isn't trying to rise anyone.

Please dont reply to my post on the thread, use the PM is you wish to discuss anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

hawker wrote: »
    Interesting to note that the attendance for Dublins opening championship game this year was circa 56,000. Where have all the famous Dublin followers disappeared to?

Well, Poland were playing so it could have had a massive effect all right. :D

Stark reality is that as has been pointed out, this was first match, Louth werent seen as capable (apart from eternal pessimists like myself) of getting near. Happens to all counties. Cork/Tipp sold out but remember the last Cork/Tipp game in the qualifiers last year in Semple? Only about 10,000, if even less AFAIR.

Last year, Meath first up, plus replay, also Laois so Leinster was a bumper year. Sure, demand goes up from Leinster Final onwards, but, again, look at the AI Hurling Quater Finals last year, every single top county was there and only 40,000 turned up. Semi's can be just as bad. Only full houses in Croke Park are the AI finals and when Dublin are playing a Leinster rival or in the AI series. The only glorious exception is when Ulster finals come to town, fair play and more power to them.

In that context, and with the price of a day out, even for a local, coming to about €40 -€50 a head - its a lot of money when things are tight - it wasnt that bad, about 26,000 off capacity.

As for the hill, well, yes it is cheap, but also has the most loyal and core support. Along with the morons, but you cant have everything

Hopefully that answers the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

hawker wrote: »

It's nothing new, take 2005 for example.

Dublin's first game in the championship again Longford in Croke Park was attended by 39,852.

Attendances don't flourish until the later stages of the Leinster. Tickets are never hard to get and it's been a while since a Dublin Championship game sold out fully at Croke Park. The pubs were noticeably quieter on Sunday. Attendances increase when the Dublin media start the yearly hype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

There was maybe 10,000 Louth supporters and 46,000 Dubs. Considering the capacity they sold more than half the grounds tickets. Nothing wrong with the attendance, it is in line with other games in previous years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

I probably could have worded the op a bit better but anyway heres my two cents worth.

Is the 'fad' of attending GAA games coming to an end? Will the 'jump on the bandwagon' crew disappear over the next 5 years and all we'll be left with is the genuine supporters?

I'm beginning to think this that this is happening in most counties. Take the Cork v Tipp game last weekend. In my small local there were tickets freely available. Ten years ago this would not have happened.

It would be interesting to get the stats at the end of this years championship to compare total attendance over the past few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Keep digging :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Its the same every year, first Meath game didn't sell out last year either. It probably annoys real Dubs fans more than culchies that all these fools turn up from Leinster final on thinking they have divine right to tickets, this happens in every county I suppose but is compunded in Dublin given population and all games are at home, making it a short bandwagon stop away for these people.

Well, Poland were playing so it could have had a massive effect all right. :D

Its funny you should mention this, at the last 2 Westmeath games (in Longford/Tullamore) I've met dozens of Polish folk in Westmeath jerseys, few beside us in O'Connor Park on Saturday were really getting into it and knew more about the players/game than a lot of the natives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Keep digging :)

jackbhoy wrote: »
    Its the same every year, first Meath game didn't sell out last year either. It probably annoys real Dubs fans more than culchies that all these fools turn up from Leinster final on thinking they have divine right to tickets, this happens in every county I suppose but is compunded in Dublin given population and all games are at home, making it a short bandwagon stop away for these people.

I have been to every League and Championship game bar 2 for the last 12 years. This is not a brag. It's simply to say that this has been the case every year. The Parnell Park crowd will always go to all the games, same for every county. So when the bandwagon starts Dublin are at a disadvantage as there are just more people to jump on it. Mostly I hate how hard it is to get tickets for the later games.

As for the poster who suggested that the reason Dublin fills the Hill is because the tickets are cheaper is insane. Hill 16 is the best place to watch a Dublin game: fact. The atmosphere during a big game is electric. Last year when Bernard Brogan scored Dublin's second goal against Laois it was the most amazing tide of joy I've ever been caught up in. Saying it's because we are cheap is misunderstanding the Hill so badly it's laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Hill 16 is the best place to watch a Dublin game: fact. The atmosphere during a big game is electric. Last year when Bernard Brogan scored Dublin's second goal against Laois it was the most amazing tide of joy I've ever been caught up in. Saying it's because we are cheap is misunderstanding the Hill so badly it's laughable.

Keith,

I disagree, it is definitely the best atmosphere but as far as watching the game goes, there is no way. Either Hogan or Cusack at pitch level is the bomb as far as viewing goes. And there are far too many gimps on the hill these days.

Plus you get the joy of having the absolute craic with the opposition fans in the Hogan or Cusack. I wouldnt go near the Canal end though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Killme00 wrote: »
    Keith,

I disagree, it is definitely the best atmosphere but as far as watching the game goes, there is no way. Either Hogan or Cusack at pitch level is the bomb as far as viewing goes. And there are far too many gimps on the hill these days.

I agree there the atmosphere on the hill during a Dubs match is like no other experience, something that does annoy me at matches is the singing doesnt go past the hill at all
    Killme00 wrote: »
    Plus you get the joy of having the absolute craic with the opposition fans in the Hogan or Cusack. I wouldnt go near the Canal end though.

Agree again except one benefit with the upper canal is you can see both goals so know straightaway if it is a point or not (dont have to wait for the cheers from the hill to know :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

It was about 53000 more than any of the FAI Cup games over the same weekend. We all have our bandwagonners maybe 5000 from Westmeath at O'Connor Park last weekend there will be at least twice as many for the Semi-Final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭DublinDes

I have been to every League and Championship game bar 2 for the last 12 years. This is not a brag. It's simply to say that this has been the case every year. The Parnell Park crowd will always go to all the games, same for every county. So when the bandwagon starts Dublin are at a disadvantage as there are just more people to jump on it. Mostly I hate how hard it is to get tickets for the later games.

As for the poster who suggested that the reason Dublin fills the Hill is because the tickets are cheaper is insane. Hill 16 is the best place to watch a Dublin game: fact. The atmosphere during a big game is electric. Last year when Bernard Brogan scored Dublin's second goal against Laois it was the most amazing tide of joy I've ever been caught up in. Saying it's because we are cheap is misunderstanding the Hill so badly it's laughable.
    " So when the bandwagon starts Dublin are at a disadvantage as there are just more people to jump on it. " Totally agree. I don't know why some people think they are martyr's for the game by turning up for league matches etc. Surely you should turn up for the sh1tty league mathces etc because you support your team and not out of some sort of - am'nt i great, I turn up all the time attitude. As for knocking Hill 16 supporters as only going there because it's cheaper - that's just culchie begrudgery :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

DublinDes wrote: »
    As for knocking Hill 16 supporters as only going there because it's cheaper - that's just culchie begrudgery :mad:

:rolleyes: . Ah was wondering how long this would take. One poster asked was it because tickets are cheaper (probably a bit tongue in cheek) and its another "culchie" plot to get ya. How can you complain about being generalised against on one hand and then come out with this obvious generalistion yourself?

Roll on October when I can read/respond to dub sfc posts that are actually about football rather the annual dubs v culchies row that we have every summer here....its just fooking old at this stage...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

jackbhoy wrote: »
    :rolleyes: . Ah was wondering how long this would take. One poster asked was it because tickets are cheaper (probably a bit tongue in cheek) and its another "culchie" plot to get ya. How can you complain about being generalised against on one hand and then come out with this obvious generalistion yourself?

Roll on October when I can read/respond to dub sfc posts that are actually about football rather the annual dubs v culchies row that we have every summer here....its just fooking old at this stage...
    Best thing is to not make points like them go past the original post. They will end up getting mental if people start replying to them. Anyway, comes with the territory that as a team progress further, more heads will hop along for the ride. We would be at a disadvantage due to the number that hop on from the Leinster final on but at the same time, we wouldnt get to play in CP nearly as much without them without bandwagoners so we do get an advantage also. Hill tickets are cheaper so extra advantage to it along with the atmosphere, especially for poor unemployed me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

If you have a season ticket for Parnell Park, aren't you guranteed tickets for all Championship games?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

micmclo wrote: »
    If you have a season ticket for Parnell Park, aren't you guranteed tickets for all Championship games?

Yes that is correct myself Popebenny Blackbelt & Flukey all have Parnell Passes nd its great value for money as it covers dublin club matches too. It amuses me though when other fans complain about the availability of tickets.

I thought 56,000 was'nt a bad attendence but if the gaa really marketed the games better we would have alot more fans attending games. You only have to take one look at the munster councils decision to stage some of their games at venues that arent more accessible to their fans. I think its not just a dublin thing fans from every county are picking and choosing what games to attend.

I didn't say how hard it was for me to get a ticket :D I'm a very empathic person. Plus I've been there before my season ticket days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ooops kayro, apologies
    I just found it strange that that you attend all the games but posted"
    Mostly I hate how hard it is to get tickets for the later games.

It wasn't clear to me you had a season ticket so I was just pointing it out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭niallo32

Up to Semi-final stage.

Not for final - though it hasn't been an issue thus far.

niallo32 wrote: »
    Up to Semi-final stage.

Not for final - though it hasn't been an issue thus far.

True. *sigh*