Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone going travelling in September/October?

• 09-06-2008 7:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭

Hi everyone,

Very down to earth 26 year old guy from Dublin here.

I am planning to fly into Bangkok in September/October of this year and would like to get talking to some people who might be doing the same...I am doing the usual South East Asia route (open to other suggestions) followed by oz, NZ and South America.

For anyone that is interested or can offer advice on travelling alone please let me know.

Cheers

Sony

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 orlamcnevin

Hiya, I'm heading off in Sept but going the exact opposite route!

I can give you the scoop on South America when I'm done but only on the condition I get the 411 on Asia :)

...Oh and a very down to earth 24 year old girl from Dublin here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I'm going the end of August but like the person above it will be the opposite way to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭preddy

Also going in Sept but the other direction SA first Aisa last :)

Roll on September

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭irelandsown

Im going Oct 20th. Fly to Bangkok, do Thailand, Laos, Cambodia & Vietnam. Fly to Syndey then on 19th Dec. Cant wait to get outta the rat race. :D

preddy wrote: »
    Also going in Sept but the other direction SA first Aisa last :)

Roll on September

What route are you planning in SA? We're thinking..Rio, Buenos Aires, up to Salta, into Boliva, into Peru for the obligitary Inca Trail and then down to Santiago and onwards to Auckland. Only have two months in South America so it's a tall order!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Im going 12th October flying into Rio and flying back on 13th December. Was looking to do Rio-Iguazu falls,Buenos Aires,Peninsual Valdes, Peru( Inca Trail) and Bolivia on the way up to Peru. Was thinking I would have to get an internal flight to get back from Peru to Rio. Anyone done the route in such a short time?

I'm not sure, seems feasible enough to me! We were thinking about getting an internal flight from BA to Santa Cruz in Bolivia. The cheapest we could get was €200. I read somewhere that getting flights over there without crossing borders is fairly cheap - €50-€60. We're thinkin of trying to bus it up Argentina now to take in more sites etc. Time is the enemy though!

How many people are in your group or are you braving it solo?

Im going solo... I booked flights ages ago and one/two mates said they would go but no sign of them booking flights.

A mate of mine went last year around the same time but just took in Brazil and Argentina in the 2 months but he was on the piss with his mates.

Im there for 60 days so I figured 20 in Brazil,20 in Argentina and 20 in Peru-Boliva. I have to make my way back to Brazil which is the killer as im going the opposite route to you downunder in January.Im only starting to research it now. Where were you planning on going in Brazil & Argentina?

Sounds Class!!

Getting back across from Peru is a bit of a pain. Might be worth forking out for a flight back! We're not going further than Cusco in Peru as Lima's not supposed to be amazing and we don't really have the time. It might be an idea for you to fly back to Rio from Cusco to save a bit of time.

In Brazil we haven't really planned for much other than 5 Days in Rio and the Igacu falls (which I can never remember how to spell) Argentina all I know is we're going to Buenes Aires. I've a friend heading over on his own next week for a month so I'll get a load of info off him.

Most excited about Bolivia though, so many people have said it was their favourite place.

Are you flying from South America to Oz in January?

Nope I didnt want to be in South America on my own at xmas so booked a RWT for January 17th dont know how long I will be away for but its valid for a year Bangkok-Sydney-Christchurch-Auckland-Fiji-Hawaii-San Fran & NY -home . I have an American passport so I might end up staying there on the way back or just breeze through it. Boliva is supposed to be dirt cheap. the only thing worrying me is the pick pockets in South America and the killer bugs in Australia!!!

Tell me about it, a mate of mine sent me a load of pictures of those Huntsman Spiders trying to freak me out..they're feckin huge yokes. Wouldn't be the biggest spider fan.

For your enjoyment:

http://www.loe.org/images/071109/spider1-williams.gif

The pickpocketing is supposed to be fairly rampant alright..Will just have to try and be sensible I suppose. No flashing the pesos etc :)

What route are you planning in SA? We're thinking..Rio, Buenos Aires, up to Salta, into Boliva, into Peru for the obligitary Inca Trail and then down to Santiago and onwards to Auckland. Only have two months in South America so it's a tall order!!

Rio - Iguazu falls - Buenos Aires - Peru(Cusco) then upto Cali for 5 weeks before NZ.

Kinda not sure about Buenos Aires but suposed to be a cool city and wont have time for Salta which looks really cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 gob

Heading off 2nd of September:

Starting in Rio-Iguazu-BA-......bus up to Cusco for the 17th of October for the Inca Trail taking in Bolivia on the way up.

We are flying out of Santiago on the 28th. I heard Lima wasn't great too but we are thinking of flying down to Santiago and I can't find any direct flight from Cusco. Its pretty cheap to fly to Lima from Cusco (E50) and then from Lima to Santiago (E200) + this gives us a few days in Lima and Santiago rather than spending our time on a bus.

Checkout this website for flights: www.Airninja.com

Sounds like your trip is pretty much the same as hours.

Cheers for the link, I think we'll probably have to get an internal flight at some stage.

Columbia is supposed to be amazing, kinda disappointed not going to get that in but you can do everything!!

How long are you planning on staying in Rio for when you arrive? We were thinkin 4-5 Days.

Thanks,
    Orla

Rio - Iguazu falls - Buenos Aires - Peru(Cusco) then upto Cali for 5 weeks before NZ.

Kinda not sure about Buenos Aires but suposed to be a cool city and wont have time for Salta which looks really cool.

Sounds like a good plan. Buenos Aires is supposed to be savage, although quite european.

How are you getting around NZ? We're going to do the campervan thing.

Sounds like a good plan. Buenos Aires is supposed to be savage, although quite european.

Dont really know what to expect from Buenous Aires other then everyone seems to love it (didnt really get Madrid), Ill see u guys around Rio then cant miss me ill be the whitest person on the beach :D judging the way Irelands summer is going :)
    How are you getting around NZ? We're going to do the campervan thing.

Looking like the Magic bus for us, we have a month and there are only 2 of us so an organised route with all the main sights added in with that little bit of flexibility of stopping off for extra days suited us.

Counting down the working days now 39 left :)

Yeah I’ve heard that too, though I think it’s supposed to be quite tricky for Irish people to get visas! Even if it wasn’t we only have 8 weeks in SA due to budgetary restraints. 4-5 days sounds about right. Our plans are really open (it’s just me and a mate), the only thing set in stone right now is the Inca Trail because it obviously has to be booked far in advance and the flight from Santiago because Trailfinders said it’s almost impossible to change this flight because it’s the only flight from South America to NZ and is very busy.

We have a general idea of the direction we are gonna take but besides that we’ll probably just go with the flow and on recommendations from other travellers.

I think one internal flight is a good idea, especially with our timeframe. Some of my friends travelled SA last year and they flew Buenos Aires to Santa Cruz for about E200.

Our logic for getting the flight at the end is:
    1.We will be sick of buses
    2.We know where on the 21st of October (after the Inca Trail) and we know where we need to be on the 28th so we can book flights before we go
    3.Gives us a few days in Lima and Santiago

If you are thinking of flying into Peru you might have some problems as supposedly this is the strictest enforcer of the whole ‘proof of onward travel’ and they usually require you to have a flight booked out of Peru (a flight out of Santiago is not proof enough that you will leave Peru!).

How are you getting on with all the organising? Picked a backpack? Got vaccinations, insurance, visas?! It’s like a full time job planning some of this stuff!

Do you know what area of Rio your gonna stay in? I was thinking of booking a hostel for the 1st night at least before we leave.

Full time job indeed just reading these forums and trip advisor taking a few hours a day at this stage, backpack im not sure about considering a 40-50L +15 or something like that try stay as light as possible. I already got some shots when going to Africa at Xmas so just boosters to get i think.

We splashed out on a Hotel on Copacabana since this is my first holiday of the year. We are abit more organised then the average backpackers know where we are staying for the first month until we leave Vegas anyway.

Oz visa sorted but no insurance yet will look sometime before i go.

Full time job indeed just reading these forums and trip advisor taking a few hours a day at this stage, backpack im not sure about considering a 40-50L +15 or something like that try stay as light as possible. I already got some shots when going to Africa at Xmas so just boosters to get i think.

We splashed out on a Hotel on Copacabana since this is my first holiday of the year. We are abit more organised then the average backpackers know where we are staying for the first month until we leave Vegas anyway.

Oz visa sorted but no insurance yet will look sometime before i go.

Is the hotel expensive?

I see you started a thread on busing NZ...you just beat me too it! It's just me and a mate so a campervan isn't economical and not the best way to meet people.

Magic seems good but I read one review on thorn tree by a girl travelling with her mother who thought it was great . No offensive but that wasn't exactly what I had in mind.

FYI the Kiwiexperience is also known as the kiwisexperience!:D

So weird, we're in the exact same position...Inca Trail booked for around the same time as you in October, thinks it's the 17th. So that's the only thing we have to stick to.
    We actually booked a flight from BA to Santa Cruz for €200 but it was cancelled. We've held off booking again as we're thinking about travelling up through Argentina by bus, hopefully we'll have the time.
    We're finished the Inca Trail on the 24th..(I think) so we have from the then until 8th Nov to get down to Santiago. Trying to convince the lads to fly down so we can get in a weeks skiing in Mendoza but it's all very expensive so can't really see it happening.

I have a day off this week so going to go and buy a Rucksack. Have read a few forums where people are saying not to getting bigger than 45L. Think I'll get one that opens around the middle rather than just at the top, have also be told to defo get one with wheels.

I'm off to Ghana with Habitat for Humanity next month for 2 weeks so got all the jabs I need for that in the last few weeks. Cost me a bleedin fortune!! Bout €400 altogether! (Have never had to get any before)

Haven't even looked at Insurance yet, plan on sorting Visa's this week (I'm quite the procrastinator though so should be in order by the end of July!) - Think we just need one for Oz, Vietnam and China. Have to double check though.

What's your plan for after SA?

Planning on booking a hostel for the first two nights at least. Debating whether to go for a quieter one by the beach to chill out or one right in the thick of it all. I'm leaning towards option A for the first few days at least then we can move into more of a manic hostel if we want.

Was looking at this one:

http://www.bamboorio.com/

Are you bringing anything for the Inca trail apart from proper footwear? Thinkin it might be cheaper to get any gear I need over there.

Have you heard about Death Road in Bolivia? Really don't know whether to do it. One of the lads I'm going with has a fear of heights so won't be going near it, the other guy really wants to do it. I can't make up my mind. Don't mind other people controlling my fate bungee jumping, ski-diving or whatever but don't know if I like the idea that my safety is up to me and my cycling skills!!

http://www.liebreich.com/LDC/HTML/Climbing/Mountain_Biking_Bolivia.html

gob wrote: »
    Is the hotel expensive?

Ahhh €400 between us for 5 nights but sure its our only luxury for a while.
    gob wrote: »
    I see you started a thread on busing NZ...you just beat me too it! It's just me and a mate so a campervan isn't economical and not the best way to meet people.

Magic seems good but I read one review on thorn tree by a girl travelling with her mother who thought it was great . No offensive but that wasn't exactly what I had in mind.

FYI the Kiwiexperience is also known as the kiwisexperience!:D

Yea i think if not in a big group then bus it more fun and they take you to the best spots.

You are very correct there, all the research ive done would agree with the above but not sure the kiwi would suit me and my girlfriend now would it :) although...... ;)

Sure if your under 25 then sure hit the party bus!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

One way to avoid the time constraint of the Inca trail is to do the Lares trek instead. It's pretty much the exact same thing except there are no inca ruins on the way up. Instead you pass by local indigenous communities high up in the middle of no where. I'm going that route instead this time. And you still end up at Machu Picchu. It is also cheaper, has less tourists on it and you can pretty much book it the day before when you arrive in Cusco.

I'll be starting in Venezuela around November. Depends how long i stay in Cuba. Then i'm spending the guts of a year working my way down to Chile. Gonna take in every country except the Guianas. And i'm spending limited time in Brazil. Everything is going to be overland as well. Since we're in no rush i don't plan on flying anywhere. Then it's on to NZ and Oz and finally hitting SEA for a few months.

So weird, we're in the exact same position...Inca Trail booked for around the same time as you in October, thinks it's the 17th. So that's the only thing we have to stick to.
    We actually booked a flight from BA to Santa Cruz for €200 but it was cancelled. We've held off booking again as we're thinking about travelling up through Argentina by bus, hopefully we'll have the time.
    We're finished the Inca Trail on the 24th..(I think) so we have from the then until 8th Nov to get down to Santiago.

8 days seems like a long trek; we are doing the 4 day classic with peru treks. If we're starting the same day we'll probably bump into each other along the way...we probably won't be hard to spot; I don't know about you but I think I could pick an Irish person out at 100ft!

I have a day off this week so going to go and buy a Rucksack. Have read a few forums where people are saying not to getting bigger than 45L. Think I'll get one that opens around the middle rather than just at the top, have also be told to defo get one with wheels.

I went into the great outdoors off Grafton street at the weekend. I was talking to a bald guy with glasses (didn't get his name). He was really helpful; explained all the differences in design between rucksacks/travel packs and how they should be packed and worn. He even packed a few with weights and let us walk around the shop! I felt bad not buying anything from him but the one I'm getting is E100 cheaper here http://www.luggage.com/Lowe-Alpine-LR1061-LOW1046.html so I'm gonna get it shipped to some friends in the states who will bring it home for me.
    I'm off to Ghana with Habitat for Humanity next month for 2 weeks so got all the jabs I need for that in the last few weeks. Cost me a bleedin fortune!! Bout €400 altogether! (Have never had to get any before)

400 seems very dear. We got everything we needed for E220 and we are getting the hep B booster for E30 from Dr. Ekky at Drumcondra Clinic (http://www.drumcondraclinic.com/). They were recommended to us by a person who can get a 20% discount with the TMB and still got their shots at the Drumcondra clinic. I thought because it was so much cheaper that there had to be a catch but he was really good; gave us prescriptions for loads of things that might come in handy while travelling and spent a good 20 minutes giving us advice on malaria tablets STDs and loads of other stuff.
    Haven't even looked at Insurance yet, plan on sorting Visa's this week (I'm quite the procrastinator though so should be in order by the end of July!) - Think we just need one for Oz, Vietnam and China. Have to double check though.

USIT have a OZ visa/insurance combo for E389 at the moment that I'll probably get. The insurer is Blue and it's the silver policy...covers you for pretty much everything but search and rescue (I was thinking of upgrading to gold for this reason alone :p!). You need to pay E30 extra to do certain activities but it still seems good value compared to trailfinders (E500) and the VHI (650).

What's your plan for after SA?

Spend 2-3 weeks travelling NZ probably with Magic bus/kiwiexperience. Into Auckland out of Christchurch. Then work/live in Melbourne for 2 months or so; same in Sydney. When the weather starts to go down hill we will probably relocate to Perth/Cairns/Darwin. We have to make our way back to Sydney for our flight to Bangkok. Spend 2-3 months in South East Asia. Come home, realise I left a good job at the start of a recession, move back home and join the dole!:D

Are you bringing anything for the Inca trail apart from proper footwear? Thinkin it might be cheaper to get any gear I need over there.

I can't think of any other time I'd need hiking boots and they are so heavy I don't think it's worth it. If the porters can do it in flip-flops made from old car tyres I think I'll be ok in my Nikes!
    Have you heard about Death Road in Bolivia? Really don't know whether to do it. One of the lads I'm going with has a fear of heights so won't be going near it, the other guy really wants to do it. I can't make up my mind. Don't mind other people controlling my fate bungee jumping, ski-diving or whatever but don't know if I like the idea that my safety is up to me and my cycling skills!!

Yeah a mate of mine did it; he said the best 20 dollars in spent in South America was getting a bike with suspension! If he survived I think I can make it.

Who are you doing your Inca Trail with? What date you arriving in Rio?

Just checked the dates - the trek's booked for 20/10 but we have to be there by the 18th to pay the balance..they say you need the two days to acclimatise to the altitude. The trek takes 4 days then. What date are you going again?

That guy in the Great Outdoors is really nice, I was in there looking at ski boots before. He spent ages with us and I didn't end up buying any. Two of my mates did though so I didn't feel as bad. A friend of mine offered me her Rucksack. It's opens around the middle but doesn't have wheels. I reckon I might just take that, not exactly rolling in it at the moment. Wheels are for girls anyway :) Just looked at the one you're getting looks good. Maybe I shouldn't scrimp on what will essentially hold all I have for most of the next year!!

Don't talk to me about the TMB. The whole group that are going to Ghana went together, I knew I should have gone to my GP! We got a whopping 5% discount but as you say 20% is still dearer than most! They would only give me the one percription for Malaria for Ghana and said I'd have to come back for another consultation to get another one for SE Asia. Of course that means another consultation fee...money grabbers!!

I'm starting to have second thoughts about a camper van reading yourself and Preddy's conversation yesterday. Really want to do a proper Road Trip though. Defo renting a car for doing the east coast of Oz though. We're practically doing identical trips...NZ till around 18/12...Oz until June, last 2-3 weeks of which will be in and around Perth...Bali for a week or two...Then Hong Kong to Thailand overland...then home to no job and a mortgage and a massive loan oh and lets not forget the recession... (beat that)

Maybe I'll have to suck it up and try the Death Road then! Although I have reservations for the following reasons: Knocked down a little kid with my bike once he had to get stiches in his head although I was a kid at the time so maybe that doesn't count. Cycled into the back of a parked car before too and absolutely wrecked my hip. Just on Sunday I caused a girl to get knocked off her bike by letting someone out ahead of me..I didn't see her cycling down my right hand side. Oh almost forgot hit a guy on a moped and he broke his arm and leg, was done for driving without due care...so you can see where my aversion to two wheeled vehicles stems from!

I think we're going on the Trek with Peru Adventures or something, I didn't book it. There's three of us going over, myself and two lads. Then there's a friend of mine going with her mental nurse mates. We're all meeting up to do the trek and they booked it so I'm not 100% sure.
    I think this is the one we're going with:

http://www.andeantravelweb.com/peru/treks/incatrail4.html

Who have you booked with? How much was it?
    Ours is around 350 I think.

Arriving in Rio on 09/09. What date are you arriving? I abosolutley cannot wait. Counting down the days. Not exactly working my ass off at the moment, it's so hard to be motivated when the end is near. I've only got 6 weeks in work to go cause I'm away for two in August.

Roll on September...and some nice bloody weather!!

Hope all of that made sense as I haven't mastered the art of quoting without my whole post coming out as a quote!

Just checked the dates - the trek's booked for 20/10 but we have to be there by the 18th to pay the balance..they say you need the two days to acclimatise to the altitude. The trek takes 4 days then. What date are you going again?

Our trek is from the 17th-21st with these guys:http://www.perutreks.com/ but like you we have to be there 2 days in advance to 'acclimatise'. We didn't really give too much thought to who we went with; I think we liked the pictures on their website or something.

Maybe I shouldn't scrimp on what will essentially hold all I have for most of the next year!!

Well that was my thinking on it + I don't consider E125 to be huge money considering the cost of the whole trip won't be far off E10,000.

I'm starting to have second thoughts about a camper van reading yourself and Preddy's conversation yesterday. Really want to do a proper Road Trip though. Defo renting a car for doing the east coast of Oz though.

Yeah we were thinking the same. For NZ I think the bus is the way to go for us though because we have limited time and it'll give us an opportuniy to meet more people. We have a mate coming out to meet us in Oz so the 3 of us will probably try and do a road trip then. Do you have an international licence or are you just gonna bring your irish one?
    We're practically doing identical trips...NZ till around 18/12

I would like to have had a bit more time for South America and NZ but we were warned by some friends who did a similar trip to get to Oz in November and beat the rush on all the summer jobs/temporary accommodation. This seems to be more important in Melbourne than the other cities. Again this is only one groups experience.

then home to no job and a mortgage and a massive loan oh and lets not forget the recession... (beat that)

Ok you win! A morgage a 24?! You must be a high flyer!:D
    Maybe I'll have to suck it up and try the Death Road then! Although I have reservations for the following reasons: Knocked down a little kid with my bike once he had to get stiches in his head although I was a kid at the time so maybe that doesn't count. Cycled into the back of a parked car before too and absolutely wrecked my hip. Just on Sunday I caused a girl to get knocked off her bike by letting someone out ahead of me..I didn't see her cycling down my right hand side. Oh almost forgot hit a guy on a moped and he broke his arm and leg, was done for driving without due care...so you can see where my aversion to two wheeled vehicles stems from!

If you do decide to do it could you post up when you expect to be there so I can avoid you?!:D It sounds dangerous enough already!

I think you might be more suited to this:

http://www.newzealandnz.co.nz/activities/zorbing.html
    I think we're going on the Trek with Peru Adventures or something, I didn't book it. There's three of us going over, myself and two lads. Then there's a friend of mine going with her mental nurse mates. We're all meeting up to do the trek and they booked it so I'm not 100% sure.
    I think this is the one we're going with:

http://www.andeantravelweb.com/peru/treks/incatrail4.html

Who have you booked with? How much was it?
    Ours is around 350 I think.

I think ours was about 350 too. The deposit was 120 anyway.
    Arriving in Rio on 09/09. What date are you arriving? I abosolutley cannot wait. Counting down the days. Not exactly working my ass off at the moment, it's so hard to be motivated when the end is near. I've only got 6 weeks in work to go cause I'm away for two in August.

Into Rio on Tuesday the 2nd. I'm counting the minutes until takeoff:

http://www.timeanddate.com/counters/customcounter.html?day=02&month=09&year=2008&hour=17&min=00&sec=&p0=78

I know, I'm doing f all at the moment. Gonna give in my notice on Friday. Are you leaving your job or just taking a leave of absence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Conrad83

Thinking of heading off myself before the end of the year... 24 yr old Dublin girl... all my mates have either been & are back or are too loved up to go! Bit scared of going on my own so have been pondering for the last few months, i know if i dont go & get it out of my system ill be kicking myself in a few years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭lemon_of_old

Hi OP, I'm flying to Bangkok on September 30. Spending 2 - 3 months in SE Asia, flying to Sydney for Christmas, then on to New Zealand in February. After that I have no idea! 26 year old girl btw! What's your itinery for SE Asia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Brad Goodman

Hi folks... very interesting thread. I just turned 27 and want to travel to south east asia, austrailia etc. I have around 4 grand at the mo. I'll probably get even more together. Was hoping to travel around October. Can somebody point me in the right direction regarding where to book flights, plan an itinery etc?

Also looks like I'll be travelling on my own so when I make definite plans I'll post my dets and maybe could hook up with some liked minded people heading the same way.

Hi folks... very interesting thread. I just turned 27 and want to travel to south east asia, austrailia etc. I have around 4 grand at the mo. I'll probably get even more together. Was hoping to travel around October. Can somebody point me in the right direction regarding where to book flights, plan an itinery etc?

Also looks like I'll be travelling on my own so when I make definite plans I'll post my dets and maybe could hook up with some liked minded people heading the same way.

Hi Brad,

I think the best place to book flights is Trailfinders on Dawson St. We got flights to South America, NZ, Sydney, Perth, Bali, Hong Kong, Bangkok, Dublin for just €2300...pretty good deal!!

We'll be going the opposite way to you but will be in Sydney for Christmas and in Sydney/Melbourne from then until June. Then onto Perth, Bali and South East Asia.

Thanks,
    Orla

Hi Brad,

I think the best place to book flights is Trailfinders on Dawson St. We got flights to South America, NZ, Sydney, Perth, Bali, Hong Kong, Bangkok, Dublin for just €2300...pretty good deal!!

We'll be going the opposite way to you but will be in Sydney for Christmas and in Sydney/Melbourne from then until June. Then onto Perth, Bali and South East Asia.

Thanks,
    Orla

Cool will be in Sydney for xmas too where to planning to stay any area or accomidation planned? Sounds like its hard to find around then.

Yeah Trailfinders seem to be the best and have been recommended by a lot of people, i got a quote for Dublin-Bangkok-Singapore-Oz-NZ-Fiji-LA for €2,100 leaving mid January... not a bad price at all.. now all i have to do is book it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

September 24th going on the new Airbus A380 to Singapore for the F1. Then 3 months in South East Asia and Borneo, Onto NZ then for a year.

The days are not going fast enough!

We are then thinking of getting a RTW ticket in NZ. Cheaper then buying it here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭tnkrbell

Buenos Aires is fantastic.Was there last August spent a few days there then went up north to Obera to do volunteer work.BA imo is a mix of Paris (wide roads old style buildings) and New York (all the hustle and bustle).Also if you really like steak check out a restaurant called la chacra in BA and for the best tango show try Cafe Tortoni
    Iguazu falls is nice too I recommend you do the Brazil side first and you'll need a full day there too
    Happy Travelling wish i was going back to BA and Argentina

Hi Brad,

Thanks,
    Orla

Thanks Orla. Was looking online today and Lufthansa have flights to Bangkok via Frankfurt for 473.33 inc taxes. Its one way but I think I'll book that, spend sometime in Thailand then bus it around Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam etc for a few months then book some flights and head down to Australia for Decemberish. Apparently there's a low fare Australian airline that do flights.

Was thinking about maybe hiring a camper van and driving around Australia in the new year for a while. Anybody any tips on that? Thanks

Thanks Orla. Was looking online today and Lufthansa have flights to Bangkok via Frankfurt for 473.33 inc taxes. Its one way but I think I'll book that, spend sometime in Thailand then bus it around Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam etc for a few months then book some flights and head down to Australia for Decemberish. Apparently there's a low fare Australian airline that do flights.

Was thinking about maybe hiring a camper van and driving around Australia in the new year for a while. Anybody any tips on that? Thanks

Sounds like a good plan! The one thing I'd say is that I've heard flying into Australia can be a bit manic coming up to Christmas so if you're flying in around then I'd book it sooner rather than later.

Was thinkin about doing the Campervan thing in NZ. For Oz I think we're either going to rent or more than likely buy a cheap car to do the east coast. We're flying over to Perth then later on so will probably do the same there. Campervan sounds great though. It's all about the money really :)

Yeah I guess it'll come down to price really. I just like the idea of a campervan coz it includes accomodation :D

Hi Conrad
    Yeah Trailfinders seem to be the best and have been recommended by a lot of people, i got a quote for Dublin-Bangkok-Singapore-Oz-NZ-Fiji-LA for €2,100 leaving mid January... not a bad price at all.. now all i have to do is book it!

Thats v good deal I booked mine in May Dublin-Bangkok-Sydney-NZ- FIji-Hawaii-San Fran and then a return flight from New York to Dublin for 2200..it went up to around 2300 due to fuel costs when i paid it in full there at the start of July... They give you good advise and if it wasnt for the guy telling me mid January is much cheaper Id have probably paid way more going straight after xmas! How long were you thinking of spending in Asia?

Yeah its pretty good but they say that charges can go up depending on taxes... Think ill be spending at least a month in Asia, want to just chill out & lie on some beaches for a while before hitting Oz how bout u?

I'm down for 2 months in Asia... mite cut that down to a month and just spend it in Thailand like yourself depends on how long I'm gonna go away for yet so mite stay longer and do the likes of Vietnam,Laos & Indonesia if I stay longer than the 30 days. Once you pay off the full amount in one go you will get the price they quote,if you only pay a deposit the figure can jump up when you go to pay the full amount

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Belfunk

Hello all,

Heading out on the 7th of october for a year. Booked my flights last week with http://www.thegreatescapade.com it worked out at 1900 euro.

With the above ticket i can change the dates of my flights for free once i give 7 days notice and change the airport/direction for $75 - Good deal!

LONDON
    Fly direct to:
    Airline: Singapore Airlines A380
    SINGAPORE
    Fly direct to:
    Airline: Singapore Airlines
    BANGKOK
    Make your own way to:
    HO CHI MINH CITY
    Fly direct to:
    SINGAPORE (Transfer)
    Fly direct to:
    HONG KONG
    Fly direct to:
    Airline: Virgin Atlantic
    SYDNEY
    Fly direct to:
    Airline: Air New Zealand
    AUCKLAND
    Fly direct to:
    Airline: Air New Zealand
    SAN FRANCISCO
    Return to:
    Airline: Virgin Atlantic
    LONDON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭lemon_of_old

Wow Belfunk, sounds like you got a good deal! I'm paying a little over E2000 for my flights (but I bet when I go to pay the balance taxes will go up), and am flying Dublin - London, London - Bangkok, Bangkok - Sydney, Sydney - Auckland, Auckland - Sydney, Sydney - Singapore, Singapore - Hoooome!
    I decided to keep leave South America/the States/Africa etc for another trip in the future, fingers crossed.

Sounds like there's quite a few Irish folk hitting the road come Autumn. Who knows, we might avoid the recession altogether! :D
    Anybody who's gonna be on the road around the same time feel free to PM. I'll be travelling on my own so would welcome the oppurtunity to hook up with some friendly folk during my trip.

I cannot wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Yep heading off myself in November!

Dublin>Hong Kong>Singapore>Melbourne>Fiji>Auckland>Sydney>Perth>Cape Town>Nairobi>Dublin,

Cost 2500 with Trailfinders. Pretty happy with the deal I got :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭irelandsown

Anyone know the deal with entering Oz on a one way ticket? My friend is just gone back to Sydney and he text me today to say make sure I have a return ticket. (Maybe he doesn't want me to stay, hmmm) Anyway, I've already booked a one way ticket, will I have a problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 jidsudap

I'm flying into Rio on the 14th sept, flying out of santiago 11 months later.

here's our rough iteniary....

Rio -4 days
    Illa ge Grande- 4 days
    Iguazu- 2 days,

BA-1 week?

then up thru argentina to bolivia, def doing salt planes and cylcing death road.

Heading to Peru to do the inca trial, not planning on doing much else in peru TBH.

The next part of the journey is a bit of a pain, back down thru argentina to mendoza, then onto bariloche then over the andes to Santiago.

We are totally flexible route and time wise, so any suggestions we'll take on board! But we really don't want to miss Bariloche or Mendoza and have been told the bus journey accross the andes from mendoza to santiago is a treat.

We're thinking we'll book 1 flight but busing it the rest of the way, it will def be a domestic flight, more than liekly in argentina on our way back down.

We're 2 24year old girls, all we have booked is 4 nights accommdation in Rio.