Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lost- the answer what the island is, im 100% on this one

• 08-06-2008 1:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭

ok lads, i think i know what its all about, , the island is infact the lost city of atlantis, the mythical island/civilisation that disappeared, the people of atlantis were supposed to be a super advanced civilisation, atlantis was said to disappear beneath the waves just like in the last episode, think of the foot of the giant statue reminicent of a once great civilisation, the ship the back rock might have arrived on the island as it rose from beneath the waves....the fact that the island seems to exist in a bubble....humm maby the oceanic passangers are decendants of the people of atlantis that why the island brought them there... what do ye think...?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I think that would be the gayest ending to a tv show since buffy the vampire slayer.

welcome to boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

if it is in fact Atlantis and the island disappeared "under" the water, wouldn't that mean that everybody on the surface of the island wud drown? either that or they wud have been left floating in the ocean where the island had been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

its a dream, either jack is on the plane, dreams the whole thing, and wakes up alive with his fathers body in san fransisco

or

jack does not exist, and hurley dreams the whole thing from his hospital ward

ps, haven't been paying a huge amount of attention since the end of season two, remember when locke refused to enter the numbers and the undergound station emploded, a couple of observers picked up the signal from some artic/antartic monitoring station, have these two characters, or the monitoring stations been since, or have the writers hoped we forgot about them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Promethean

no i dont think it went underwater, the island was said to disappear beneath the waves, thats how it looked but i dont think it did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Promethean

whatever the answer is o dont think it is a dream the fans would be furious with a cop out like that, and the 2 guys in the artic were part of pennys search team they were in the last episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'll let the others pick this apart, but this thread further reinforces my opinion that lost cannot possibly end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

kowloon wrote: »
    I'll let the others pick this apart, but this thread further reinforces my opinion that lost cannot possibly end well.

thankfully nobody posting in this thread is writing it so I still have faith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

That ending may even be gayer than Seaquest DSV.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

There's a lot more to the show than the mystery element which is just the icing on the cake imo. As has been said many times before people who watch the show solely for answers will be disappointed no matter what happens.

So the island is Atlantis; or the island is a spaceship; or the island is purgatory; or it's all a dream—what does it matter? What's important is how it all plays out in the end, what happens to the characters and how the story ends.

SP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Didnt the Exotic matter revelation kinda answer this?

The Island being part of a stabilized worm hole, letting it/ them pass through space and time, creating a region of space-time allowing someone/ something to travel at speeds faster than light..

Who put the Exotic Matter on the Island?

The Greys?

Military?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭daisy123

There's a lot more to the show than the mystery element which is just the icing on the cake imo. As has been said many times before people who watch the show solely for answers will be disappointed no matter what happens.

So the island is Atlantis; or the island is a spaceship; or the island is purgatory; or it's all a dream—what does it matter? What's important is how it all plays out in the end, what happens to the characters and how the story ends.

SP

I agree, I watch LOST for the human aspect of it, character progression, love stories, friendships, enemies etc. While I still find the mystery part intriguing, it is not the main reason I watch the show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

daisy123 wrote: »
    I agree, I watch LOST for the human aspect of it, character progression, love stories, friendships, enemies etc. While I still find the mystery part intriguing, it is not the main reason I watch the show!
    Are you a woman?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I used to watch lost for the characters, but over the last few years the characters have all turned to **** and the mystery and weirdness is all that's keeping the show going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭brennaldo

sorry mate but dont think its great ending/story to the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I don't think the quality of the writing is all that great, character or narrative.
    I'll be back watchig it next year though :o.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

It's true that the show has turned into a bit of a side show but I still like it enough to keep watching. I don't care how bad the ending is as long as they try and do the characters some justice along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

The ending will be a screen writer in a tv exec's office and as he finishes giving the exec the run down on the show he asks

"well, what do ya think?" to which the reply is "that'd never work".

End of show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Its ghosts people, always ghosts! ...... unless its zombies? But if its not zombies then its definately ghosts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Pffft you of all people should know 6th, it's not ghosts, it's all an illusion!!!

6th wrote: »
    Its ghosts people, always ghosts! ...... unless its zombies? But if its not zombies then its definately ghosts.

They were apparently going to have a Zombie season on Lost. But since they were given a deadline to finish by they had to cancel it.

A lot of people are forgetting that it was always supposed to be like this, with all the mysteriousness and the Sci-Fi aspect. But they had to make the pilot completely different, otherwise ABC would never have approved it.

And besides, Lost itself wont end with the TV show. Ye are all forgetting about the movie. Guarantee ye that it will end on a huge cliff-hanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭radiospan

irish-stew wrote: »
    ps, haven't been paying a huge amount of attention since the end of season two, remember when locke refused to enter the numbers and the undergound station emploded, a couple of observers picked up the signal from some artic/antartic monitoring station, have these two characters, or the monitoring stations been since, or have the writers hoped we forgot about them

Yeah they were
    Penny's observers. They rescued the Oceanic Six at the end of season 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Predhead

Have you actually ever read anything on Atlantis? I have and if this is the ending it would be so ridiculous, I'd struggle to find the words to describe it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

The writers have said that they are trying to create their own mythology so the answer won't be Atlantis or the Bermuda Triangle or Oz or whatever. They may choose to borrow elements from all of these things but the end result will be their own creation. They've also said that the final explanation is complicated and not something you'll be able to summarise in a single sentence or even a paragraph.

The OP's Atlantis theory is a throw back to the simplistic theories of season 1. The most popular being purgatory of course. In fact I think once the show grew more complicated than "they are all dead" or "it's an experiment" people started tuning out.

SP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭daisy123

Sherifu wrote: »
    Are you a woman?

Yes, how'd ya guess?:p

At the end of the day, while I like the mystery of the island, and I still get really excited when new clues pop up and stuff, I amn't as concerned with it as the people. For example, in s4, my boyf really wanted to know about the whys and whos of the Jacob storyline. Me, I was more interested in how and why the O6 got off the island.

Maybe it is a gender thing.

I like the idea of a new mythology though, kind of like how Tolkien created the Middle Earth world before writing. I hope it is not Atlantis. Every other reference to Atlantis from then on, would just make me think of LOST. Whereas I'd like them to create something purely LOST. If you catch my meaning...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 ickythump

irish-stew wrote: »
    its a dream, either jack is on the plane, dreams the whole thing, and wakes up alive with his fathers body in san fransisco

or

jack does not exist, and hurley dreams the whole thing from his hospital ward

really doubt there goin the Dallas route somehow, there would be a LOT of angry fans burnin effigies of jack and co.

it's really headin towards a mixture of theoritical physics and the character's inner demons, dont know how the writers are going to pull it off but i can see a lot of people being unhappy about the ending...

The writers have said that they are trying to create their own mythology so the answer won't be Atlantis or the Bermuda Triangle or Oz or whatever. They may choose to borrow elements from all of these things but the end result will be their own creation. They've also said that the final explanation is complicated and not something you'll be able to summarise in a single sentence or even a paragraph.

The OP's Atlantis theory is a throw back to the simplistic theories of season 1. The most popular being purgatory of course. In fact I think once the show grew more complicated than "they are all dead" or "it's an experiment" people started tuning out.

SP

where did u get that info, and why do u sign all ur posts. we can all see ur name at the side of each of ur posts?

Jay Ru wrote: »
    where did u get that info
    One of the podcasts I think. Do you really care?
    and why do u sign all ur posts. we can all see ur name at the side of each of ur posts?
    To annoy you. :p Why don't you use capitals? And what's with the text speak?

SP

yes i do care, why else would i ask? your not annoying me by signing your posts i was just curious why somebody would bother signing a post when their name can be clearly seen already.

theres no caps because i can't be arsed! that a good enough reason for ya.

Could it end up with the cast finding out that its all part of a reality tv show?
    And when they confront the scriptwriters to say, "What the hell do you call that?!"
    The scriptwriters hold their hands up and say, "The Aristocrats!"
    Da-daaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,814 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Papa Smut wrote: »
    Could it end up with the cast finding out that its all part of a reality tv show?
    And when they confront the scriptwriters to say, "What the hell do you call that?!"
    The scriptwriters hold their hands up and say, "The Aristocrats!"
    Da-daaa
    HA!

Brilliant!