Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed Checks

• 08-06-2008 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭

Can anyone tell me what the point of them is ? i mean u see them in there high vis uniforms u slow down until u pass them and then u speed off again?

i havent been caught and i havent learned anything
    iv been done twice for speeding but only got Points for one of the occasions cuz i went to court 3 times only for my case NEVER to be read so i told the copper that and he organised something other

to ME its pointless

whats your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Can anyone tell me what the point of them is ? i mean u see them in there high vis uniforms u slow down until u pass them and then u speed off again?

iv been done twice for speeding but only got Points for one of the occasions cuz i went to court 3 times only for my case NEVER to be read so i told the copper that and he organised something other

to ME its pointless

whats your opinions?

Which, presumably, is why the government is increasingly introducing covert speed checks (in unmarked vans etc). You won't know if you've been checked until you get the fine. You won't know where they are likely to be so you won't dare speed. These covert systems will, of course, be located where the speed limits are ridiculously low (60k on dual carriageways). They won't, in general, be located where excess speeding might be dangerous. It's a "nice little earner."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Post 1 complains about high visibility checks and Post 2 complains about covert checks.
    Both are tactics and both are wrong in your opinions.

Fair enough but instead of complaining, have you any solutions since you know about the issue? What would you do?

What's with the text speak anyway?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

23 years old, done for speeding twice and by the looks of things has no intention of not speeding in the future?

I think the system has been put in place to prevent people like you from driving maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Stay above 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

to ME its pointless

whats your opinions?

Why not crash your car into something, then try and do it again only this time at 10mph or 30moh faster and see what difference speed makes.

Now if you are not up for doing this then you have to learn some OTHER way about the penalties for speeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

micmclo wrote: »

Fair enough but instead of complaining, have you any solutions since you know about the issue? What would you do?

High visibility checks and balances in all areas, not just in ones that are a combination of being easy to police and lucrative to catch motorists braking down from 120kmph to 80/60kmph, where in reality very few accidents, particularly fatal ones, occur at those points.
    Gantry cameras with ANPR systems on dangerous stretches to curtail average speeds is a fairer way to slow down traffic flow. Painted hi vis yellow, signposted as to their presence and the imposed limit, means no driver has the excuse of not knowing they were speeding, it also means that you don't get drivers simply blowing along and then braking hard for fixed camera positions (which with our culture of tailgating creates it's own dangers).

This crap of hiding up slip roads or on flyovers and grabbing as many reg plates as they can that are anything above the limit is a waste of limited garda resources, does nothing for road safety no matter what Gaybo and RSA will tell you...it's a nice money maker though...such a shame that none of that money actually goes toward improving road safety through pothole repair, removal of blind bends or anything elset hat might have a positive impact on reducing accident rates. It's not all about speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭suspectdevice

you know they play snooker whilst doing speed check points. idea of the game is that you have to go white, red, white, colour and whoever has the highest score at the end of the day wins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

you know they play snooker whilst doing speed check points. idea of the game is that you have to go white, red, white, colour and whoever has the highest score at the end of the day wins

get the **** otta here.You serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

hmmm

so what your saying is, that if you drive a white or a red car, you're more likely to be done for speeding?

/grabs spray paint to spray car different colour

I've a black car! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭eoin2nc

The speed checks in my area are done very well, its very hard to see them until your right up beside them, which by then its too late:(

Havent been caught yet, touch wood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Would theese new hidden private speed cameras not be entrapment?? this is why speedies had to be visible and if they were hiding behind a bus stop or a tree you would more than likley get off with it if contested in court?

In Germany, some local authorities have sunk to hiding cameras in wheelie bins..

http://english.controleradar.org/hidden-speed-camera.php
    Google shows that they arn't the only ones..
    time to "borrow" a rubish lorry... ;)

gixerfixer wrote: »
    get the **** otta here.You serious

told be a cop. apparently its considered the worst job in the gardai and the lads have to have something to keep themselves amused during the task of pointing a non shooting gun at a car, cautioning the driver and then doing the paperwork and then finally maybe bringing someone to court and boring the poor old judge to death. for most its considered a step down from a desk job!

of course, i can only go on what i have been told, but you'd be inclined to trust a copper, wouldn't you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭daisy123

Not many white cars on the road though, that's gonna take a LONG time!

daisy123 wrote: »

sure they've got all day, although i'd say it was some craic back when the white jap imports were on the go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I knew there was a reason my sister didn't want to drive a red car. (Apart from her excuse that 'omg dey r gay!'

The problem with speed checks is that they go to the same places all the time so people are expecting it.

I'd welcome more speed cameras. I wont say I don't go over the limit if the road conditions allow, but I don't have a problem driving under the limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

daisy123 wrote: »

What? Every second van is white. Also if this urban myth is indeed true, what about gold/silver cars? They probably get treated like white was well.
    If this is the sort of thing the traffic corp get up to then it's even more of a waste of garda resources than what I first alluded to in my other post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

ooookay

i should of mentioned where i got caught speeding

Kilmacanogue JUST passed the Petrol station and right near where them Traveller ( how bloody long have they been living there ) ( does anyone know much about them ) ?family live .. i was goin 85 till the sign where it says 60!.. and thats where he caught me
    and in fairness to him he said it i saw that u were trying to slow down but it was just a bit too late be careful in future
    i THINK thats where i got caught the first time
    i know now that u gotta slow down or just look ahead to see if there there
    its a stupid stupid place for them to be man .. there are worse roads then that one!
    and theres sweet **** ALL accidents there man

the second time it waaas.. hmm
    i cant explain but .. its on the way to dunne stores
    THAT time i didnt realise i was speeding cuz i hadnt checked the speed limit so it was actually MY fault
    and i do take the blame or whatever
    mind u HE was an asshole