Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Handicap Help

• 02-06-2008 5:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭

I was 8.3 saturday and played in an away open singles,played awful golf so i presumed i got my point one,played junior scratch in Wexford sunday again awful golf(never want to see a course again) so another point one,which puts me back to 9.So off i headed to Mount Wolseley today another junior scratch,i swipe in and hey presto 9 handicap comes up.So i played off that but when i got back to Wexford i am on the board as 8.4 and there is know one around to ask if i played off the wrong handicap.As far as i know the new rule is that you dont wait until the end of the month for point ones anymore.Ye i had a pretty decent score today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

Yes you get the .1's straight away. Maybe the away club hadn't returned your score to your own club that quickly. Have you checked the your handicap on golfnet site, every score would be on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

Yes mate just now and it's not on it,now i am lost.I shot 5 over today and might be in for a prize.I think i will half to go back up to Wexford and see if i can find someone off the handicap commitee,or DQ myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

By what you've said here, you're fine. Scores played away can take a good few days to hit Golfnet. Even if they were entered into the computer on the day.

Sorted i am grand,rang a friend on the commitee in Wexford (scratch golfer) on his way back from the east of Ireland,i half to update my handicap myself.So 9 was my correct handicap today.

Forgot to say thanks for the replys lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

No probs, and well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

An additional question to this...

If the computer at one of the first two courses where you got .1 back hadn't have been on, the computer on the third day at the Junior Scratch would have said (wrongly) 8 and not 9. Is there a way of adjusting the computer as you enter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭KOJAK_1

An additional question to this...

If the computer at one of the first two courses where you got .1 back hadn't have been on, the computer on the third day at the Junior Scratch would have said (wrongly) 8 and not 9. Is there a way of adjusting the computer as you enter?

Yes - as an AWAY competitor you get a chance to amend your handicap as you enter on th computer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

KOJAK_1 wrote: »
    Yes - as an AWAY competitor you get a chance to amend your handicap as you enter on th computer

Hmmm, I know I'm being pedantic but there seems to be an anomole there.

If you're off 8.4 and shoot a .1 score in an away comp. When you come back to play at home the computer will say 8 and as you are a HOME entrant, am I right in saying you can't amend your handicap for the day?

I know that's very nit-picky but still, it's an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

Hmmm, I know I'm being pedantic but there seems to be an anomole there.

If you're off 8.4 and shoot a .1 score in an away comp. When you come back to play at home the computer will say 8 and as you are a HOME entrant, am I right in saying you can't amend your handicap for the day?

I know that's very nit-picky but still, it's an issue.

No it doesn't matter if it's your home club or away, you're still given the opportunity to change your handicap, either when you "sign in" or when you "enter score".

Just been on golf net and my handicap has been cut 1.8 for a net 68in mount woseley.Par is 72 css was 73,so i thought i would lose a 5 .2s. Thats what it says for mount woseley and on the same day it has me down for a junior scratch and cut a further .8?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭steelbar

Well usually mount wolseley are really bad at updating the handicaps.

I won first nett up there in the Junior scratch last monday.