Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can Someone Please Chop My Leg Off?!

• 02-06-2008 8:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭

I know this isn't a medical board, but just want to make a general enquirey. I've been laid up with sciatica now for the past six days, been to the hospital and all that, got an injection but as far as I know that was just a pain killer. Anyway, can't walk, can hardly move and all that jazz, just wondering if anybody's suffered it and can tell me ow long I'm probably gonna be laid up for, cuz tis drivin me nuts, and the docs honestly weren't much help to me other than telling me to keep on my painkillers...

thanks in advance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Oh yes, there will be blood

Its the easiest way. Plus you can get a wooden leg replacement, how cool would that be ?

I believe it supposed to be addictive though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I'm sure you'll have plenty of offers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Le Rack wrote: »
    cuz tis drivin me nuts
    Add steering wheel and a bar. Mix.
    Bake for 25-30 mins.
    Serves: 1 joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

c - 13 wrote: »
    Oh yes, there will be blood

Its the easiest way. Plus you can get a wooden leg replacement, how cool would that be ?

I believe it supposed to be addictive though
    rofl, cheers lads, can really feel the love around here! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

This man will help your leg:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I can cure it, but it will cost you an arm and a leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

mmmmmmmm,amputee sex *drool*

Ok. I'll need a hacksaw and a lot of alcohol and a hammer. The alcohol is for me, cause theres no way I'm chopping your leg off sober.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Karoma wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I could hardly walk for almost a year when i was younger due to an accident that fecked up my spine and i had that sciatica stuff as well. I went to a chiropractor for about 10 months of that time and all it done was relieve pain a bit temporarily. Then one day i decided to go to a physiotherapist on someone's advice and they done this thing on me with gel and some device that they rub around the sore parts. After 3 visits i was back walking fine, no sciatica and have been grand since. An ultra something or other it was called.

Is that the machine where it sorta sends shocks into your nerves? The phsyiotherapist let me control that myself and apparently turning it up too high too fast is a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Baraboo

Sciatica would generally mean a problem with your L5 S1 disk in your back. A good Physio is a really good idea here. It will be expensive but worth it. A back surgeon is really only a last resort, will take a while to see, and the best they will do for now is anti-inflammatory painkillers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I had that used on my knee several times, in my experience it was only a temporary solution but twas great while it lasted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭mookishboy

I had severe problems with this and i went to all sorts of medico's ultimately i found a chiropractor to be the best way out of it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The cure for your problem, Le Rack, is staring you in the face - "Le Rack";)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Le Rack wrote: »
    I know this isn't a medical board, but just want to make a general enquirey. I've been laid up with sciatica now for the past six days, been to the hospital and all that, got an injection but as far as I know that was just a pain killer. Anyway, can't walk, can hardly move and all that jazz, just wondering if anybody's suffered it and can tell me ow long I'm probably gonna be laid up for, cuz tis drivin me nuts, and the docs honestly weren't much help to me other than telling me to keep on my painkillers...

thanks in advance :)

Look just get yourself a cane and an addiction to vicodin, you'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The cure for your problem, Le Rack, is staring you in the face - "Le Rack";)

Please, everyone knows that 'Le rack' has the body of a twelve year old chinese boy. Like a surfboard she is.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Please, everyone knows that 'Le rack' has the body of a twelve year old chinese boy. Like a surfboard she is.....

A good waxing should do the trick in that case.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

you too?! High 5!

Heather mills sex ftw.

Roide her and then beat her over the head with it... her leg that is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

uh huh ye won't find a boob on me... :rolleyes:

anywho, thanks to the more serious replies, was with the docs again last night and tis doc didn't think it is sciatica, cuz of the location of the pains but cuz of the form it is def nerve related, I'm not 100% on what he said cuz he had doped me up by time he was saying this, got morphine and diphene :D knocked me out for 16hrs! Anyway may have to go for x-rays soon, bleh, tis ghey to teh max!

As for the cane comment I have acquired myself one with a screw top and wee bottle inside it for my stash or potchín or whatever! And I am building up rather a collection of pain killers... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Does that mean you hump the leg or the remaining body?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

boob reduction is clearly what ya need Rach.

They are affecting your legs now :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Ive had acute sciatica for a few years OP and to be honest, it can be very hard to fix. My first session with my osteopath proved very effective. It was incredibly intense and though I felt like I'd done ten rounds with Mike Tyson the relief was overwhelming. Much to my dismay, the subsequent sessions left me feeling so sore, they had to be stopped. Of course when I then consulted my doctor he dismissed everything the osteopath stood for and thought I'd need an MRI scan, possibly leading to surgery. Being in my twenties I'm reticent to start messing around surgically with my back so that too went out the window. I decided then to try yoga which had little or no effect. Unfortunately OP I can honestly say that the only thing that had any impact on my discomfort was prescription drugs aka Difene and as there is no way I'm going to take a tablet every day for the foreseeable future, well that just leaves me with a heat pack to look forward to when the pain gets too much.
    Hope you're feeling better OP and if you find something that helps then I'd love to know thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Look just get yourself a cane and an addiction to vicodin, you'll be fine.

IIRC, hydrocone is not marketed as "Vicodin" in Ireland, so I doubt the OP can follow through on your otherwise excellent advice, Dr House.