Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

School reunion.

• 30-05-2008 2:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone do these or attend their own?

Over the past few months I've bumped into people I went to school with and they have asked me about organising one for my year ('93).

Now I couldn't organise a piss up in a brewery and I see pretty much all the people I want to see and I really have no idea why I'm being asked to sort this out, especially since I was expelled in '91 and more words.

Anyway, just putting this out there to see what the typical thing is and what others do if they do attend reunions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Why would I want to see them again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I'd go to mine but i wouldn't organise it. 370 people in my year did the leaving cert, no way would i bother trying to find a date to suit all them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

RedXIV wrote: »
    I'd go to mine but i wouldn't organise it. 370 people in my year did the leaving cert, no way would i bother trying to find a date to suit all them
    There was only 60 or thereabouts in my year.
    We went to school in a hedge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

Terry wrote: »
    Does anyone do these or attend their own?

Over the past few months I've bumped into people I went to school with and they have asked me about organising one for my year ('93).

Now I couldn't organise a piss up in a brewery and I see pretty much all the people I want to see and I really have no idea why I'm being asked to sort this out, especially since I was expelled in '91 and more words.

Anyway, just putting this out there to see what the typical thing is and what others do if they do attend reunions.

I think you've hit the nail on the head.
    I am of the same opinion. If there is someone i'd like to talk to then i'll contact them. I could see it being a major pissing competition, "i'm earning a shitload of cash and I drive a BM etc etc"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

My school friends (3-4 of them)I see regularly enough, there's a lot of other people who I wouldnt bother seeing again and to organise something like that would be too much hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

Wouldnt have the slightest interest in one TBH. What exactly is it about anyways? Its not like everyone was friends with everyone else all the time. Its a byproduct of american teen movies. Much better idea to organise something for you and your close friends from school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

i would go if there was one. i certainly wouldnt try to organise it.
    why are they asking you when they're the ones who want it!? The neck...

how would you even go about letting people know? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Wouldn't be arsed really. I have kept in touch with the people I want to there are probably about 2/3 people that would be interesting to see but not worth it to have listen to the amount crap from everyone else, the crappy small talk all night, and the constant barage of people trying to "out-do" each other. If you wanted to keep in touch with these people you would have.

Although there is a boardsie I went to primary school with on here who contacted me. That was actually cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

My class of 2000 did meet a few times twere funny nights and maybe in a nother few years we will all do it again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭chuci

the school i went to organises an xmas dinner for a different class each yr ten years after they left school so i did my lc in 2003 so my reunion would be in 2013.id have no interest in going i hated everyone in my yr except the few that im still friends. plus they were such a big bunch of tossers that it would turn into a competition rather than a reunion.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

chuci wrote: »
    id have no interest in going i hated everyone in my yr except the few that im still friends. plus they were such a big bunch of tossers that it would turn into a competition rather than a reunion.

pretty much what i was thinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

meh, I see people i went to school with , out the whole time ,and we dont bother talking to eachother, our school was very clicky, I wouldnt want to spend a night out with them tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Depends how regularly you see people out of school.

I went to my ten year one last year and it was pretty slick seeing how everyone got on.

Couldn't be bothered actually arranging it though.

It wasn't that good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I would go only if I coudl find away to give them food poisioning.
    Fecking convent school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

The bloody debs was bad enough. I don't need to see people I hate again.

I finished school in 2004 and I talk to 2 people from school regularly. I have no real interest in seeing anyone else.

I think it'd be hard enough to organise, unless you put a notice in the paper or get people to spread the word.

Don't go organising something you have no interest in, Terry. Stupid lazy former classmates can do it themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Have to say I'm surprised at all the negativity.

I'd definitely go, if only out of curiosity to see where everyone is and what they're up to. I got on with the vast majority of my year and I know a lot of them are doing some cool stuff all over the world. Be great to swap stories. Plus I loved school.

Wouldn't organise it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Terry, you got enough sheyet to be dealing with in AH, so don't bother if you don't want to.

I finished in 2002 and can't ever see myself being bothered to go out of my way to see them all again. I bump into a lot of people on big nights like Stephen's night and over the Mitchelstown music festival, but a drunken "how ya gettin' on" is enough IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Have to say I'm surprised at all the negativity.

I'd definitely go, if only out of curiosity to see where everyone is and what they're up to. I got on with the vast majority of my year and I know a lot of them are doing some cool stuff all over the world. Be great to swap stories. Plus I loved school.

Wouldn't organise it though.

loved school but dint see many anymore. would go but wouldnt organise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Well thats the last time i'll say hello to you in Miko's! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I wouldn't go through the trouble of organising one but I'd definately go.

I was lucky that everyone in my year got along quite well and I think it would be nice to catch up with the sort of people I was friendly with but didn't see really after school :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I left school in 1980. There were 153 in my year.
    We have had a ten year and a twenty year reunion (both of which were really well attended) and we are coming up to our thirtieth.

The ten year one wasn't great - full of people trying to impress each other, many of them still much the same as they were at school, the twenty year one was much better - people had had their knocks from life and were much nicer people. Looking forward to the thirtieth.

I wouldn't have a problem organising it, knowing how well the previous ones went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Wouldn't have much interest in a reunion. Haven't met anybody from my year since I left in 2001.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

most of them are dead/emigrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I'd go but no way would I even attempt to organise it.

I'm pretty sure all the dopes/knackers/scobies that we're in my year are in the joy now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

What's in the organising?

I'm not gonna book a venue or anything.
    I'll just e-mail or post letters to them and invite them. Six degrees and all that.
    We can take over one of the dead pubs in Leixlip one night.

Yeah, the people from school that I got on well with I still hang around with, so I really wouldn't be interested in any school reunion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Terry wrote: »
    What's in the organising?

I'm not gonna book a venue or anything.
    I'll just e-mail or post letters to them and invite them. Six degrees and all that.
    We can take over one of the dead pubs in Leixlip one night.

Give each of them the name of a different pub. They won't ask you to organise the next one.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

I went to one for my year about a month ago - left school in 96.. Was a bit nervous going in as I don't stay in touch with anyone from school really (apart from 2 people that emigrated to the states before finishing school). Was a grand night - very chilled, no stress..

I wouldn't have been into going if I was out of school less than 10 years though I have to say, school would have been still too fresh in my mind, but at this stage everyone is settled into careers, married with kids and stuff, so loads to talk about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Me and a friend got hold of the list from my school of people that had been in our year.I rang about 15 people's family homes and got some unpleasant news from some of them.Two guys were dead,a few had "gone away" and several nobody knew where they were.The ones i did manage to track down all seemed enthusiatsic at the time but it never came to pass.I sometimes feel that reunions as such are never meant to be..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Depends really ... if you were lucky enough to go through school with a good bunch, then a reunion might be a bit of craic.

If they were painful then, they'll probably still be painful. Who needs the hassle?