Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anterior Cruciate Ligament Tears

• 29-05-2008 10:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭

Just wonder if any one has suffered this? As usual got stuck in a ruck back in Feb and knee is still pretty Scr8wed up! Just wondering if it will get better any time soon and since its the leg i kick with i am kind of getting a few sleepness nights!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Yeah got that myself. Not going to lie to you, it's a pretty serious injury and a pain like no other when it happens.

My advice to you is stay off the leg as long as you can and stay on the crutches, the initial healing period will determine whether or not you will require surgery to fix it as if it doesn't heal properly (as happend me) it will happen again.

Also take your rehab very seriously, and there's no reason why you can't be back to full strength and as good as ever.

Unfortunatley I didn't treat the injury well enough and can now never play contact sport again. Last time I played 5-a-side football my knee jercked out of place as my ligaments are too week to hold the joint in place from non contact twisting and turning and I will require surgey to fix that!! Plus it'll probably come back to haunt me later in life :( *sniffle*

Not trying to freak you, but knee injurys can end a playing career in the blink of an eye, so take it very seriously and do not rush back into the game until you're ready...no matter how much you're dying to get back out there.

Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

A guy i play tag rugby done his two years ago required surgery.
    He has done near constant rehab and physio and only this summer two years later is he able to run around on it in non contact sports only.
    He is in his early 20s and super fit but its still taken this long to get it back to near normal,hope you have agood recovery but rushing abck without getting properly healed would be madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭puntosporting

I Completetly tore my ACL 3 years ago playing soccer!
    Its a serious injury and if its a complete tear or a large tear it will need surgery dont risk anything on it until you seek medical advice!
    See a specialist and have an MRI done you dont want to make the injury even worse by ignoring it!
    The operation is very successfull these days but revovery is 6-8 months depending on the person there is a lot of rehab to be done after surgery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

I had a complete tear 10 years ago. I saw a specialist and he recommended physio and a lot of weights to strengthen the muscles in my leg - I was out for 10 months.
    I am still playing rugby to this day with no surgery, my muscles hold the knee together. However, if my leg gets very tired - e.g. 3 nights training and 2 matches on the weekend - I can get a bit of swelling.

Basically, everybody is different so go to a doctor and specialist and as the lads have said don't rush back.

Good Luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

my experience was similar as above, i was given the option of reconstruction but even then theres no guaruntee of that it wont tear again, i opted against surgery and instead have been doing in leg exercises intensively quite often basically so muscles can do the job of the ligament which in effect isnt there anymore! if you maintain exercises given by physios and do them on top of your regular routine you should be ok-well thats what iv done and im holding up ok!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Exercise was what has been mention to me, to build up the muscle around the knee ! I was also told that this happens women more so than men i think more so to do with our funny hormones :( thanks for all the information guys hopefully with building up muscle i'll have a few more years left in me yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Sparky14

I had the same experience as PuntoSporting tore my acl playing football, took about 7months after surgery to get back playing sports. Everything u do pre and post surgery in the gym building up ur quads (they help keep the knee steady taking pressure off ur new acl) will dramatically speed up recovery. Although I know of people who have, as was mentioned above, keep playing without surgery although that requires alot of discipline in terms of keeping ur leg muscles built up. Best of Luck, its a nasty injury to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭lim abroad

I snapped mine and tore the cartilage on both sides of the knee 2 years ago playing soccer.i had the surgery where a piece of my hamstring was taken out to make the new ligament.the surgeon actally offered me 3 choices,they could take a graft from the patella tendon but he said that this would be normally only done with pro athletes as the rehab is a lot harder but the graft would be stronger or else i could get a ligament from a dead person but there would be a small risk that my body could reject it and it would take longer to heal.
    rehab is very tough,especially trying to get the full range of motion back in the knee,a lot of swimming and cycling to start with.was told not to do leg extensions until about 4-5 months after surgery to avoid putting excess strain on the new ligament.squata is fine and trying to balance on a wobble board too.
    was back in light contact training after around 6 months and went back playing after 9 months.my first season back i was terrible(playing wise) but physio said that was to be expected.i can play away now as normal,knee feels strong as ever and wouldn't think twice about going in for a fifty/fifty challenge.it does get sore alright on cold days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Boggins127

Ok heres the story in 2007 jan i think i was running to score a try in rugby now i am a heavy fella 20stone but am 6 ft 2 and i am quite fast for my size now my left knee just buckled under me n the pain was incredible had the whole Xrays and mri scans with Mr. Ray Moran ( brilliant surgeon) and he said a operation for it due to a complete tear..now what i had to do was build up the quad muscle around the knee b4 the op...Post op then i had to build up my quad untill about 6 months after the op which meant i was back in early october But and this is a big but U HAVE AN 80 PERCENT CHANCE OF DOING UR OTHER KNEE IN BECAUSE OF THE AMOUNT OF STRENGHTENING YOU DO ON THE INJURED 1. to prove that both knees have the same strenght an iso-kinetic test is very easy. but i do not think that effective because after 4 matches and 6 training sesions in Jan 08 i tore the acl in my right knee but symtoms were not as bad pain was not too bad and i was able to walk off the pitch....had the op in april so i am currently doing rehab... i have to say that 1nce u have the op finished u are ok 4 weeks later i was gutted 2nd tym round bu **** happens...keep on truckin...it is not that bad of an expierence i now hav two repaired knees repaired and will have full playing ability by october but pls make sure u get fit b4 returning to the sport u play....hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

My mate did cracked femur and tibia, tore acl and mcl and damaged cartilage all in one tackle. Took him best part of 18 months to come back fully fit, he played a bit after 12, and he was really dedicated. He did a huge amount of squats which seemed to help but again, do what the experts say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Perrin

Nice to see a lot of the people here who have commented here have recovered and are back playing again,gives me hope as this has just happened to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

A friend of mine did his ACL playing indoor soccor, the rehab was so long and intensive post opp he had to take a year off college. After a year he was right as rain though.

Good ta hear
    Im currently at the end of my rehab just hav ta lose the weight i put on 1st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Boggins127 wrote: »
    Good ta hear
    Im currently at the end of my rehab just hav ta lose the weight i put on 1st.

Actually he never managed to lose the weight.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭frink

Yeah I've done the same knee twice. Ended my playing days.

frink wrote: »
    Yeah I've done the same knee twice. Ended my playing days.

Extremely unlucky ive dun both my knees bu nt the 1 2wice.
    Did it end because u didn want the operation or what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭frink

Well a lack of motivation was a major factor in giving it up. Just hated training too much, loved matches. Play tag now, its great craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 JohnnyGolf

Yo, just after reading the posts here.

I've just done the MCL in the right knee. Previously I did my ACLs twice in my left knee. Once playing squash, second time playing soccer and now my right knee after playing soccer. I never did them playing rugby.

Prob now is my MRI shows wear and tear, Consultant not advising surgery. Wear and Tear for a 27 yo?

Knee now gets sore after walking, climbing stairs and after sitting in the same postiton. I'm back to gym to build hams up and Physio is great.

Another prob is I have a fear of playing sport again. As those of you know when your knee does a 90 degree twist and you hear the tear and then you feel the twist back again, the pain is an absolute killer.

Also, has anyone experienced increased pain after an MRI??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 heavenlytess

Ive tore my ACL, ML and did extensive cartldge damage to my right knee in 07. This was misdiagnosed until several xrays later and several rugby matches played my knee gave in completely. Having gone to AnE I was referred for MRI scan which highlighted the extent of my injuries. I am scheduled for my op tmrw with Dr. Brian Hurson and I am getting a little anxious now. I work in the construction injury and with the current economic climate I need to return to work asap.....

How long after surgery will i be out of work for ? (I know it depends on person but roughly on average) 4-6wks advised by surgeon is this true???

Do they give you a brace or some support strap to place over knee area? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭maherro

I tore my left ACL and in the first 20minutes of the first match back tore pretty much everything in my right knee. Knew exactly what it was the minute i felt it pain is unbelievable

After 3 months of physio and building back up the knee, I appear to be in trouble again....i was walking to work and the knee clicked a few times and it looks like the meniscus......i gave it 2 day with some ibuprofen gel and nothing....back to phyiso or maybe its time for surgery....:(

Anything like this happen anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Amabokke

gcgirl wrote: »
    Just wonder if any one has suffered this? As usual got stuck in a ruck back in Feb and knee is still pretty Scr8wed up! Just wondering if it will get better any time soon and since its the leg i kick with i am kind of getting a few sleepness nights!!

From an expert piont of view it is imperitive that you go for deep massaging. I had a knee problem since last year and managed to get it sorted by a very strong woman who managed to hurt me so much I actually had to ask her to be more gently pffft. Forget about physios, go to a reflexologists.

JohnnyGolf wrote: »
    After 3 months of physio and building back up the knee, I appear to be in trouble again....i was walking to work and the knee clicked a few times and it looks like the meniscus......i gave it 2 day with some ibuprofen gel and nothing....back to phyiso or maybe its time for surgery....:(

Anything like this happen anyone?

This may just be a build up of scar tissue but no way of finding out here seek professional advice,get to a physio or specialist!

+1 for deep tissue massage!

maherro wrote: »
    I tore my left ACL and in the first 20minutes of the first match back tore pretty much everything in my right knee. Knew exactly what it was the minute i felt it pain is unbelievable
    Killer blow my friend i did the same i've returned training etc..how are you getting on??
    thanks,
    Dave:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ixus

Tore mine during a hurling match back in '05 (I think). Have still not recovered enough to play at a decent level.

Went to A&E in Blanch the morning after I did it. They X-rayed and did the test on my knee. Gave me the all clear, said I'd sprained it and to go back walking ASAP. Muppets. Went to Dr. Pat O'Neill for an expert opinion. Had completely torn the ACL. He then referred me onto Dr. Ray Moran who performed the op. My advice here would be to skip O'Neill and go direct to Ray Moran. Cheaper!

Was on crutches for 4-6 weeks.

Being honest, I didn't put as much work into rehab as I should have and I'm paying for that still. I go through a phase where I build up the muscle and then go back playing. I'm flying it, then 3/4 weeks later I'm back to square one 'cos the muscle has worn away due to not doing much weights when I get back playing. You have to continuosly do the weights. And take glucosamine after the op.

Also, I can be in pain for 4/5 days after games/training and have a bit of a limp after matches. It's not pleasant at 27. The cold and sitting at a desk are also factors. Playing on hard ground also has an affect. I often wonder how the knee will be in 30/40 years time. Drink seems to have an affect on my knee also, if I have a few beers I feel it the next day. There is also the psychological factor of going into contact.

Moral of the story is, you really have to put the work into rehab and, though you'll be eager, don't go back early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Perrin

Hey all,had my surgery a while back and was a couple of months into physio when I contracted glandular fever which basically knocked me out for a couple of months,now I'm back to square one having to start again.Anyone know a website where I can download a schedule/regime for building my knee back up again? I have bits of stuff from when I was going to physio but you know I just want a full schedule,thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Good luck to you all. I got it in both knees with in the space of 6 months that basically ended a proper rugby career for me. Now i just play the odd tag rugby competition, pisses me off sometimes and perhaps i should have gone for some intensive treatment instead of just giving up. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Trepidy

Hi don't know if this tread is dead or not, but I did the ACL last year, had the ACL reconstruction surgery back in October using the hamstring graft,

Now the knee feels fine, but no matter how much stretching or warm ups I do before playing soccer or Softball or tag, 9 times out of ten I either pull or strain the hamstring or surrounding area, Ill be out for a few weeks think its good to go again and the same thing happens again,

Any Ideas

Should I rest longer, Do some more Gym work instead, see a physio?

Really Frustrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭yoursaviour1989

Trepidy wrote: »
    Hi don't know if this tread is dead or not, but I did the ACL last year, had the ACL reconstruction surgery back in October using the hamstring graft,

Now the knee feels fine, but no matter how much stretching or warm ups I do before playing soccer or Softball or tag, 9 times out of ten I either pull or strain the hamstring or surrounding area, Ill be out for a few weeks think its good to go again and the same thing happens again,

Any Ideas

Should I rest longer, Do some more Gym work instead, see a physio?

Really Frustrating

hi, what you have to realize is that when you go back the majority of your muscles will hurt, you spend so much time rehabing the knee that some times the other areas are neglected. im still feeling some pain in my quads 2 years on from finishing my rehab. also this could just be a mental thing. when i did my knee i was full sure that everytime i turned afterwards i could hear a crack. and lastly you have to realize that you're back playing in less than a year, sometimes professionals aren't back that quick so congrats on that but it may be advisable to wait a while longer

As in my earlier posts, you will read that I did significant ACL damage, I did not go down the surgery route but did rehab.

However, after almost a year now, is it right that I can almost go over on my knee with the most easiest of moves?

I've been building up my legs since the injury and they are relatively strong but still I fear that even while walking or even a trip on the stair case or sth will have back to square 1.

I'd like to get back playing rugby and squash but now fear this may not happen....anyone else have this same fear?....as you know, if you've torn your ACLs, you'll defo know what it is like to feel pain as the ligaments tear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ixus

You've damaged a mechanical lever in your knee. It's still damaged.
    Building up the muscle around it protects it but doesn't repair the damage.

I'd imagine you are still prone to further damage or inflaming the present damage on occasions when you twist your knee or in certain movements.

Medical advice can only really help you on this though.

When you get the operation, the reason it can take so long to get back to peak fitness is the deterioration of the muscle around the knee during the op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 annom04

I have been reading everyones stories and like most people I have done in my acl BUT three times on the same knee. First time unexpected and second time well hate to say it but i was just lazy and ignorant as to what needed to be done and third time hadnt even planned to ever play again after my ignorance and upset at 2nd one but after operation I had an incident and torn it!!!!jaysus is all I can say and it actually wasnt my fault as before!!!
    Anyway its been 5 years since I have played my sport and last summer I saw an article in a newspaper that said you can play again without surgey (I've had 4 operations..so im fed up of them). so i went to gym an I have a seriously strong pair of kness and i can run for a few miles and cycle. But I have one problem; acl is a real head-banger...i have this fear that im going to hurt it bad again and get a fright if I even have a little niggle.
    Can I ever play a team sport with all that twisting n turning ever again or am i fooling myself.
    Can it be done without surgey?:confused:

I'm in the same boat now since my original post, got a great set of knees now....but I fear going over on either one if I go back to sport....also my knees now crack big time when climbing the stairs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 mattdam0n

Whats up guys I'm from Galway and have just had a full tear of the ACL and cartilage in my right knee. Just wondering what surgeons have people gone to for surgery? My GP has recommended Fintan Shannon and Stephen Kearns, both from Galway. Does anyone have any experience with either of these surgeons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 kevkel86

Just like Ixus, I also went to A&E in Blanchardstown after I tore my ACL in my left knee. They X-rayed me and did the test on my knee. They also gave me the all clear and said there was no damage to the cruciate ligaments, the doctor told me I'd sprained ligaments and maybe there some minor cartilage damage and to go back walking ASAP and to go off the crutches that i came in with and not to rely on the crutches.

The advice I would give anyone who has had a knee injury is not to go to A&E because a x-ray is useless in terms of diagnosis. In total I seen 3 different doctors and 3 different Physios and they all told me that there was no cruciate ligaments. You should wait a week and if you think that the knee is damaged or seems unstable then get a referral letter from your local doctor and book a MRI scan because in my opinion the other ways are a waste of time. I have wasted a month already because of this.

I haven't had the operation yet and I have a meeting with a specialist next week. Just wondering if the surgery is painful and is the rehab difficult?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Mr.BBunny

Currently awaiting prognosis on my knee. It has ben scanned, but physio is convinced that they may have missed the AC. Grrr. Getting another physio opinion and doc opinion on Wednesday, but not looking good. Anyone know how long the recovery phase is? I have been told between 6-9 months. Also wondering if it is better to delay the surgery and build up the leg or just get it done and work on the rehab, rather than prehab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭JGEP

I've done mine twice, 25% tear first time and had arthroscopy (scope) done to sticth it and fix up cartilage. Out of action for about 2 months, back playing for 6 weeks and tore the ACL the whole way. Had full reconstruction done in March of last year. Work long hours so wasn't fully committed to my rehab and have had a few niggles with the knee since. The ligament itself is back to full strength but the knee itself is not aligned right which means that I'm not straightening it fully, which puts pressure on everything around it. I've been back to the physio and am making a concerted effort at the correct exercises and things are looking up now, thankfully.

To anyone about to have the op done - the hamstring is the most important muscle for holding the knee in place when the ACL is damaged, so pre-op building up of the hamstring and quad(hamstring curls,leg extensions and squats) will ease recovery as there will be a certain amount of muscle wastage post op.

Bit long winded but hope it helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭JGEP

P.s. my sister also had the ACL reconstruction about 5 years ago(bad knees must run in the family). She was back playing tennis after about 7 months and football after about 9/10 months, but she followed her physio's program quite strictly. So the main piece of advice is to listen to your surgeon and physio, be truthful in what you tell them regarding how intensly you're following your programand don't try to push it to come back early(only do as much as they'll allow you).