Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hilltop

• 29-05-2008 5:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭

Hey All,

I was wondering what you guys thought of Hilltop as a range?
    It's my closest one, probably (i live near enniskerry).

thanks,
    _Kar.

PS: Do they do Centrefire rifle/pistol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 paraman

I am a member since January 08. I find it to be a great range. single shot .22 in a 50 meter range. pistol shooting with a large selection of pistol .22 and 9mm pistols. they also do clay shooting and archery as well. good club not to busy on weekdays. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Bananaman

I've been a member for almost two years now.
    Great Club & Ranges, Great craic.

Great social side to it aswell - We had a BBQ on Saturday evening - lot of people brought the other half and the kids. Great Evening.

There is a
    • 50m .22 benchrest range,
    • 50m .22 running boar range,
    • DTL Range
    • ABT Range
    • Full Sporting Clays Layout
    • Compact Sporting Clays Layout
    • Indoor Archery Range
    • 25 metre indoor range, rated for centrefire pistol and centrefire gallery rifle.
    • and of course the quad bike tracks for when you wnat something else.

If you want to have a look just contact Pat and tell him your coming.
    http://www.pcquad.com for details.

B'Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Are both the 25m indoor and the 50m outdoor used for ISSF prone rifle Bananaman?

I haven't seen anyone do any ISSF stuff up there to be honest. We've had some ISSF guys shooting .22 that have generally only done air pistol before.

I suppose there is no reason they couldn't be unless there are some requirements that would not be met by them. There are hydraulic turning targets in the indoor although the target boards would need to be lowered to do prone shooting.

Both have fixed firing points so to get the distance, prone, you would need to be under the firing points on the indoor and to the side of them on the rifle range.

Just call Pat and ask him if you can do it and if so then drop up and see if it suits.

B'Man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 new2shooting

Hey guys does anyone know how much it cost to join hilltop shooting club?Pm me if you can please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Hey guys does anyone know how much it cost to join hilltop shooting club?Pm me if you can please

You should give Pat a ring and arrange a time to call up to talk with him. He'll give you all the details then.

http://www.pcquad.com for all the details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Red Renard

If Tom (Dr Tom Clolan ) would like to do more testing he could take
    the short drive to the DTSC range 15min from Tallaght and ("Let the World Stand Still") again. Pleanty of fresh air to de-stress in, ex-defense forces and Garda members, friendly welcome guaranteed. Contact www.shootingsportsireland.com for details.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭marlyman

hasn't this been covered like a dozen times before?

And I fail to see what it has to do with Hilltop ......

Club is open to membership.
    Contact details provided.

I would recommend that you give Pat a call.
    He will let you know when best to come out and inspect the facilities.

Then it's between yourself and himself as to the membership application.

(He likes Chocolate Iced Buns - actually he likes all kinds of buns - or biscuits - or Onion flavoured KitKats)

B'Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

and Jaffa cakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 garv

Bananaman, I’m fairly new to the competition side of pistol shooting however I’ve attended two competitions both in Harbour house and I’ve had a chance to see your lads in action.
    Does Hilltop have shooting coaches and if so where do they get their training from? I’m a novice at pistol shooting but I’d jump at the chance to get some coaching!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭MortgageMan

Hi Garv

The training in Hilltop is very structured, todate we have had a 100% pass rate on our courses with the NRA, IPSA etc.

We were named the safest team in the Vienna Open this year out of 14 countries and over 220 competitors.

Depending on what type of firearm and which discipline you choose you will find plenty of advice and training available.

Call Pat to arrange a time to visit the club, he will then give you details on training officers etc.

I think the point is Garv that you won't be fit to do much jumping after all that food. My worry is that you will get heartburn after pushing the shopping trolley from the supermarket. All this unhealthy grub is bad. I would hope it is not recommend. r218986_857534.jpg Chocolate Iced Buns - Onion flavoured KitKats, Burgers Jaffa cakes. I think you are better off to be in the fresh air Garv.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Onion. Flavoured. Kit-kats.
    I'm speechless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Sikamick

Red Renard wrote: »
    If Tom (Dr Tom Clolan ) would like to do more testing he could take
    the short drive to the DTSC range 15min from Tallaght and ("Let the World Stand Still") again. Pleanty of fresh air to de-stress in, ex-defense forces and Garda members, friendly welcome guaranteed. Contact www.shootingsportsireland.com for details.:)

Red Renard are you a member of DTSC.

Sikamick wrote: »

Red Renard are you a member of DTSC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Sparks wrote: »
    Onion. Flavoured. Kit-kats.
    I'm speechless.

Leaving Kit Kats beside a bag of very pungent Onions may have some undesired effects :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 buni-basher

I visited Hilltop when I was first considering getting a handgun. amazing place with very helpful and friendly, informed people. I would have loved to have joined but time spent gettin there was a big issue as I'm from the south east. I'd reccommend it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

I found Pat C. very accomadating - if very busy!
    Hilltop is good, if a little far from me in Dundrum. It just means I have to spend longer there when I do get out!

Old thread I know but may as well keep it alive. Hilltop is an great club, the social side is great craic, and the members always willing to help you out.

Safety comes first, which is a good thing in itself.

I travel considerably further than Dundrum to get there (50 or so miles I think), but consider it to be well worth it. In fact I work in Dundrum and think of it as a short trip when I travel there from work on a Wed / Thurs evening! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 paraman

hilltop is an excellant club :D. I travel from kildare and is worth the trip. wife just had our new baby girl so for now I can't go as often as I like. happy shooting everyone:cool: Not informed about extra social side of club.

Just to clarify - by the "social" side, I mean the craic that one has with other members whilst shooting up at the club.