Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Golf Society

• 29-05-2008 9:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭

I'm not sure if this has been tried before, but I have some time and I'm willing to give this a go if there are enough people interested.

I can set up an agenda for a game every 6 weeks or so.

I'd like to ask how many people would be genuinly interested (It would be Saturdays or Sundays obviously).

I'm thinking that many people may not have an official handicap, so the first outing would be no serious prizes or anything but like a strokes play event. This would be primarily for people without handicaps and from the scores on the first outing we can give these people a handicap.

Let me know what you think anyway.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭disland

Count me in for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

I've tried

Graeme1982 has tried

others have tried

and all failed.

not saying you won't be succesful - but you will get lots of positive feedback and when push comes to shove - nothing.

I know others see me as being negative on rare occasions, but I think a lot will agree with me that you have your work cut out.

So why have they failed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

slumped wrote: »
    I've tried

Graeme1982 has tried

others have tried

and all failed.

not saying you won't be succesful - but you will get lots of positive feedback and when push comes to shove - nothing.

I know others see me as being negative on rare occasions, but I think a lot will agree with me that you have your work cut out.

You can count me in for it, but as Slumped says, it's been tried several times before and the response when it came to actually commiting to it has been very poor.

I'd love to see it happen though and hope it works out. As i say, count me in. Also, if you need any help drop me a pm.

disland wrote: »
    So why have they failed?

Do a search for Bohs Golf Day and the thread should come up.

Basically there's always a lot of 'yes i'd be up for that' type responses to threads such as this, but once the event is actually planned, there are only a handful of people actually up for it.

With mine i had the offer of a reduced green fee if we could get a certain number (a number which looked to be very achievable following the initial thread). In the end there was only about 3-4 people said they'd play.

We then recieved a cracking offer from the GUI academy for a day up there but again, only 1 person was interested.

Maybe it needs to start small... i.e a fourball or a couple of three balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Count me in too, I work two out of three Saturdays but would love to play on the occasions the outing falls on a day that suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭BunkerMentality

I'd be interested in this as well, good way for me to get out more if i commit to something like this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

disland wrote: »
    So why have they failed?

For me, I'm just getting back to playing in my club and the only time I really play away is either a Junior Scratch Cup or a work freebie on a good course. Other than that I'm reluctant to miss a Medal or Saturday comp in my home club. In fairness, that's what I paid my membership for. I usually try and not play golf on Sundays or play football.

I think if a few of us are playing in Junior Scratch Cups regularly something might come of that.

I know I'm being quite niche there but the Skerries JSC was the one day there was a few of us from the board on the same course on the same day. Headfort will be the same, although I'm pulling out.

For the reasons above, I think a Boards day would appeal to more non-club players (though not exclusively) and I don't think there's as many of them on the board...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭tiptap

Thanks for the heads up guys,
    however, I'm still going to try this, and support would be fantastic.

So, as a first, I've just organised the first outing.
    As it's the first one, I'd like no bickering on the course choice firstly. This is just the first outing and we want to get people interested and to see what type of numbers we get.

The Venue is Charlesland Golf Club, Greystones.
    The date: 22nd June
    Time: 2.10

I said to the club that it may be around 15 people or so, I know the booking staff there so it's no problem if it's more or less.

The cost is €60 which includes the round of golf, and a 10oz steak dinner afterwards. They will also throw in a prize (free round for 4 people).

So, hands up who's in !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cheers

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    You can count me in for it, but as Slumped says, it's been tried several times before and the response when it came to actually commiting to it has been very poor.

I'd love to see it happen though and hope it works out. As i say, count me in. Also, if you need any help drop me a pm.

Thanks Graeme, appreciate that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭jampotjim

I would be up for that :D

tiptap wrote: »

The Venue is Charlesland Golf Club, Greystones.
    The date: 22nd June
    Time: 2.10

My club has its Captains Prize that day so i'll be winning, i mean playing in, that i'm afraid.

Hopefully i can catch the next one.

No Problem Graeme, good luck with it :-)

I'd like to have a final number (or as close as possible) to give to the club by Tuesday evening, so if people can get back to me by then would be great.

[EMAIL="Cr@p"]Cr@p[/EMAIL]. Im in the heritage that day. Only day in june that didnt suit! Hope it works out and I will definitly be up for future events.

Not in the country that weekend so I can't make it.

All that have responded so far,
    would the 29th June suit better ? Do you think you'd be able to make that date better ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I'll be up for it, whichever date it is. Good deal and I've only played that course once a long time ago.

Fair play...

I'll go on the 29th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭bongoboy

I would also like to play - I can play either Sunday.
    Fair play for organising this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭golfsocietyirel

we play once a month (golfsocietyireland.com) - everyone is very welcome to attend. the format is 4ball, so if you can get 4, well and good, if not, you'll be out last with me :-)

next outing is druids glen sunday 22nd

just let me know....

Just to let you know I'm trying to get the 29th June, waiting to hear back from the club, will keep thread updated when I get the news.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭corban

any updates? if it is on the 29th i'd be interested....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

I'll have to double check 29th , but sounds good in theory . let me know when you need a definite

Hi All,

Apologies for the delay but my contact in the club was out of the office for a few days.

The good news is, we're all booked up for the 29th.
    I think it will be too messy to change it again, so lets try and get some numbers down for the 29th.

I think it should be good fun.
    So names please :-)

Hi

What time on the 29th? I've to be somewhere late afternoon.

2.10, we can put you out in the first group if you want

As long as I'm back home by 7.45 I'll go... final of Euro 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Tony_Montana

Great idea ;)

you can stick myself and my mate down for that. the namess are o'mahony and coleman. if we could be given a time before 2.45 that would be great cheers. :)

corban wrote: »
    you can stick myself and my mate down for that. the namess are o'mahony and coleman. if we could be given a time before 2.45 that would be great cheers. :)

No problem

Count me in aswell . Playing off 20.

has there been enough interest in this? is it still going ahead? i'm not very good but am lookin forward to it...

Hi Corban,

I'm still on for it, and it looks like we have 8 or 9 so far,
    Not to worry if you're no good, all standards welcome.

I'll be taking definite names next monday and will do up the teetimes then.

Cheers

nice one

Im a maybe at this stage

Hi All,

Ok, time to start getting names for tee times etc.

So, by Tues, 17th, can I get a definite yes or no please, along with if you'd like the steak dinner afterwards,plus handicap if you have one, so it's 40 for the golf, or 60 for golf and dinner.

I'll start organising the tee times then.

Cheers

here's 3 definates:
    sweeney, o mahony, coleman.
    we dont have any handicaps sorry, not members of a club, relatively new to the game....
    we need one of the earliest tee times pls?
    we'll go for the 60e option

Sorry guys ,just realised Dub game is on that day and its at 2pm so unless we can organise a very early start (7ish?), I dont think I can make it . I am still very interested in the idea of meeting up once a month to play .

Hi All,

Ok, we have four definites so far
    sweeney, o mahony, coleman. and myself.

Others, we need to get to 15 realistically

Cheers

I'll go, but as I said, need to get out early so I can get home for the euro final

ok, 5 in total,

whipit, grame ? anyone else

ok, 5 in total,

whipit, grame ? anyone else

Sorry tiptap, but i have a competition on already that day.

Best of luck with it though!

Look like I may have to cancel this guys, unless there is a surge of people that come forward in the next two hours or so.
    No point going out with 5 people.

I tried :(

Look like I may have to cancel this guys, unless there is a surge of people that come forward in the next two hours or so.

Unfortunately that's the same story as always TipTap. Fair play to you for having a go though. It just seems that the demand isn't there.

Too bad

lads, I've an outing to Druids Glen on Sunday. I have a couple of slots at the end around 2.30. you are more than welcome to come along.

its a shame, thanks for trying :(

lets have another go! I'll package it a bit.....

Golf Event of the Year - Boards.ie Golf Day.

Druids Heath. Sunday Aug 24th. 10am

Green fee is 80.
    Bring 8 and pay for 7 is the deal.

Singles Stableford competition.

It will be great!!!

Anyone interested?? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

I'd love to play but unfortunately as I'm in Cork i wouldnt be able to join ye!