Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help needed womens mini marathon

• 26-05-2008 12:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭

Hi There
    Its my 1st time to run the mini marathon next monday. Im running it on my own and just wondered if someone could help me with a couple of things:

What time do I need to be in town for?
    Is there anywhere I can leave my jacket or am I better off going down to start area in my training top etc?
    Where can I meet friends after? Ill be leaving them with my car keys.

Getting nervous now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Lila

The organisers say to be in town for 1pm but in reality you'd be time enough at 2pm for a 3pm start. The crowds at this event are huge! Not like any 10km you'd normally see. I think the numbers are over 40,000 again this year.

There is a baggage area on the Harcourt St side of the Green. However, if you're not parked far from there anyway save yourself the queues. I think the meeting area is around there too but is always very busy. You could arrange to meet your friends around the Mansion House or near the Gaiety maybe?

Have you run in 10km events before? The course is lovely. Relatively flat and fast. However, getting started and into your pace can be tough as a few walkers always seem to start up the front (even though they risk getting trampled!). Once the crowd thins out you'll be able to enjoy nice roads all the way.

I hope we get nice weather on the day! Enjoy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭jakeypooh

Hi Lila
    No Ive never ran in events before so its my first.
    Ive trained hard and feel well able to complete it
    Im goin for 50-52 mins
    Getting a bit nervous now but feel a whole lot better after reading your post

I was worried about the walkers as Ive been allocated a joggers no. as I cant prove I can run the 10k inunder an hour so Im hoping to be able to break free of them pretty easy

Do you think it will be difficult to loose the walkers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

jakeypooh wrote: »
    Hi Lila
    Im goin for 50-52 mins

I was worried about the walkers as Ive been allocated a joggers no. as I cant prove I can run the 10k inunder an hour so Im hoping to be able to break free of them pretty easy

HI Jakeypooh, congratulations on the training. Well done.

The mini-marathon was the first race I ever did, that was two years ago and I went on to do the Dublin marathon that year.

It's a great race for inclusion but to be absolutely honest, it's not a "runners" race. If you're only getting there an hour before hand you won't be sufficiently up the front with the good runners. The crowds are massive and I know that last year, the walkers didn't start for an hour after the starting gun due to the crowds.

The year I did it, I was WRECKED by about 5k due to having to dodge around people. Being in the joggers section means feic all. There was just a sea of walkers around me. Obviously people who'd started off with good intentions but had fallen by the wayside.

By all means do the race, enjoy it, but don't start out with a personal best (pb) time in mind, you'll only frustrate yourself when you don't achieve it due to the crowds.

I'm sorry to sound pessimistic about the race. I really don't want to as I think it's a great event and as I mentioned was the first step in my running career. It's very accessible which is fantastic but that also means that there's a massive variety of standards.

I'd do the race but would also toddle onto the runireland or maybe the bhaa site and pick a 10k race that you can do within a week or two of the mini-marathon. You'll get a much better idea of what your pace is then and it'll enable you to enjoy the mini-marathon more rather than tearing around it, stressing about your time and swearing at all the so-called joggers.

I was ultimately sad on the day as I'd found a training plan and stuck to it and was very disappointed when I couldn't achieve the time I wanted to due to the crowds of people there. And yes, people are silly and don't realise the training you've done and will happily link 20 people across in the joggers section and stroll down the road at less than a brisk walking pace.

HardyEustace makes a valid point in that it will be difficult to set a PB next Monday, primarily due to the crowds. But as it's jakeypooh's first event that doesn't really matter so much. Crossing the finish line for the first time is a big thing and you should focus on that and have a laugh along the way. No matter what, you'll get your PB on the day and you can build on that going forward.

Even though it comes at a cost for us faster runners up front, the accessability of the event is wonderful and gets a lot of women into athletics which can only be a good thing. Alot of people moan about the walkers but they raise the majority of the funds for charities and so are entitled to be there (so long as they line up in the runners section!).

Try not to get frustrated when you encounter walkers 4 and 5 abreast at the start (note to self!). It won't make you any faster and it will take the shine off the fun element for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Hi Lila
    Im goin for 50-52 mins

50-52mins would put you in about the top 500. Out of 40,000, which is quite impressive. But as said above, if you start behind 10,000 you'll be lucky to break the hour. Only chance of getting around this is to get there early enough so that you can get to the very front of your pen. That way at least the only people in front of you should be the runners and elites. So even if you are behind a few thousand (I don't know how many runners numbers they give out) runners, they should all be moving reasonably quickly so won't hold you up and if you are going faster than them, it will be easier to get around them than 5 walkers linking arms (first year I was there, thererwas a woman in the 4th row from the front with a tescos bag with a baguette sticking out. I think her plan musthave been to stop half way around to make a few sandwiches, which is fair enough, but why go to the front???).

I would suggest getting there for around 1-1.30 to get up to the front of your pen. You can sit there then and wait till the start, holding your place. Bring a disposable hat/top if you have them in case it is very sunny,rain (or maybe a black bag that you can wear as a jacket) - although friends may be able to get close to you to collect clothes at the start, or you could get them to wait at the 1k mark (by the Schoolhouse pub) and throw your clothes to them. They can easily get around to the finish then while you are on the course. If you are going early also bring a drink so that you don't dehydrate if sitting in the sun, but then you can't drink too much as you won't be able to get out to go to the toilet without losing your place. Like the others above, don't want to be a downer, but this race is a disaster and potentially dangerous unless you have an elite number (under 43mins) for those reasons.

So, get there early, make a good plan with your friends, and hopefully you will have an unimpeded run. Hopefully then you will reach your time goal. If you don't, due to the crowds, just enjoy it. Despite all the above, it is a great day and experience and will give you a hell of a buzz. And then look for another 10k which won't have such crowds. Or maybe the 5mile in the Phoenix Park July 12th or see www.bhaa.ie.

Last thing - bring a watch so that you can start it when you cross the line, rather than getting the official time which is from the gun.

Lila wrote: »
    HardyEustace makes a valid point in that it will be difficult to set a PB next Monday, primarily due to the crowds. But as it's jakeypooh's first event that doesn't really matter so much. Crossing the finish line for the first time is a big thing and you should focus on that and have a laugh along the way. No matter what, you'll get your PB on the day and you can build on that going forward.
    I'd have to disagree with you there, while participation and the finishing of the race is important, if the op has trained to run and isn't able to do so for a good half of the race due to crowds and to people over-estimating their "jogging" ability then they will be disappointed.
    Even though it comes at a cost for us faster runners up front, the accessability of the event is wonderful and gets a lot of women into athletics which can only be a good thing. Alot of people moan about the walkers but they raise the majority of the funds for charities and so are entitled to be there (so long as they line up in the runners section!).
    I don't know if this is just a general comment or in answer to the remarks I made about people meandering around the joggers section, however if you are in the jogging section and walking 20 abreast slowly then people are going to moan about you. Equally I think that the people organising the event don't tell the race participants that they should try and walk to the right and let runners pass on the left (just an example), many people wouldn't be aware of race etiquette.

Try not to get frustrated when you encounter walkers 4 and 5 abreast at the start (note to self!). It won't make you any faster and it will take the shine off the fun element for you.
    I'd have to agree with you there, I didn't want to sound pessimistic about what is a wonderful event but I didn't know what to expect and thought that everyone in the jogging section would be jogging and got very frustrated at the start. Pre-warned is pre-armed.

Thanks for all the info - Im getting a bit worried now
    I don't want to get caught behind all the walkers as I am a runner

I was talking to a girl in the gym last night and she said jump in with the runners

Is this an option or are there people there in charge who will stop me

I really dont want to get caught back with the walkers

Thanks for all the info - Im getting a bit worried now
    I don't want to get caught behind all the walkers as I am a runner

I was talking to a girl in the gym last night and she said jump in with the runners

Is this an option or are there people there in charge who will stop me

I really dont want to get caught back with the walkers

There were people checking which section you could go to two years ago. They tightened up on it a lot last year, in that you had to supply a valid race time in order to get a "running" slot, so I don't know how successful you'd be.

Like the previous op suggested just try and enjoy the race and find a "runners race" to compete in just before/after the mini-marathon. Personally I'd go for before so that you're well rested. But a week or two afterwards is grand also.

If it's any consolation, one of my pals was running with the elites two years ago and even they had a nightmare. Due to volumes at the start a lot of people start half a mile into the race and just hop the barrier and then decide to walk slowly, arms linked in lines of twenty or so :mad: . So even with the elites, they were battling their way through people who just didn't have a feicing clue of race etiquette.

I know I mentioned it before but I really would pick another race and enjoy this day and don't worry about your time too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭goofygirl

how did everyone get on yesterday? have to say, i was struggling in the heat! you know they way some races just seem to run themselves and others are a struggle every single step...did it in 55.10 which i'm happy with but next time, next time would love to get it down to the 52min marker!

Hi Guys
    Thanks so much for the advice it really paid off.
    I got there at 12.30 and was right up the front of the blue no's barrier
    Did it in 52 mins 46 seconds so am thrilled wanted to do it between 50-52

I so want a pink or white no' for next year
    Anyone know how to get one of these

It was ludicris tho, a woman in her 60's about 20 stone was up the front of te blu no's barrier - couldn't run or jog it but was there in the way

Why do they let this happen,

Also, where can I find out about more 5k or 10k runs in dublin and surrounding areas??

How did the rest of you get on ?

Congrats jakeypooh. Glad you enjoyed it. It was way too hot for me. I was overheating by 4km! Got around in 49:27 so happy enough.

In order to get a white number you just need to prove you can run the 10km in under 60 minutes so next year you'll just reference this years result when registering.

In fairness to the organisers there's nothing they can do to prevent walkers from registering as joggers. It's up to individuals to know their limits. Alot of people register as joggers simply to get that bit further up in the queue. Pointless really!

A good place to find other races is at www.activeeurope.com. You should sign up for the Adidas Race Series in the Phoenix Park. It's a 5 mile, 10 mile and half marathon in July, August and September. Always well organised events.

well done you two that's brilliant!

it deffo wasn't my day...

can i ask what type of training you did for it?

goofygirl wrote: »

I ran twice a week in gym on treadmill
    long 9k run on monday
    Interval speed training on wednesday
    and a 40-50 minute run outside on a saturday

Tues and Thursdays I did the stepmill for 40 mins to work on cv fitness and I lifted weights mon and wed for upper body and tues and thurs for lower body
    3 sets of 10 for each body part lifting my heaviest possible

I ran twice a week in gym on treadmill
    long 9k run on monday
    Interval speed training on wednesday
    and a 40-50 minute run outside on a saturday

Tues and Thursdays I did the stepmill for 40 mins to work on cv fitness and I lifted weights mon and wed for upper body and tues and thurs for lower body
    3 sets of 10 for each body part lifting my heaviest possible

Hi Guys
    Thanks so much for the advice it really paid off.
    I got there at 12.30 and was right up the front of the blue no's barrier
    Did it in 52 mins 46 seconds so am thrilled wanted to do it between 50-52

I so want a pink or white no' for next year
    Anyone know how to get one of these

It was ludicris tho, a woman in her 60's about 20 stone was up the front of te blu no's barrier - couldn't run or jog it but was there in the way

Why do they let this happen,

Also, where can I find out about more 5k or 10k runs in dublin and surrounding areas??

How did the rest of you get on ?

That's great. I'd say you'd get a minute or two off that time no problem on a cooler day, and particularly if you didn't have to sit around in the sun for 2.5 hours beforehand. As someone said above, need proof of below 60 for one type of number. For an elite number, you need to get under 45mins for a 10k, which isn't out of the question for you between now and next year. These are ideal because you have your own area to warm up etc with only about 200 others, and don't have to line up until the last minute.

While the 20stone woman may be annoying, she could well have been going for her own target. while you want to be as close to the front as possible to get 50mins, she wants to be there to get 2hours or whatever, and someone else wants 34mins. Nobody wants anyone in front of them, so it's probably a fair enough system with qualifying times to get you as close to the start as appropriate and after that first come first served. Maybe they just need more qualifying categories. You could always do what a lot of people did yesterday. Walk 1k to the 9k mark (backwards, ie start at the finish). Sit on a bench at 9k, enjoy the sun and then when the lead runners pass, join in...

www.bhaa.ie or the dublin marathon series are good for races around Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

... For an elite number, you need to get under 45mins for a 5k, ....
    Something wrong here RF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭iPoker

on baggot st. yesterday, a runner coming outta Burger King, wearing a St Luke's t-shirt, and lightin up a cig

crikey, better step up my training a gear from the gentle-jog-a-few-times-a-week-routine...

yeah it was really interesting to see all the different varieties of shapes and sizes and ages around town - and fair play to every last one of ye, no matter how fast or slow - ladies out lunching or having 99s beforehand when here was poor me on a pre-race slice of toast and half a muesli bar!

Something wrong here RF?

Sorry, 45mins for 10k, cleared up now
    Thanks, RF

crikey, better step up my training a gear from the gentle-jog-a-few-times-a-week-routine...

yeah it was really interesting to see all the different varieties of shapes and sizes and ages around town - and fair play to every last one of ye, no matter how fast or slow - ladies out lunching or having 99s beforehand when here was poor me on a pre-race slice of toast and half a muesli bar!

some were poppin into abrakebabra on the way. impressive.

iPoker wrote: »
    on baggot st. yesterday, a runner coming outta Burger King, wearing a St Luke's t-shirt, and lightin up a cig

at least she was walking 10k while smoking and having a burger. Better than sitting on your backside and doing the same.

true....the greater irony i thought was cig/St. Luke's