Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vension - Recipes

• 25-05-2008 4:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭

All

Well I finally got around to cooking some Vension to-day. I got the deer in question some time ago - around the end of the season, but for one reason or another to-day was the first day we got a chance to cook it.

Anyway we went for more or less a straight forward roast having allowed the meat to defrost over 2 days and soak in Vineager for one day. Herself was quite nervous about the vension. Normally she is very open to trying new food, but as I had shoot this we were quite nervous. :confused:

In the end I was very happy with the meal. The mean was a bit overdone - her fault not mine:D ,but the meat was quite tasty. I enjoyed the meal with a little oninion and a lot of spuds:D

So the guys out there that are doing this a lot longer than I, must have some good recipes. Any chance you could post a few more ideas?

Best Regards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

kerryman12 wrote: »
    All

Well I finally got around to cooking some Vension to-day. I got the deer in question some time ago - around the end of the season, but for one reason or another to-day was the first day we got a chance to cook it.

Anyway we went for more or less a straight forward roast having allowed the meat to defrost over 2 days and soak in Vineager for one day. Herself was quite nervous about the vension. Normally she is very open to trying new food, but as I had shoot this we were quite nervous. :confused:

In the end I was very happy with the meal. The mean was a bit overdone - her fault not mine:D ,but the meat was quite tasty. I enjoyed the meal with a little oninion and a lot of spuds:D

So the guys out there that are doing this a lot longer than I, must have some good recipes. Any chance you could post a few more ideas?

Best Regards

savage good stuff ,ya be fit only for the chair after it . my favour it way of doing a leg is ..one leg of sika calf marinade in olive oil, red wine and two or three big orange s sliced thick leave for a day or so turn it as often as you think of it ,,then cook slow 30 mins a pound in the marinade cover it with the oranges and foil take the foil and oranges off for the last half hour . roast carrots parsnip and a few quarters of spuds in a little olive oil ,get a big parsnip and peel it into very fine shreads with a spud peeler and deep fry very hot oil .mash spuds make the gravey from the marinade in the roasting dish ,mint sauce is nice with it also .and the rest of the wine . mmmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

feck I am hungry again after that JW!!

kerryman12 wrote: »
    feck I am hungry again after that JW!!
    ME TOO

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

One taste that goes well with venison is chocolate. I've had venison in two restaurants where they've used it as an ingredient in the sauce and it works surprisingly well.

I have a recipe for venison agrodolce (Italian sweet & sour) which includes chocolate but it looks complicated so I haven't tried it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭.243

brown bread venison liver sambo

1. 1 small venison liver (no bigger than a pricket)
    2. wash and clean in cold water asap (meaning while its still warm)
    3. a hot frying pan and a drip of olive oil
    4. slice thin the liver and put on the pan
    5. deep brown the liver on one side (keep an eye on it it does this nearly instant)
    6. 1 bottle of jemmy whiskey
    7. when browning the other side insert a good dollop of jemmy into the pan (warning will cause flames)
    8.remove from pan when done (or when eyebrows have finished burning)
    9.brown soda bread
    10.brown sauce.
    11.and to wash it down one can of chilled bulmers.

enjoy !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭IDon'tKnow!

Easy but tasty and great for this time of year, weather permitting.

Cut the meat into squares then put a skewers though the meat added some peppers and red onion to the skewers (or other veg to your taste). Then cook on a BBQ. If you want the meat to have a great taste, if your BBQ has a grill plate then cook the venison skewers on the BBQ grill plate just after you have done some burgers and the fat from this will help added some extra taste to the lean venison. If you need to lose a few pound then cook without the fat.

Easy but tasty and great for this time of year, weather permitting.

Cut the meat into squares then put a skewers though the meat added some peppers and red onion to the skewers (or other veg to your taste). Then cook on a BBQ. If you want the meat to have a great taste, if your BBQ has a grill plate then cook the venison skewers on the BBQ grill plate just after you have done some burgers and the fat from this will help added some extra taste to the lean venison. If you need to lose a few pound then cook without the fat.
    WHAT you sayng were fat . i make my own burgers from vension mince i mix a few good butchers sausages through the mince for moistness and to help them cook fry mushrooms onions and cover in pepper sauce . left out a leg for tommra eve .www.scobiesdirect.com have some help full stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Last time I had Vennison steak, I made Whisky sauce and it went very well imo
    I can put the recipie up later if theres interest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

All good stuff lads - starving here as I wait for the dinner.

.243's post reminds me of a old story from my neck of the woods. It was said that the old lord Kenmare of Kilarney would get up early ever morning to head out on the mountain. Find a stag and shoot him so that he could have liver for the breakfast.

keep it coming....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭IDon'tKnow!

jwshooter wrote: »
    WHAT you sayng were fat . i make my own burgers from vension mince i mix a few good butchers sausages through the mince for moistness and to help them cook fry mushrooms onions and cover in pepper sauce . left out a leg for tommra eve .www.scobiesdirect.com have some help full stuff

What I was saying is the Vension skewers will have no fat in the meat. But if you cook a few burgers on the grill before the skewers, the fat left on the grill from the burgers will added taste and help keep the meat on the skewers moist.