Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever see a near perfect look-a-like of a mate / family member?

• 23-05-2008 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭

Was making my merry way home from work the other day on the Luas, when i (thought) I saw my best mate. It was a bit odd, as he works in the other side of town, and I'd emailed him just before I left the office... how the f*%k did he get here so quick?
    It dawned on me that this wasn't my mate, but every feature was near identical. Even his hair cut, but this guy's hair was slightly more blonde.
    I honestly couldn't get over it. Yer man must have thought I was a freak as I kept staring at him.
    His whole face, bone structure, size... feckin everything was the exact same as my mate! It was god damn scary to be honest! If it was a case of just meeting in town, I would have gone up and said hello thinking he was my mate.
    I really wanted to take a photo with my phone, but couldn't just do it and kinda feared for my safety if I tried (he probably knew I was staring at him at this stage... I'm sure that would have given him licence to come and clock me one).

So, did you ever see or meet someone that you were almost sure was a mate or family member? Did you tell them? Wht the heck do you say?
    'Hey, eh.... you look exactly like my mate!'
    'that's nice, now f&*k off!'

(no identical twins allowed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

yeah

YORE MA !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

The Al Lad wrote: »
    yeah

YORE MA !!!

She was an exact look-a-like of yore ma? That's sick, Ted. Sick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Years ago friends asked me why was I playing for some football team I have never heard of. My doppleganger ignored their shouts of hello.

True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭bassman22

I saw an exact lookalike of me once! was really freaky (no it wasn't a mirror!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

whiskeyman wrote: »

So, did you ever see or meet someone that you were almost sure was a mate or family member? Did you tell them? Wht the heck do you say?
    'Hey, eh.... you look exactly like my mate!'
    'that's nice, now f&*k off!'

(no identical twins allowed)

I started to talk to someone i thought was my mam
    soon found out it wasnt her:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

*bollix*

/ runs off to fix glitch in teh yorematrix before Iz getz lolfired.

OK, fixed - won't happen again.

Move along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

my brother was walking into town once when my ex's mother stopped to give him a lift thinkin it was me! she gave him a lift n all and asked him how he was and how he was keeping, etc, my brother of course didnt let on. when he told me we both p!ssed ourselves laughing and thought "lucky damn escape!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

You couldn't tell them. It'd just be weird for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

one day im going to be the first person in with "yore ma"! i can only dream ... aaahh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Now and again I see a woman who looks very like my mother. Never mistakenly spoke to her though, as Mum died 3 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Walking through arts block in college one day, a girl was sitting down, turned away from me, I thought it was my friend, looked very similar. I was going to put my foot near hr face so when she turned, she'd get a big fright, who knows, maybe even hit her face off my shoe:p(immature but hey!). Got all the way there to her unnoticed, about to lift my shoe, then realise its not actually her as I see my mate further in the distance. On a scale of 1 to awkward, I think that would have been a 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I worked on an ad last year. All went grand but when I viewed the tapes back I realised that one of the actresses in it looked exactly like an old girlfriend of mine. It was very strange because in person she didn't remind me of her really, but on screen she was scarily similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Im always getting texts off friends asking was i in a certain place at a certain time..
    I never am. theres some doppleganger around north dublin!!
    Also, my bf has a scary resemblance to a young paul mccartney. i swear his mother was a groupie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

When I was in spain 2 years ago I saw 2 people who were friends, walking, who both looked exactly like 2 of my friends. Twice as weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

Last year when I was at a gig, 2 girls came up and asked to have a photo taken with me because I was the spitting image of their brother.

I've had quite a few people tell me I look just like someone they know.... Always thought I was unique but clearly not! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

this happened to my dad one time one of my aunties swore she seen him in the town where she works and she was waving and waving and the doppleganger ignored her. so the next day my uncle married to the same aunt see's me dad driving past and doesnt wave...cos he thought my dad was the doppleganger :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

One of my mates from home was up and down to visit me in college alot and one day one of my class mates said "oh i saw paul there today" i texted him asking what the hell was he doing up here and he was working in tipperary. Not forgetting about it, it took me 3 months to find the guy who looked like my mate. same night that my mate was up. they stood beside each other and it was freaky as hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Amazing story reported in Irish Times today not a million miles from this topic

Essentially - girl works in shop - her best friend walks in but doesnt acknowledge the shopworker friend in any way. Shopworker friend gets the hump and calls customer friend that night to bitch. Customer friend says she doesnt know what shopworker friend is talking about - she's been out of town all day.:confused:

The next day, lookalike friend returns to the shop, shopworker holds her there while she calls her real friend at home - real friend comes running - comes face to face with her lookalike.

Between the jigs and the reels, turns out that the lookalike and the shopworker's friend were identical twins, but one of them had been mixed up with a third baby - so that that non twin and one of the id twins were raised as sisters, and the other twin was brought up alone.

The 3 are suing the hospital for compo for loss of identity and distress etc and have been offered the grand sum of ...........€700:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Thought I saw my girlfriend in college one day. Approached with her back facing me and went with the customary greeting of an ass pat.

It wasn't her :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭irishcrazyhorse

Was strolling through Cork city one day with my then girlfriend,when to girls come up and start screaming at me for cheating on there friend!
    It didnt matter what I said they wouldnt belive it wasnt me,it took 20 minutes to finally convince them and my girlfriend,had to go through certain dates when they saw me until they picked a concert that I was at with them ,thankfully I was at the same one,but with my girlfriend and just the two of us...

Girlfriend got interested in 3somes after that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

I've never actually met the person but in the video for Hardrock Hallelujia by Lordi the cheerleader at the start loks EXACTLY like one of my mates. they're absolutely identical!

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Well I have an identical twin, so it happens all the time. Although there is seemingly a third person who lives nearby who is the head off me. Poor handsome devil. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

MarkR wrote: »
    Well I have an identical twin, so it happens all the time. Although there is seemingly a third person who lives nearby who is the head off me. Poor handsome devil. :)

Indeed Mark, some of us have our crosses to bear;)

I've seen plenty of dopplegangers for friends of mine. Always tends to be on holidays as well ¬_¬ hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Saw a picture of a guy on google one day, it was out of a mexican magazine, he was the picture of one of my mate...freaky stuff!!!

Also, another mate of mine is very like Bam Margera!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Was on holidays in Italy years ago when I saw a girl I worked with. Was about to say hello when I realised it wasn't her.
    Started freaking me out when I kept seeing people every few weeks that looked like people I knew but weren't them.
    Then I realised they're all just zombie clones, so that's OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

I was walking down grafton st when I saw what I thought was my cousin. I walked up & started talking to him, him very bemused & with a country accent tells me I have the wrong person. I really thought he was putting it on & took the poor bloke about 5 mins to convince me otherwise. Very odd though especially considering he not only matched my cousins facial features perfectly, but also his build (very tall skinny chap) age, & even dress sense. He really was a doppleganger in every sense of the word. Thank god it was pre camera phone days or Im sure I wouldve demanded to take a pic of him. :p

I also went to college with a guy who was one of identical triplets. He had a lot of fun with that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

out in tramore as few years back with my family, and this boy who i thought was my brother ran past me, i was wondering where he was going so legged it after him , shouting his name and getting pissed off cause he wouldnt answer, caught up to him and caught him by the jumper and swung him around (i was a rough kid ) , then "he" started screaming , i realised it wasnt him :o , turned around and my brother and parents where standing there pissing themself laughing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

I once said, "Jaysus, I'd shag the hole of yer wan over there".
    Never copped it was my sister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

MikeySligo wrote: »

hahahaha!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

tribulus wrote: »
    Thought I saw my girlfriend in college one day. Approached with her back facing me and went with the customary greeting of an ass pat.

It wasn't her :o

best nelson voice
    HA HA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

i was leaving work one day with a mate of mine, we were walking through a shoppin centre when we seen another co-worker talking to her security boyfriend, mate proceeds to walk up behind her and give her an "almighty boot in the hole", she jumps about 2 feet and turns around but it wasn't the girl we knew at all. I nearly pissed me kacks laughin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

Yeah this happened me on the train. I was convinced 100% i'd seen a lad i used to hang around with in school. We were pretty good mates back then. So i was walking towards him on the carriage he was near the doors putting his stuff in his bag. So i was saying his name , waving and all the rest. No response. I noticed the headphones, so i gave him a gentle but firm boot up the hole (thats how sure i was it was him). Your man turned and gave me the filthiest and most confused look. I just said " **** wrong person,really sorry." Went bright red and moved to the next carriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

There's a picture of Tommy Lee Jones acting in some military play when he was about 18 and he is the spitting image of my brother when he was the same age. It's uncanny really. I've lost the photo since though.

My brother also had a doppleganger working in the Greyhound in Blanchardstown but he never met him himself as that can cause more damage than a large hadron collider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

MikeySligo wrote: »

lol, brilliant!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

I get mistaken for people, and told I look like people all the time, I don't know why, at least once a month someone will harrass me with that ****e.

From reading the rest of the thread I'd say the lesson is, no matter how sure you are that you know a person, just stop greeting them with either a kick or slap on the ass! It'd really save a lot of akwardness!