Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hmmm.... Issues

Options
  • 22-05-2008 10:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭

Hello, today in work I requested a raise for the second time. The person whom looks after such requests I only see maybe once a month.

I was unsuccessful with the first request, was given an option of going on commission (I work in sales, part time, but full time over the summer) This would see my hourly rate dropping considerably but the ability to gain a % of everything I sell. I didn't like that idea because as a college student working part time, I would simply not have enough hours to make even equal, nevermind more than the stardard flat rate. So I stuck with my normal wage. (If I did go on commission, I would stay on it, meaning I would make more over summer, but far, far, far less money when back in college)

The person I spoke to today (same guy obviously) said what I expected him to say tbh. "Well, as you know usually commission is the way of getting more cash, and in most other cases part timers generally do not get more than XYZ amount" But he seemed to ensure me he will definately look into it and consider it properly after he heard what I had to say.

I basically said working here 2 years come August,
    Very reliable
    Very good at what I do
    Almost always up for helping out if someone calls in sick etc.. (covering for them)
    I share more responsiblity than any other part timer in any other branch (I work in a large irish owned electrical retailer, 200ish employees, wont name though)

Basically was looking for advice as to how to react if: