Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mondeo on Crimecall

• 21-05-2008 11:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7,380 ✭✭✭

Just watching Crimecall there that I had recorded last night. I notice that they say a Mondeo involved in a robbery in Drumcondra last year was a '04/'05. However I think it is actually a pre '04 Zetec model. What do other people reckon? The wheels definitely look like those from the '00-'03 model, like this one ot this one
    zeteczi9.jpg

Just want to see if people agree with me before I ring them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

Well spotted Fletch! It looks like the original Mk3 Mondeo that came out in 2001, and lasted up until the end of 03 when it got its first facelift. The light and wheel design are the give-aways!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I reckon you own at least one anorak :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

I concur With E92

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭bwardrop

I concur with peasant :D !!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,218 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Great spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭JoeA3

The side repeaters on the later models were white too and not orange as the ones in that pic!

Where's my anorak?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Anoraks for everybody!!

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

You'd think the Guards would know themselves what kind of Mondeo it was, they drive enough of them. Wouldnt spot a turf in their tae!

Good Mondeo watching OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

to be fair, how's a Garda supposed to know that Mondeo Zetecs even exist!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

They specifically mentioned that it was a Platinum model - how would they have identified that?

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

jesus crimecall and mondeo spotting
    great craic
    good observation though!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,672 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

They specifically mentioned that it was a Platinum model - how would they have identified that?

I'm putting in my bid to get one of the Anoraks on offer :p

I'm not sure if it's just reflections or not, but it looks like there is a chrome strip at the bottom of the rear light cluster, and possibly at the bottom of the side windows.

From what I remember, the chrome strip was added to the spec in the mid life facelift.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,380 ✭✭✭fletch

Well I gave Crimecall a call last night, had to leave a message on an answering machine, I panicked and must have sounded so dodgy! lol Hope they don't think that I did the robbery!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

fletch wrote: »
    Well I gave Crimecall a call last night, had to leave a message on an answering machine, I panicked and must have sounded so dodgy! lol Hope they don't think that I did the robbery!

Please note that your IP address has been logged and your ISP contacted. "they" will be in touch shortly :pac::pac::pac:

Great spot though.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

thats as bad as Biddy crashing a mark5 escort which suddenly becamse a mark3 in glenroe years ago!

TheDriver wrote: »
    thats as bad as Biddy crashing a mark5 escort which suddenly becamse a mark3 in glenroe years ago!
    I remember that when I was a kid too :D ....as soon as it left the air, it travelled back in time and became a MkIII.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭JoeA3

haha, I remember that one too! Goes to show how low-budget Glenroe was, they couldn't afford to right off an Escort :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Lads, that mondeo has chrome below the rear light clusters, 01 mondeos didn't have those.
    or 02, or 03
    example:http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Ford/Mondeo/Saloon/1064288/

But it does have yellow side repeaters/

Confusing. But with the newer wheels and the chrome piece, I'm inclined to think it is 04/05 with new front driver's side wing after a bash

maoleary wrote: »
    Lads, that mondeo has chrome below the rear light clusters, 01 mondeos didn't have those.
    or 02, or 03
    It just looks like a reflection to me.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

fletch wrote: »
    It just looks like a reflection to me.....

On a dull day?

plus you have newer wheels. It could be a new wing with the old repeaters off another car.

Just my 2 cents.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

JoeA3 wrote: »
    haha, I remember that one too! Goes to show how low-budget Glenroe was, they couldn't afford to right off an Escort :)

They used one of the A teams gags, a pipe ramp! The car took off few metres before it even went near the tractor it hit! Poor Biddy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

maoleary wrote: »
    or 02, or 03

But it does have yellow side repeaters/

Confusing. But with the newer wheels and the chrome piece, I'm inclined to think it is 04/05 with new front driver's side wing after a bash
    Those wheels were standard equipment on the original pre facelift Mk3 Mondeo Zetec. AFAIK the 04 facelift brought about a different wheel design for Zetec Mondeos, like this one

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Busarus

I too had the crimecall programme taped, meant to tape Desparate Housewives but got the wrong programme.... Anyway , the car they described was a Ford Mondeo Zetec, platinum in colour , they didn't actually say platinum model.. I had a 2005 model and its the same as the one they showed. The one you are compairing it too, isn't colour coded and my friend works in Ford Ireland and he concurs that it is what they say it is on the tv

Busarus wrote: »
    I had a 2005 model and its the same as the one they showed. The one you are compairing it too, isn't colour coded and my friend works in Ford Ireland and he concurs that it is what they say it is on the tv
    The 2005 Zetec had 7 spoke alloy wheels and clear indicator lenses(Here's a few examples 1, 2, 3. The 2000-2003 Zetec had 9 spoke alloy wheels and orange indicator lenses. The car on the CCTV has 9 spoke alloys wheels and orange indicator lenses.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

the 04/05 mondeo has the metalic strip under the rear light cluster and also had the door trim, where as the 06 doesn't. What shape are the fog lights? if they are round then it is the pre face lift model, if rectangular then it is the, 04/05 facelift model, but pre '06 facelift.

they was also the option for several different type of alloys for the car, but these would seem to be the mk II Mondeo type. Rear lifht cluster may have been changed after an accident and "upgraded" to facelift type.