Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

APAT Irish Amateur Championship - Fitzwilliam - June 14th & 15th

• 21-05-2008 9:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 34

Seats are now on sale for the Irish Amateur Poker Championship, being held at the Fitzwilliam Card Club in Dublin from 2.30pm on June 14th & 15th.

Boards poster JacQues Kieft won the event in 2007 and you can review the event via this Sky Sports TV report:-

http://www.apat.com/forum/index.php?topic=1324.0

Tournament details follow:

1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.)

The APAT Poker Association & Tour

2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.)

The event is non commercial and players will not have to pay a registration fee.

3. Date and Location of event

June 14th & 15th at the Fitzwilliam Card Club in Dublin.

4. Registration and Start time of event.

Play commences at 2.30pm sharp on both days. Registration is now available from the home page at www.apat.com.

5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc)

Players are required to be members of APAT. Free membership is available via our home page at www.apat.com.

6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.)

A limited number of seats are available from the website.

7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)

The event is a No Limit Hold'em freezeout. Players will start with 10,000 chips with 40 minute levels being played throughout.

8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.

Cost of entry is £75 (approximately 94 Euro at today's exchange rate).

9. Cost of registration

The event is registration free.

10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund

100%.

11. Any guarenteed prize pool.

The field size is 140 runners and the event will not feature a guaranteed prize pool. However, there is added value in the shape of an expenses paid entry to a GUKPT event, worth approximately $3,000.

12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.

N/A.

13. Starting Chips

14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.

N/A

15. Blind levels

Level Blinds Level Start Clock Level Finish Break Race Notes
    1 25 / 50 14:30 40:00 15:10
    2 50 / 100 15:10 40:00 15:50
    3 75 / 150 15:50 40:00 16:30
    4 100 / 200 16:30 40:00 17:10 00:10 Break
    5 150 / 300 17:20 40:00 18:00
    6 200 / 400 18:00 40:00 18:40
    7 300 / 600 18:40 40:00 19:20 01:00 Dinner
    8 400 / 800 20:20 40:00 21:00
    9 600 / 1200 21:00 40:00 21:40
    10 800 / 1600 21:40 40:00 22:20
    11 1000 / 2000 22:20 40:00 23:00 00:10 Break
    12 1500 / 3000 23:10 40:00 23:50
    13 2000 / 4000 23:50 40:00 00:30
    14 3000 / 6000 00:30 40:00 01:10

16. Blind timeframes

40 minutes per level

17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)

The top ten percent will be paid and there is an added GUKPT package for the winner.

18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill

The tournament will be fully dealer dealt by the Fitzwilliam.

19. Will there be a documented list of rules

The event will run to APAT standardised rules, a copy of which can be found on our website.

20. Is there a tournament director

The event will be run by the Fitzwilliam, with APAT management available for consultation on any potential issues.

21. How are disputes handled - who has final say.

The TD at the Fitzwilliam will have the final say on all matters related to tournament play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Looks good. I shall get registering

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

i was sorry I missed this last year so I've registered good and early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I haven't played a Live tournament since this one last year, and I'm gonna play again. Also for anyone who wants to get on the HMDB. This is a nice a cheap way to try, my final table last year got me on there.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Ste05 wrote: »
    I haven't played a Live tournament since this one last year, and I'm gonna play again. Also for anyone who wants to get on the HMDB. This is a nice a cheap way to try, my final table last year got me on there.... :D

You lucky king high fish as I recall!! :p

ollyk1 wrote: »
    You lucky king high fish as I recall!! :p
    Can't say I remember that one... ;)

I do however remember the guy that came second sucking out on me pretty badly on the final table, when he was AI and I covered him, had that hand gone the other way, I'd think I'd have come in the top 3...

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Same weekend as the Waterford Open unfortunately, so I won't be playing this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

nevermind, maybe inski

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭I-Bleed-White

I play alot of holdem with my mates and play alot of online tourneys which are obviously vastly differant to live. Would this be over my head or would it be worth a punt. Is there tolerence for people new to live?

Of course there is. Don't worry about playing bad or feeling out of your depth. Most people suck in anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭I-Bleed-White

cooker3 wrote: »
    Of course there is. Don't worry about playing bad or feeling out of your depth. Most people suck in anyway

Thanks mate

Yep, there's loads of terrible players in this thing, some of them even travelled over from the UK, it's good craic and very newbie friendly.

Also the difference between Live and Online isn't as big as you'd expect, once you get comfortable at the table, handling the chips and keeping an eye on when it's your turn to act etc. etc.. Less than an hour and you'll be flying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Bring headphones to drown out the clapping every time someone gets knocked out, put me on life tilt for 6 months last year that did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

lol,
    Martin was first out last year and everyone clapped, I thought he was gonna hit someone. He didn't realise that they clapped when people got knocked out.

We'll be in Waterford, pity cause its a great value tournament.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 APAT

Ste05 wrote: »
    Yep, there's loads of terrible players in this thing, some of them even travelled over from the UK, it's good craic and very newbie friendly.

Also the difference between Live and Online isn't as big as you'd expect, once you get comfortable at the table, handling the chips and keeping an eye on when it's your turn to act etc. etc.. Less than an hour and you'll be flying.

Unfortunately (fortunately?) there are loads of terrible players in every NLHE event run, whatever the buy in. But there are loads of very good players also, and APAT had 4 on the final table of the last GUKPT event, the winner of the last GBPT event, the runner up in the WSOPE main event, chipleader of the WSOP Razz with two tables to go and players who have cashed in WPT and EPT's and won online majors like the Sunday Million. No matter whether these guys are good or not so good though, Stephen is right in that it's a very friendly introduction to tournament poker with a big event feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭pierce hard

gonna play this, sounds good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

Can you pay cash on the day or at the desk in the Fitz?

max_power wrote: »
    Can you pay cash on the day or at the desk in the Fitz?

Nic has 15 seats to allocate via the Fitzwilliam and I'm not sure of his plans for those.

The remainder of the seats will be completely sold out today.

There is one other way to secure seats and that is via the APAT Seat Exchange board. The only stipulation being that seats get sold at face value.

http://www.apat.com/forum/index.php?board=37.0

Thanks to everyone who has supported the event and bought seats.

The event is full and a list of direct buy ins can be found here

Late entry may be possible via the APAT Seat Exchange.

Good luck to everyone taking part.

This event is completely sold out and a list of direct buy ins can be found here. Additional seats have been sold through 14 APAT Regional qualifiers and Online sats.

Late entry may be possible via the APAT Seat Exchange. In addition, the Fitzwilliam have a further 15 seats to allocate and Nic Ryan can be contacted for details.

Good luck to everyone taking part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Get In There

Anyone playing this??? I'm donating. Shud be fun!

For those who havent got a ticket theres hope for you yet!!

http://www.apat.com/forum/index.php?topic=1573.0

ill be playing this, although half 2 is a very early start :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

hmm, i should really try to pay more attention to what's going on. Any of you want to pull out and give me your seat?

go onto the apat website and there is a seat exchange forum. i think there are seats still available.

Yup, gonna give that a go. so much for my break from live poker

I better do well in this. Have to wake up at 1 or some god forsaken hour like that. Man it's a tough life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭digiman

I'll be there too, I will most likely be the very hungover person, heading out on the beer shortly

in!

see y'all there...

Just home from this. Excellent structure. Got put at a table of some of the nittiest nits i've every played with. In the 1st 3 levels i think i opened more hands than the rest of the table put together. Motored along until i got moved tables. Had 36k in chips at the 400/800 level, managed to get it all in with AK vs AJ against the other big stack at the table to put me back to an avergae stack. Had i won that pot it'd have put me into the chip lead, or near enough to it from what i can gather about the current stacks. :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I missed this again! I wonder did that guy with my name reg again...Got lots of messages saying see you there last year.

I played in this, got knocked out in 21st, they were playing down to 20 players so was a bit sick. The top 16 were going to get paid as well. My AJ was no good against 8J bvb. It turned into a crapshoot at the end as average stack was 10bb and most players at my table had less than this.
    My first table which I was on for about 5-6 hours had 4 dead stacks so were playing 6 handed for the whole time and even 4 handed for a long time too. This suited me grand as the table was the tightest I had ever played at, I was playing I would imagine 40/38 and was up to the 35k when the biggest pot I had won was 4.5k. The guy who was bb when I was sb folded 6 times in a row to me when I raised from the sb!!! Shortly after that I lost a 36k pot when AJ was no good vs 7d8d on an Ad3d3x flop when all the money went in on the flop. Had to fold JJ when I raised it UTG and the BB 3b me. Other than that I had no interesting hands or really tough decisions at all.
    Enjoyed the tournament and the Fitz ran it well with a good selection of food at the break and loads of bars and drinks throughout the tournament. Was kind of annoying having to clap for everyone when they got knocked out but thats just something that they do!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Get In There

digiman wrote: »
    Was kind of annoying having to clap for everyone when they got knocked out but thats just something that they do!!

Couldnt agree anymore!!!!

digiman wrote: »
    Was kind of annoying having to clap for everyone when they got knocked out but thats just something that they do!!

QFT
    Never really got going in mine. I had 3500 with 10 minutes to break and got told dinner break was an hour long. I had no intention of hanging around for an hour with 9bb so I went for a double up or bust strategy and I got the latter.
    Nicely run tournament though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭murph01

Got heads up in this after grinding away on the final table.
    When we got heads up he had nearly a 4 to 1 chip lead,managed to double up early and take the chip lead but with blinds of 25k-50k it became a bit of a push fest,got it all in with a6 only to run into a7
    and on a board of q 10 8 2 was looking good to chop the pot but a 4 on the river and a 2nd place finish.Was happy with how i played but gutted i didnt take the title cause i felt i had the beating of him.
    Have to say it was a really good tourney for the buy in,great atmosphere and fairly decent standard in the latter stages.
    Have to agree this buisiness of clapping everytime someone gets knocked out is really annoying :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

murph01 wrote: »
    When we got heads up he had nearly a 4 to 1 chip lead,managed to double up early and take the chip lead but with blinds of 25k-50k it became a bit of a push fest,got it all in with a6 only to run into a7
    and on a board of q 10 8 2 was looking good to chop the pot but a 4 on the river and a 2nd place finish.Was happy with how i played but gutted i didnt take the title cause i felt i had the beating of him.
    Have to say it was a really good tourney for the buy in,great atmosphere and fairly decent standard in the latter stages.
    Have to agree this buisiness of clapping everytime someone gets knocked out is really annoying :D:D:D

Wow,
    I didn't realise you were a Boardsie, congragulations and well played. I saw one of your hole cards, that time when it was 3 handed and you had pocket 4's.... It was a good lay down, the other guy looked quite comfortable. You played shortstack very well 3 handed and had great patience... Again unlucky with your exit hand, bet it's the first time ya got a medal from Playing poker....

Again well done.

smurph wrote: »
    Wow,
    I didn't realise you were a Boardsie, congragulations and well played. I saw one of your hole cards, that time when it was 3 handed and you had pocket 4's.... It was a good lay down, the other guy looked quite comfortable. You played shortstack very well 3 handed and had great patience... Again unlucky with your exit hand, bet it's the first time ya got a medal from Playing poker....

Again well done.

Thanks Colette,i was nearly going to push with the 4's but everytime he raised he seemed to have a hand so i just called his raise and if i spiked a 4 i was getting paid off.
    Ye 1st time to get a medal for poker but i would have preferred that shinny silver cup :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

well done, hard luck not to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭RichardB2

Great value tournament this,
    well worth the effort for a cheap deep-stack event.

Well played Murph, ya did everything right & deserved the result.

Limped onto the final two-tables shortstacked
    & returned on day two to bust out 1st hand on a race :mad:
    Davey Smith was the only other Dublin regular on day two,
    over played 2nd pair to bust circa 15th.

murph01 wrote: »

Well done man, great result, was hoping you would go on and win it but very well played.

Thanx for the support lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Golden Drew

well done lad, u busted me with bout 90 left, when u check-raised me all in on Jd-3d-2d flop with pocket 4s against my Jc-Kh, u hit ur flush on turn with 6d, ya jammy f*k :D. Nice to see ya went nearly all d way, hard luck..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

UL bob.
    Was rooting for you from the Champs-Élysées

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ok just back from paris, what the hell is the Champs-Élysées, I just thought it was the arc or an area or something? It was the road was it?

It's the big long avenue that arc d' triomphe overlooks.
    600 points in LC doesn't teach you everything hey :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Ok just back from paris, what the hell is the Champs-Élysées, I just thought it was the arc or an area or something? It was the road was it?

LOL yeah cooker is right the Champs Elysees is the avenue leading up to the Arc de Triumpe.
    Just back from there meself Tar ;)

Heh, thanks, I was on the avenue going where is the Champs-Élysées, I've heard so much about it, does this ****ty long road lead to it? :D
    After walking 7 miles there, I want better than a road heh.

What a fantastic city imo, great time there.