Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 4x16 - "Wilson's Heart (Part 2)" [Spoilers Within]

• 20-05-2008 9:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭

Suprised this isn't up already so..
    TV.com wrote:
    In the aftermath of the bus accident, House struggles with his head injuries and short-term memory loss, and must remember the symptom he saw before one of their own, who was on the bus with House, dies.

So what did we think? I always thought 'House' really knew how to do a finale.. not always a cliffhanger persé but enough of a conflict to tie us over for Summer. And this year was no exception!

An absolutely heart-wrenching episode, with a stupendous turn from Robert Sean Leonard (Wilson).
    I will admit to getting choked up when Amber was woken up temporarily up until Wilson turned off her machines.

The music in the episode was fantastic too from the alternate 'Teardrop' by Jose Gonzalez down to the gorgeous Iron & Wine track 'Passing Afternoon' over the montage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

*cries*

Awww

Good episode, I think the first half was better though. This one though was good.

Just to run off the things I liked.

1. The red herring everyone jumped on to at the last episode being played up until the end.
    and the revelation that House is actually very loyal to wilson

2. Foreman being *even more* like House.

3. Wilson was fantastic throughout.

4. They finally did something with thirteen (I was convinced she was gonna be fired by the end of the episode).

5. Pretty much everyone (except chase and cameron) got their backstory pushed a bit further along the plotline.

I have only one tiny teeny complaint.

The ending song was a bit off for me. when the line was said *you cant always get what you want* I was convinced they were gonna keep up the house tradition of playing the stones. But alas no :(

Theories for season 5?
    surprised Wilson wasnt fired at the end of the episode, (yes I am on a fire them all rant) I guess it would look really off with him just suffering a lost, but I am guessing start of next season Cuddy will rip him a new one for putting House in a Coma. Dont know if they are gonna stick with the current ducks or bring cameron/chase back in, they were really struggling to keep them involved the last few episodes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

*******Spoilers and no spoiler tags***********

Heart wrenchingly good. I havent almost cried since Jericho...

I too liked how it turns out House is loyal, assumed it from the start though. Too obvious an assumtion.

Slightly annoyed they killed off a main charachter when 95% of their episodes are randomers who they can save!!

Cuddy is always there for House.. I wonder what they're trying to do/say with that. Poor Wilson though.. it was really so so sad. And what about 13, having Huntingtons?! Maybe the test was wrong? Erk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

This my first time posting on the House forum. I had to discuss that episode. I thought it was amazing. I think Wilson's character is brilliant, and it was great performance from Robert Sean Leonard.

I like how the season ended. Not with a "what happened next?" cliffhanger but rather one where you wonder how the characters will develop. I don't think Wilson will be angry with House. After all, House nearly killed himself for Amber. I'd be inclined to think House won't change either - not much anyway. The scenes with Wilson & Amber were brilliantly done. I also thought it was interesting how much Cuddy was at House's side after he woke up.

Ahh, I freakin' love House. What a program.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Oh man.. that was so sad :(
    Why did all that have to happen to Wilson, of all the characters!
    As much as House sacrificed to try and save Amber... she was only in that position because of him in the first place.. Even if Wilson had been the one on the bus, she would have been fine, poor Wilson! :(

No Cameron for the entire episode? Was that even her at the end? Her face seemed obscured..

Almost cried when Wilson first broke down! I kept expecting House to have another dream, figure out the wonder-diagnosis, but be too late, there was noway they were saving Amber after all those scenes with waking her up etc.!

Great episode...

Why is everyone using spoiler tags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

doonothing wrote: »
    Almost cried when Wilson first broke down!

I was already 10 minutes into the tears by that point. *sniffle*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

doonothing wrote: »
    Why is everyone using spoiler tags?
    Just used spoiler tags because it was the opening post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Brilliant episode, a lot different from Part 1. Where it lacked the mystery and intrigue of last week's, it made of for with some truly moving performances.

All of the scenes between Amber and Wilson were outstanding and as people have mentioned, Robert Sean Leonard put in a great performance. I thought because the diagnosis was made relatively early in the episode that they would find a cure, I was surprised when she actually died.

As for 13, I couldn't believe she tested positive for Huntington's, I thought that was going to serve as the one bit of optimism in the episode. Is she going to be on her way out? I don't really know anything about the disease, so can't really guess which way they'll take that.
    Tom65 wrote:
    I don't think Wilson will be angry with House. After all, House nearly killed himself for Amber.

I think because of the final scene with Wilson looking in on House and turning around when he woke up, the start of Season 5 will definitely deal with their broken friendship.
    Jesjes wrote: »
    Cuddy is always there for House.. I wonder what they're trying to do/say with that.
    Tom65 wrote: »
    I also thought it was interesting how much Cuddy was at House's side after he woke up.

This stood out for me as well, though I thought I might be looking into it too much. There was a part near the end where the camera panned on them holding hands for a couple of seconds. But of course he was on the verge of death, so there may not be much to it.

Overall I was happy with Season 4. Even though it was only 16 episodes long it felt a lot longer, because of the amount of breaks we've had to endure. Fair play to the writers for dealing well with the strike, and roll on Season 5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭aequinoctium

great episode, and series.

wilson should get over it - it was an accident after all

house and cuddy will probably flirt in a more serious way in next series, maybe a date which could end either way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Mehh

Maybe Wilson's gona leave the hospital, after that lot maybe he won't be able to work with House anymore, and he'll end up just making to odd appearence.

Anyhow I donno what he was getting so worked up about, sure he was only going out with the woman for a matter of weeks, you'd think he knew the weapon all his life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Was he not going out with her for a few months?

EDIT: Guess not!
    Wikipedia wrote:
    Pressured by House, Wilson lied in saying that they had been dating for a few months after House fired her. In fact it had only been a couple of weeks.

Anyways,

[cheese]Matters of the heart should not be subject to a lifespan![/cheese]

** commence vomiting **

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

i thought it was a great episode, not as good as the first part but its still house and it i dont think i have been disapointed by an episode yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I thought it was a fantastic episode. I really thought they'd find a cure though, i didn't expect her to die.

Excellent performance from Robert Sean Leonard.

But as a season finale I was a bit disappointed. There was no real clifhanger, maybe if they had left House in a coma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I loved this episode. Overall, it was a great 2 part finale, which will either improve or strain existing relationships in the show (mainly strain!). I'm not sure it needed a dramatic cliffhanger though - the consequences of this episode already imply "To be continued.."

Roll on season 5.

On an aside, anyone know what that tune was just before Amber and House had their final dream chat near the end?

Edit: Never mind, found it. Its "Light For The Deadvine" by "People In Planes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I've been avoiding this forum like the plague for the last few weeks cause we only got the last two episodes last night as a double bill and you feckers have left out spoiler tags all over the shop! :p

Cracking finale, and I have to say I almost shed a tear. The missus was ballin. Seriously moving stuff. The music was great imo and really added to the 'big' scenes. Only downside was a lack of Cameron!

Overall really enjoyed the episodes, getting to see them back to back was the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

unfort I'm still waiting to see all of this........dammit

box set from the US might be called for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

And only about 9-10 weeks to Season 5 i cannot wait.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

just remembered this is the 2nd house season finale where we spent most of it in his head (season 2 aswell.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

ah! just saw this! watchin in nz, so we're a bit behind, but at the end of this episode, were trailers for the first in season 5, so i guess they're not gonna force us into waiting for too long...

but WOW! i can't believe it! amber! but... and.. 13! and... wow, i can't believe it, just had to come on and discuss it iwth *someone*!

i can't imagine wilson getting pissed at house for too long, but there will definitely be a strain in the friendship. but seriously 'so you want me to risk my life for amber'. 'yes'. 'ok'. ****, you can't argue with that kind of friendship and loyalty.

kinda never quite occurred to me that 13 wouldnt have huntingtons.
    but NEVER saw the amber thing coming.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

No spoilers, but in recent episodes, doesnt Wilson seem a bit "over it"...