Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mpg / wmv playback in fedora 9

• 20-05-2008 6:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭

Howya lads,

Long time windows admin, short time linux user. Finally completed a 4 year project (of trying and giving up) installing linux on my home machine... each time i ran into problems with drivers and just gave up!

anyway, I got fedora up and running... its a nice OS i suppose aside from having to /sbin/* for most useful command line tools.

my problem really is totem, i installed the youtube codec no bother but any codec for wmv/mpg i get prompted to pay for a codec! not very open source indeed! I read that livna (aka vlc) may resolve my problems but after installing it i couldnt find it anywhere on the application list nor could i launch it from the shell.

what media player do you guys use? and how easy was it to install correctly?

Oh, im using gnome.

Andy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

You can get the codecs from the mplayer website. Have a google. Not sure what the craic is with fedora specifically, but you can be sure that lots and lots of people have faced this issue before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

Did you try VLC? It seems to play everything I throw at it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,385 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

ethernet wrote: »
    I agree. In both Windows & Ubuntu i've only had to install VLC and i've been able to play pretty much any video i want..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

Khannie wrote: »
    You can get the codecs from the mplayer website. Have a google. Not sure what the craic is with fedora specifically, but you can be sure that lots and lots of people have faced this issue before.

Mplayer wont launch, that is i have it installed but when i attempt to launch it it does nothing... strange.
    ethernet wrote: »

i was under the impression vlc was livna and reverse, at least that is what the website said to me: http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-fedora.html

how do you launch vlc once installed should it appear in the menu? i have tried vlc from shell under my user and root but nada!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

Try installing it from Fedora's package manager instead. Yes, the version might be older but at least you'll know of any problems with dependencies. Did you try executing <path_to_location>/wxvlc?

Your own distro's packages are a lot more likely to create the relevant entries in system menus for any apps you install. Programs you install from source don't tend to do this as often but creating entries for any apps you install is trivial anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

after messing around with kaffene, xine and a rake of other lovely stuff it somehow started to work...

I wont question the gods of linux, I guess they are a little slow in delivering but never hold out on there miracles.

thanks for the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 thejetset

cance wrote: »
    ...its a nice OS i suppose aside from having to /sbin/* for most useful command line tools.

Have you tried adding /sbin to $PATHS ?? that should help and sudo is good too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

I agree. In both Windows & Ubuntu i've only had to install VLC and i've been able to play pretty much any video i want..

I've just installed the latest Ubuntu as the only operating system on an auld laptop (IBM Thinkpad T40) I had lying around.I've been using VLC for a couple of years now andcouldn't fault it, superb bit of software.

Now I'm looking to install VLC on the laptop with Ubuntu but can't find the proper installation file.I've tried going down this route but can't add the source.

https://launchpad.net/~c-korn/+archive/vlc

Can anyone here point me in the right direction ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭ravydavygravy

i know its an old thread, but just in case other fedora users are interested -this guy always does good post-install guides (setting up useful repos, getting all the extra bits and bobs working)

http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-f11.html

Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭slowlydownwards

I've just installed the latest Ubuntu as the only operating system on an auld laptop (IBM Thinkpad T40) I had lying around.I've been using VLC for a couple of years now andcouldn't fault it, superb bit of software.

Now I'm looking to install VLC on the laptop with Ubuntu but can't find the proper installation file.I've tried going down this route but can't add the source.

https://launchpad.net/~c-korn/+archive/vlc

Can anyone here point me in the right direction ?

sudo apt-get install vlc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Got it sorted thanks to an excellent post on youtube. Made it painless. Easy when you know how