Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Party

• 15-05-2008 6:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

I was wondering could anyone give me any tips with regards to throwing a small (50-100ppl) “free party”. I remember we used to have lads put them on out in Donabate, on the dunes which were great fun but I was only 14 or 15 at the time.
    I was wondering what is involved if hypothetically I had a decent fund (whatever that may be for this scenario) and how I should go about it. i.e. what order of events,( location, soundsystem, decorations, tell everybody etc etc)
    I must emphasize that this is only a small ordeal and I do think I have a location, (small warehouse) secured. Also could anyone tell me what risks I am facing in this venture?
    Has anyone any experience in this field?
    Also as a matter of interest is there still, or has there been any significant free party scene in north Dublin?

Thanks in advance lads……… Rob
    I was wondering could anyone give me any tips with regards to throwing a small (50-100ppl) “free party”. I remember we used to have lads put them on out in Donabate, on the dunes which were great fun but I was only 14 or 15 at the time.
    I was wondering what is involved if hypothetically I had a decent fund (whatever that may be for this scenario) and how I should go about it. i.e. what order of events,( location, soundsystem, decorations, tell everybody etc etc)
    I must emphasize that this is only a small ordeal and I do think I have a location, (small warehouse) secured. Also could anyone tell me what risks I am facing in this venture?
    Has anyone any experience in this field?
    Also as a matter of interest is there still, or has there been any significant free party scene in north Dublin?

Thanks in advance lads……… Rob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,230 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Rule number 1 - Do not publicise it on public internet message boards. The guards will get wind of it and worse still, so will every Tom, Dick and Anto. All of a sudden your 50-100 will be closer to 1000 with a lot of undesirables

If you do get to keep it under wraps and get it going fair play. Im not too sure about the technical side of things but do remember the golden...

Rule number 2 - Clean the place up after ya. Dont go ruining it for everyone else by leaving a mess.

Finally if you do get any questions/hassle from the guards. Be sensible, dont be a smart ass, or come across spoiling for a fight - you'll lose. Be co-operative (to a point) and try to reason with them.

Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

leave it till late as possible before notifying everyone about location before its all over the net and read last few pages of the asylum thread ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 RobM-C

yeh i plan on keeping a pretty tight ship,with regards litter, disturbance and such, well so i hope anyway. with regards to a soundsystem, what kind of power am i looking at for roughly 100ppl , or at worst 50 ppl. i have a mate with a decent p.a. not sure of power and i have a few subs, but if these are not powerful enough should i rent? i am planning on renting lights as they are cheap and the crowd coming are a very trusted group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

wouldnt have a clue on the technical side :confused:
    but best of luck with it anyway yeah :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

No way would I rent mate if you get caught by the Guards they will take the equipment and you wont get it back.
    And you could be stuck with a hefty bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 RobM-C

any idea on power???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

I am just guessing but a 2,000 watt generator might be ok..But if you are going to have loads of lights,speakers etc maybe 5000 but I dont have a clue really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,471 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

10W per person outside, less inside. Bass-heavy 2-to-1 bass versus high/mid, for outside, 4-3 for inside, unless you've an odd shaped room. 2.5kVA jenny unless you're running motors which will pull heavier load kVA (not necessarily W) Lights on a separate jenny, for bigger setups, cos lights are heavier on power. Get a voltage regulated jenny, to stop the "waving sound", diesel to stop freaks lighting things with petrol (no joke, been there...) There's many many many more rules than this but thats the technical info for you. People I know run everything they do at at least 20W per person (schmutzig, for example) which leads to nicer sound....blah blah blah.

Thats for a totally legal party, on your own private land with your own guests etc etc etc...cos I dont condone illegal parties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,471 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

Oh and get off the net.