Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Us Taxi Drivers are Protesting again

• 15-05-2008 1:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭

http://irishtaxi.org/?p=624
    So off you go
    dump on us again!
    We'll take you home again, pissed at 3am and listen to your drivel with no complaints as usual

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

I don't think your allowed limit entry into a market like this as it's against EU competition laws, would be the same as Super Valu protesting that a new Tesco opened up. Not sure if the government can do anything for you whether they want to or not, perhaps they could implement a difficult theory test for new and existing drivers and this would improve the overall quality of the drivers and get rid of the amateurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

You talkin' to me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

So off you go
    dump on us again!
    We'll take you home again, pissed at 3am and listen to your drivel with no complaints as usual
    Yeah, nice attitude to get people on-side ffs.

Greedy bastards taxi drivers were before de-regulation.

And still, most of the new ones won't work poxy nights.

I live in Coolock, and still have to walk to at least Connolly Station for a taxi home from town on a weekend night.

They should issue "night" taxi licences tbh, because most of the idiots who have licences now won't work at night, at the weekend.

Clowns, I hvae zero sympathy for you.

So off you go
    dump on us again!

You do realise that taxi drivers talk a lot of crap as well, right? Nothing worse than finishing at work at 3am and having some eejit trying to make conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

So off you go
    dump on us again!

You make it sound as if the customer should be in debt to you.Yeah I'll sit in the taxi at 3am, pissed, wishing you'd shut the fcuk up because I really don't care how busy or quiet it is for you, the guy who dodged a fare or the child who got sick all over your car. Plus the fact the amount you charge for the sheer honor of a 10 minute drive in your taxi would fuel my car for 2 days straight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭roy123456789

DesF wrote: »

I live in Coolock, and still have to walk to at least Connolly Station for a taxi home from town on a weekend night.

They should issue "night" taxi licences tbh, because most of the idiots who have licences now won't work at night, at the weekend.

I find nasty bastard attitude gets the most reaction :)

you're right.... it gets busy for an hour or two on (some) Friday and Saturday nights, this must make me 1000s eh?

Who gives a toss what happened before de-regulation?
    most of us are living in the here and now and all but 2500 of the 24,000 taxis on the streets weren't around then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

So off you go
    dump on us again!

Oh good youre not protesting then?

Seriously dont feed me that pedantic crap. I get enough from Hillary and Barack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

+1 million

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

So off you go
    dump on us again!

Well, if you insist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 yeshi

So off you go
    dump on us again!

I'd like to think so considering the rates us customers have to pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

walk home then

Tigger wrote: »
    walk home then

Why should I?

yeshi wrote: »
    Why should I?
    If you are going to complain about the price, it's a bit silly to be complaining about using the service.

It's not a necessity, there is a fightlink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

So off you go
    dump on us again!

Do you want some salt and vinegar for that chip on your sholder?

Maybe if taxi drivers stopped picking and choosing customers, stopped blasting past with their lights on etc than I'd support your protest. To me, complaining about no work is just double standards.

And, maybe you don't, but the only drivel I hear in a taxi is about the state of our legal system, or how **** a job random politician is doing

Tell you what chappa, I'll pay you when you get me home safe. Nevermind it was a Taxi driver that dropped my albeit drunk stepmother off 2 miles short of our rural home in piss poor weather in december 06' - shes dead now thanks :mad: - but the last time I got into a taxi of my own free will the fúcker just had to be on his mobile phone and nearly got us into a car accident.

You's aren't worth my time or money or life I'm afraid. At least, not your type, the begrudging ones that don't belong in the position.

Muff_Daddy wrote: »
    Maybe if taxi drivers stopped picking and choosing customers, stopped blasting past with their lights on etc than I'd support your protest. To me, complaining about no work is just double standards.
    Yep, taxis drive past me on a daily basis with lights on.

Sometimes the clowns even have passangers in the car, these piss me off the most.

Then, you do get one, and he spends the journey pointing out the females in short skirts. Yes you perving, sweaty old bastard, you only picked me up because there wasn't one of them hailing you at the time.

And this "no work" bollox.

Pull the other one will you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

So off you go
    dump on us again!

just as a matter of interest if you are complaining about having to take people home why are you in the job in the first place.

Also as stated before I generally sit in taxis wishing the driver would STFU

Check out this journey.

Town to Coolock

O'Connell Street (one "lucky" night I got one there).

Around by Busaras, out the Northstrand to Fairview.

LEFT before Fairview, up the Richmond Road, onto the Grace Park, out to Whitehall.

In through Santry / Beaumount.

Eventually getting to Coolock police station where the copper told me to get out, pay the fare and walk home. A pair of **** I got that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

sympathy he's lloking for?:D

most ignorant fcukers on the roads, pulling out in front of people and not letting anyone out in turn.

moaning fcukers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The problem is not that there are too many taxi drivers, it's that they seem to think that they can ignore simple economics and take to the road when it suits them, rather than when the demand is there.

In order to become a taxi driver, there should be 3 conditions:
    1. All taxis need to be covered by a taxi plate.
    2. All drivers need to have a PSV licence.
    3. All drivers need to pay a yearly licencing fee. The licence covers them to drive at certain times of the day.

On point number 3, the licences could be broken into day/night or peak/off-peak, and/or weekday/weekend. Ideally, I would say that they should be broken into 6-hour slots:
    10pm to 4am, 4am to 10am, 10am to 4pm and 4pm to 10pm.

Off-peak licences should be more expensive than peak licences, and if you want to work around the clock, you need to pay for one of each licence. Drivers caught working outside of their licenced hours should be banned from taxi-ing for the rest of the year and fined €2k.

That'll sort em out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

jsb wrote: »
    just as a matter of interest if you are complaining about having to take people home why are you in the job in the first place.

Also as stated before I generally sit in taxis wishing the driver would STFU

well if you had a cash in hand job where you pay the minimum tax regardless of what you earn then give out to everyone unfortunate enough to get in your dirty old car wouldnt you do it. oh and pick your hours, fares and customers!

Its sad, the OP gives a bad name to the good few. But there are just so many bad ones out there.

If you are going to complain about the price, it's a bit silly to be complaining about using the service.

You assume that it was a complaint.....
    It's not a necessity, there is a fightlink.

I already know that but thanks anyway. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

didn't you lot do that protesting at lunch time a few weeks ago. Christ you gave me a worse headache than you lot always do. i know if i was in a low paying job and had a mortgage i wouldn't spend the day beeping my horn around the city I'd be out taking all the work from those guys that are beeping the horns. and if it was still uneconomical for me to be a taxi driver I'd probably do what other people do and get a better paying job.

@ DesF that bloke that took you to Coolock must have been the same block that tried to take me to swords on new years eve. I was on the Malahide road at donneycarney instead of turning onto Collins ave he starts heading to coolock :eek: when i say it to him he grunts then comes off the Malahide road at the goblet, me being a coolock lad think nothing wrong with this he can head up the kilmore road to north side. Hell no he continues straight out skellys lane and is heading out the Beaumont road. When i said it to him he said "you said you wanted to go the motor way" to which i replied " yeah you dumb f*ck that was way back in donneycarney when it actually made sense, buy a gps and let me out" refused to pay the swine too. told him if he had an issue he could call the Gardai, strange he just let it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Am I correct in thinking that this "protest" is by taxi drivers who are complaining that there are too many taxi drivers around?

If so, why dont the ones organising the protest just get a different job?
    It'll take a few taxi drivers off the road and then they can have a nice sense of achievement in that they helped solve the problem they are complainiang about!

Too many taxi drivers on the roads yet there never one around when you want them!

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    Too many taxi drivers on the roads yet there never one around when you want them!
    That's because all the fúckers are out when nobody needs them. And none of them at so-called Peak-Times.

Queues a bleedin' mile long of people at every rank on a Saturday night, and if you go down O'Connell Street this evening, the rank there at the Parnell Street end, there'll be fifty of the bastards there scratching their holes complaining about there being no work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

there'll be fifty of the bastards there scratching their holes complaining about there being no work.

maybe if they got off the ranks and drove a bit they might pick up a fair. I'll put my taxi driver hat on for a minite.....lets see i can see 10 cabs sitting on a a rank, I know I'll join them business must be booming

. yeah good logical sense that one. take the hint 10 cars sitting there means no one is getting into on from the rank.

dade wrote: »
    maybe if they got off the ranks and drove a bit they might pick up a fair

Can't drive in this bleedin' traffic bud. It's bleedin' terrubil it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

So off you go
    dump on us again!

I think taxi drivers should earn €60,000 a year. After all those years in taxi college, they deserve it. Where would we be without the oracles that drive us home at night. Its amazing the way taxi drivers know everything.

Another thing I especially love is how friendly the call center staff are. "Hello, XXX taxis, how are you today sir? Where would you like to go? Thats fine sir, we will be with you in 20 mins, and you have a great day"

So off you go
    dump on us again!

Hey wait a minute... 30 seconds of beeping your horn? Holy shít batten down the hatches lads, this could get ugly :eek:

fortunately for me though Im not allowed to negotiate with terrorists. But thank you for dispersing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭roy123456789

Top stuff , I really enjoyed reading that, thanks for taking the bait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

Id love to be a taxi driver.....it would get like an agony aunt..with drunken puke :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

Or the worst one is stopping the taxi and asking where your going

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Bunch of smelly,breakfast-roll eating bastards.Half of them would rob the eye out of your head and rape your bird afterwards.Remember how much sympathy the thieving bastards got during de-regulation?About as much as paedophiles on strike would've gotten.If they dont like the job they can go to hell,we've the worst taxi system in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

get off the fence degsy, do you like them or don't you??!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

tbh wrote: »
    get off the fence degsy, do you like them or don't you??!?

LOL. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

I locked this. *giggle*