Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should i...??

• 13-05-2008 4:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

hey! a friend has asked me to go training with his GAA team but ive never played the game in my life!! im not bad at soccer but unfit and small build, its a junior b team. i know most the rules..id love to go but i am quite shy and think i will find it hard to go in to a team who all know each other years.......anyone have advice???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

smokie78 wrote: »
    hey! a friend has asked me to go training with his GAA team but ive never played the game in my life!! im not bad at soccer but unfit and small build, its a junior b team. i know most the rules..id love to go but i am quite shy and think i will find it hard to go in to a team who all know each other years.......anyone have advice???

go for it, anyway the standard of a junior b team wont be gunning for all-ireland glory! but the craic is good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭smokie78

i know haha i was told the standard is not great and there are few fatty's but im 30 and just find it hard at this age to go in to something so new, i should just stop being a bitch and go for it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

smokie78 wrote: »
    i know haha i was told the standard is not great and there are few fatty's but im 30 and just find it hard at this age to go in to something so new, i should just stop being a bitch and go for it!!!

definitely go for it you wont regret it,great sessions believe me:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

Try it.Its always fun watching rotund fellows running for a breaking ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Since you came to a GAA forum to ask this you know you want to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Try it.Its always fun watching rotund fellows running for a breaking ball
    Rugby forum
    >

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

Go for it, If it’s a junior B team half the personel will changes every year so it won’t be like these guys are a clique you can’t break into.

It’s great craic and being Junior B you will find it easier to adadpt to the game, especailly if you have any fitness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

Marse wrote: »

It’s great craic and being Junior B you will find it easier to adadpt to the game, especailly if you have any fitness.

Being that its Junior B whoever is incharge will surely give most the subs a run out every game, unless yer on a mad losing streak and are in a tight game and look like winning!
    But as said above, the craic will be good and you'll meet some good people and have a few pints too (you'll also meet the odd tosser too, but thats not confined to the just gaa in fairness!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭peewee18988

Hi

Just wonderin are there any clubs in greater Dublin looking for players. Haven't played in bout three years but am not too bad. Junior B standard wud prob suit.
    Cheers

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I am a keeper for our senior team and we were very short of players because of injuries and the like on Saturday. So for the junior b game (shortly after the Senior match) they played me as a target man... I haven't played outfield in years upon years and was like a headless chicken in honesty, but it gave the lads a good laugh.

That is what junior b is about, a good laugh without being too serious. Especially the league games. When it comes to championship time it will be far more competitive. Another example of this being when we had a senior match the night before a junior b match, everyone went on the piss after the senior game and the stench of alcohol around the dressing room for the Junior B match would intoxicate a sober person... Not one thing was said, if anything there was a laugh about it (and we actually went on to win the game!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Another example of this being when we had a senior match the night before a junior b match, everyone went on the piss after the senior game and the stench of alcohol around the dressing room for the Junior B match would intoxicate a sober person... Not one thing was said, if anything there was a laugh about it (and we actually went on to win the game!)

Haha quality, they were the good ould days. I remember being aged about 19 or that and a few of us went on pretty much an all nighter before a game on the Sunday. We were practically pissed playing the game and I don't think I ever ran as much in a game (not saying this is a technique that should be followed, its usually the opposite!)
    Anyways myself and 2 of the other "alchos" were pretty much top performers, and we went on to win the game!And one of their selectors was giving out that half of us were drunk etc and my ould lad piped up with "Jesus man, you wouldnt want to be going around broadcasting that ye were beaten by a shower or drunks!" :D:D good times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭smokie78

well lads i went and trained, was really good and most lads were friendly, i was a disaster when it came to getting the ball and kick passing it to others it was goin all over the place!!!! while walking off the pitch at the end, one lad said 'god doesnt get easier' i said 'well i wouldnt know thats my first time' he was very surprised so i felt good, goin back on tues!!! my legs are ****ing killing me!!! STILL!!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Fair play to you smokie, glad to hear you enjoyed it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Groe

Its great craic! I dont play gaelic for a team but love 0playing with the school even though I can barely kick the ball. Plus its easy to get to know the people even if you are shy im sure they will be sound