Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One year in jail for dropping the bomb

• 13-05-2008 3:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭

Well it seems new legislation is being drafted which will give you a whopping 12 months in jail, or a max fine of 5000 euro for exploding a nuclear bomb:

http://www.labour.ie/press/listing/12106773802394427.html

So all I need to take over the world with little or no consequences is to get my hands on some uranium....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Ciar&#225 wrote: »
    "This is beyond ridiculous. We've become accustomed to some barmy ideas coming from the John Gormley and his Green Party colleagues, but this takes the biscuit."

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Wow.

Seriously, how did these people get into such a position where they can draft such daft legislation? I mean, sure some kind of brain is needed, but they appear to be lacking one, so wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

rb_ie wrote: »
    Wow.

Seriously, how did these people get into such a position where they can draft such daft legislation? I mean, sure some kind of brain is needed, but they appear to be lacking one, so wtf?

Think about how all that wasted time in the Dail could be used..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

12 months in jail is nothing! I think mess around with nuclear bombs more often now :pac:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

It doesnt say where you can detonate the bomb. All them Al Queda lads will gain Irish Citizenship, nuke the states, and only get a year here through extradition!

Wheres that application form...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I could be wrong and I haven't read the actual wording of the proposed legislation but I suspect this is being twisted a lot to make it seem more absurd. It's probably a law related to corporations doing nuclear testing which encompasses any nuclear explosion/accident. It's probably aimed at CEOs who run companies which do nuclear testing and not as a disincentive to terrorist organisations. That's my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Nuclear powered battle suit FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Think about how all that wasted time in the Dail could be used..
    Sometimes I feel as though they just take turns spinning eachother around on swivvle chairs and daring eachother to come up with crazier ideas, then bet against eachother on the outcome of the reaction to the proposals.

Its pronounced NoooKleeauuuur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

javaboy wrote: »
    I could be wrong and I haven't read the actual wording of the proposed legislation but I suspect this is being twisted a lot to make it seem more absurd. It's probably a law related to corporations doing nuclear testing which encompasses any nuclear explosion/accident. It's probably aimed at CEOs who run companies which do nuclear testing and not as a disincentive to terrorist organisations. That's my guess.

Agreed. This is just sensationalist rubbish, especially when it's in relation to a Nuclear Test Ban Bill, it takes a bit of a clown to read something else into that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Id rather get get a year for dropping the hand....

ohhhhhhhh yeah giggidy giggidy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

*Sigh*
    Facepalm to all of you, this is retarded.

Firstly, if people die in the nuclear explosion, or property is damaged, you would be liable. So its not a case of drop the bomb, serve 12 months.

Secondly, AFAIK this legislation is an attempt by the Greens to stop nuclear power ever entering Ireland, and to stop those colleges that use nuclear technology for science experiments (there are like two). Also its to stop companies doing the same.

Not all nuclear technology goes Boom!

Neither does all scientific progress go Boink!

*Sigh*

Firstly, if people die in the nuclear explosion, or property is damaged, you would be liable. So its not a case of drop the bomb, serve 12 months.

Secondly, AFAIK this legislation is an attempt by the Greens to stop nuclear power ever entering Ireland, and to stop those colleges that use nuclear technology for science experiments (there are like two). Also its to stop companies doing the same.

On behalf of Karl Hungus and myself, I resent that facepalm. :D We amn't wetarded!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

*Sigh*

Well then the legislation is still stupid...I don't agree with stopping research using nuclear technology. I know not all nuclear technology goes "boom", I just thought the headline on the news was funny.

Oh, I disagree with the legislation, but I still think that Labour's take on it is...................idiotic.

On behalf of Karl Hungus and myself, I resent that facepalm. :D We amn't wetarded!
    Sorry, after rereading your contributions, I withdraw my facepalm from javaboy and Karl Hungas.

Long may they continue to to fight the evil forces of crude soundbites and general idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

They're creating jobs, fair play I say.

Sorry, after rereading your contributions, I withdraw my facepalm from javaboy and Karl Hungas.

Long may they continue to to fight the evil forces of crude soundbites and general idiocy.

We're getting our costumes next week! :D

A city ordinance states that a $500 fine will be given to anyone who detonates a nuclear device within city limits.
    (In California)

Source

Tried finding on Snopes.com if this was true or fake but couldn't find anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Hmm better not get caught then...

stop trying to de-tabloidize and bring an air of rationality into AH :mad: there are politics forums for that kind of rubbish

:mad::mad::mad:

stop trying to de-tabloidize and bring an air of rationality into AH :mad: there are politics forums for that kind of rubbish

:mad::mad::mad:

Sorry. Fecking Greens and their hairbrained ideas! They should hang anyone caught detonating nookyular bombs from a lampost by their giblets. Hanging's too good for 'em! €5000 me arse!

Sorry. Fecking Greens and their hairbrained ideas! They should hang anyone caught detonating nookyular bombs from a lampost by their giblets. Hanging's to good for 'em! €5000 me arse!
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

All my dreams of becoming an evil villain are shattered :(

Sorry. Fecking Greens and their hairbrained ideas! They should hang anyone caught detonating nookyular bombs from a lampost by their giblets. Hanging's to good for 'em! €5000 me arse!

much better thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

So if I get caught + sent down for a year, I presume Im still entitled to time off for good behaviour :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I'm not sure if this is the bill, its from 2006. http://www.dail.ie/documents/bills28/bills/2006/4606/b4606.pdf

Only minor offences are dealt with by the district court. Serious offences can result in a life sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Victor wrote: »
    Serious offences can result in a life sentence.

Sure that's only a year.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

In fairness, I think there's a town in California with a $500 for detonating a nuclear device within city limits.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

If I dropped a bomb, there'd be none of ye left!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

DaveMcG wrote: »
    If I dropped a bomb, there'd be none of ye left!

I dropped a huge one earlier :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

peww, was wondering what that was......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

anyone who detonates a nuclear bomb in ireland will face a year in jail "LOL" or a maximum fine of 5,000 euro's. "LOL again" well i've compleatly given up on this backward government anyway but wtf is this. no wonder were laughed at all over the world. irish people are very intelligent but we keep letting these arseholes make dumb laws for us and do nothing but laugh. i'm still laughing as i'm typing this. i'll ask my dog what she thinks. might get an intelligent answer.

What did your dog say Zenno?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Victor wrote: »
    I'm not sure if this is the bill, its from 2006. http://www.dail.ie/documents/bills28/bills/2006/4606/b4606.pdf

Only minor offences are dealt with by the district court. Serious offences can result in a life sentence.

Legislation was/is written in such "GOBBLDY-GOOK", to give its technical term, is so that the average citizen (most ot us don't have Left training) simply so we don't understand it and give up 3 paragraphs in. The juicy bits, (giving leg up to developers and keeping the Cartels nice and cosy) are usually buried under a mile of indecipherable gobbledygook.

There rant over at 05.00 hrs so ye should be safe for the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

the dog said wtf then said wroof gobbledygook wroof