Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Presence: Does it make you feel secure or insecure?

• 13-05-2008 1:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭

When you're somewhere and there are a lot of Gardaí about, does it make you feel more or less safe/secure?

Personally, I'm not someone who'd be publically committing crimes, and there's not any reason I'd be worried that I might get arrested, but when I'm somewhere where there's a large Garda presence, I tend to feel a little on edge and insecure.

Does anyone else feel like this, or is it just me? If so, have you got any idea why? I can't come to any logical conclusion, perhaps it's just a natural fear of the presence of authority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

I'd prefer if they were around and would feel a lot more secure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    When you're somewhere and there are a lot of Gardaí about, does it make you feel more or less safe/secure?

Personally, I'm not someone who'd be publically committing crimes, and there's not any reason I'd be worried that I might get arrested, but when I'm somewhere where there's a large Garda presence, I tend to feel a little on edge and insecure.

Does anyone else feel like this, or is it just me? If so, have you got any idea why? I can't come to any logical conclusion, perhaps it's just a natural fear of the presence of authority.

Yeah i know what you mean, its like your on defense against them or its the fear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I definitely feel irrationally nervous when I see lots of Gardai around, even though I'm always behaving myself!

My rational mind always thinks it's a good thing to see them around, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's only a worry when they have my house surrounded.
    So usually no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

insecure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Insecure. The majority of Garda are afraid of their own shadows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

kyub wrote: »
    Insecure. The majority of Garda are afraid of their own shadows.

Yeah, and they get loads of stuff for free. And since the Irish was dropped as a requirement to join, there will be Garda Asylum Seekers, and they will get free houses and free cars, and they will be allowed to take anyones' job too. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

It depends if im breaking any laws at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

On nights out in Dublin, seeing the Gardaí patrolling makes me feel more secure alright. There used to not be any of them around a few years back, now there seems to be a good few, and I think that can only be a good thing.

When I was in NY for the New Year, on New Years Eve ever street had hundreds of cops on it. A lot just standing around having a chat with eachother, some complaining about how bored they were, but their presence definitely made me feel more secure given the sheer amount of people that were around. They were also very friendly and helpful when we needed directions.

Overall I like to see the Gardaí around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i really couldn't care less
    The news emerged last night after reports that the ombudsman is examining CCTV footage which captured the alleged assault on film. It is understood that this is the first time the watchdog has used CCTV as part of a probe into Garda conduct.

The investigation was launched after the family of the college student lodged a formal complaint with Garda authorities following an incident in the city centre in February 2007.

The student was among a group of late-night revellers who had gathered around the Grand Parade area of the city. It is understood the former officer at the centre of the probe had his Garda hat knocked off his head in a prank.

The students ran away towards the Clarke’s Bridge area and were pursued by a number of gardaí where the alleged assault took place.

There are unconfirmed reports that two other gardaí witnessed the incident, but did not intervene.

They have also denied any wrongdoing.

The student was taken to hospital and required stitches for an injury to his forehead.

but i'm not a student

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Sounds like they deserved it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Insecure.

Especially when I am queing up for a breaki roll at half 8 in the morning and I see them wearing the stab proof vests.

Jesus like you wouldn't mind em wearing them in a large city but a little town
    like this in east cork? They must feel like their in a SWAT team or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Ya, I know what you mean. It's normal enough i'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Garda presence? what Garda presence? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I feel more secure with an increased Garda presence. Henry st seems better aswell lately that Garda are patrolling it up and down.

Also I agree with RB's point on the city centre. Feel much safer now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I'd feel nervous at 1am in slapper-face-jacks surounded by several large hairy drunk ban-gardai.

*no I dont go there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Only really ever see them at big events, concerts etc.

I'd feel secure either way at something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭barnacle

I wouldn't trust them as far as I could throw them, and seeing the size of them, that wouldn't be far at all. So they make me on edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

stevec wrote: »
    I'd feel nervous at 1am in slapper-face-jacks surounded by several large hairy drunk ban-gardai.

*no I dont go there

Where are all the slappers in that place, I can't find them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Secure for me , I like to see them round especially at venues and the like , in case of any dodgyness going down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

kowloon wrote: »
    Where are all the slappers in that place, I can't find them :(

kowloon you gotta come with me ! I can find you male slappers if that's any help?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I'd generally feel quite secure and would prefare to have them around at big events, even just seeing a Garda presence on the streets is great.

I don't break the law so I'd have no reason to feel anyway uneasy about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PRND

I'd prefer not to have them around to be honest. Having been to see 2 many djs at Dublin Castle, there were two Gardai leaning against the railings opposite Eddie Rocket's. These two guys were big red-faced lumps who looked like they had only been off the farm one week. They couldn't even be bothered to stand up straight. I'd say they had nothing in common whatsoever with the people going to the concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I have done a fair bit of travelling and being honest it really is assuring to enter a town or city and see the presence of the local Gardai ... They do leave me with a feeling of security inrespective of whether they are in huge numbers like the bank-holiday just gone or even in handy numbers like 8-10 on foot-patol or driving around ... defo thumbs up for feeling safer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

bronte wrote: »
    kowloon you gotta come with me ! I can find you male slappers if that's any help?!?

It just wouldn't be the same :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

dunno about the gardai, but i always get mental paranoid walking past customs in airports, even though i wouldnt dare try to carry something through, i just look guilty. ive often been pulled aside and searched/questioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Depends on whether there are dodgier people than me around or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

I like to see them around, they do make me feel safer.

Nevertheless, I do guiltily search my mind to see if I'm doing anything illegal or have committed any crimes lately. They just have that affect on me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭BJC

I don't really notice them, I'd just like to know that they're there if I needed them which they so frequentley are not due to a part-time station in the village.

But hate seeing them when I'm driving, always think I'm doing something wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Depends. I do get nervous when I see 'em around, but I like knowing they're there. That said, I don't think they've got the hang of doing the kind of easy-going casual street cop thing that other countries forces do. Guards tend to look like they're looking for something...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

it depends, if I have any weed on me I get nervous.. but if I don't have anything illegal it's good to see them around.