Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frederick Street Dublin Buslane

• 12-05-2008 6:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭

Just a quick question about frederick street in Dublin is it a bus only road heading towards the river ?. I was dropping my mate into town on the may bank holiday Monday, he doesn't own a car himself, so
    I just followed his usual buses route. Anyway, I got pulled by the gardai for driving in a buslane, I knew at one point I was in the lane, but as far as I recalled there wasnt any normal lane, I was a bit distracted at the time however.

Its only a 60 euro fine fortunately, i was a bit worried the garda might have tried a driving without due care on me, as I said I didnt know i was in a bus lane and I had that vacant look on my face that somebody whos been gaming late the night before has. I gotta admit im still a bit miffed tho, there's a difference between a poor lost corkman on a quiet bank holiday afternoon and some cheeky fecker whos trying to skip queues of traffic during rush hour,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭KC61

ageary08 wrote: »
    Just a quick question about frederick street in Dublin is it a bus only road heading towards the river ?. I was dropping my mate into town on the may bank holiday Monday, he doesn't own a car himself, so
    I just followed his usual buses route. Anyway, I got pulled by the gardai for driving in a buslane, I knew at one point I was in the lane, but as far as I recalled there wasnt any normal lane, I was a bit distracted at the time however.

Its only a 60 euro fine fortunately, i was a bit worried the garda might have tried a driving without due care on me, as I said I didnt know i was in a bus lane and I had that vacant look on my face that somebody whos been gaming late the night before has. I gotta admit im still a bit miffed tho, there's a difference between a poor lost corkman on a quiet bank holiday afternoon and some cheeky fecker whos trying to skip queues of traffic during rush hour,

North Frederick Street is a 24 hour contra-flow bus lane southbound - no cars or taxis - only buses and cycles allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭bazzer

ageary08 wrote: »
    pulled by the gardai for driving in a buslane

You may be able to contest this, if the fine was given specifically for "driving in a bus lane". The street itself is not a bus lane and not marked as such. The northern entrance (Dorset Street junction) is restricted to entry by public transport and the like, but local traffic wishing to access Hardwicke Street (just off North Frederick Street) can gain entry northbound and southbound from the junction with Denmark Street (at Parnell Square).

If you were 'caught' between the junctions of Hardwicke Street and Denmark Street, then you may be able to claim that you were part of local access traffic and so can't be touched. If, however, you were observed by the garda actually entering from Dorset Street, then there's nothing you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭mackerski

KC61 wrote: »
    North Frederick Street is a 24 hour contra-flow bus lane southbound - no cars or taxis - only buses and cycles allowed.

Contra-what-flow? The previous traffic flow here was southbound, as it is now. Any bus lane here would be with-flow. But the OP did have to drive past what I recall as being a qualified no-entry sign at the mouth of the restriction, so it's not something I'd be quick to argue in front of a judge if it were me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭KC61

mackerski wrote: »
    Contra-what-flow? The previous traffic flow here was southbound, as it is now. Any bus lane here would be with-flow. But the OP did have to drive past what I recall as being a qualified no-entry sign at the mouth of the restriction, so it's not something I'd be quick to argue in front of a judge if it were me.

The traffic flow was reversed on North Frederick Street a couple of years ago to be northbound only from Parnell Square to Dorset Street for general traffic with a contra-flow (i.e. southbound) bus lane.

I think that you'll find that each of the two junctions along North Frederick Street between Dorset Street and Denmark Street has signs directing cars coming from side streets northbound only along North Frederick Street. The only point where a car can turn left from a side street onto this route is for cars turning out of Denmark Street onto Parnell Square East. They must then turn either left onto Parnell Street or right onto Parnell Square South.

Between Dorset Street and Denmark Street, North Frederick Street southbound is definitely bus and cycle only - i.e. a contra-flow bus lane.

It's contra-flow in a sense all right, but there are no road markings or signs indicating an actual bus lane.

If I had parked my car in a space at the very northernmost point on the street after travelling from Parnell Square, and I wished to u-turn back down towards Parnell Square, I could legally do so, as I would not be travelling in a bus lane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ageary08

Thanks for the replys, at least I know I was fecked the minute I went down the godforsaken street instead of being pulled for just being in the wrong lane. I swear I didnt see a sign either, I think i remeber the signage at the enterance to that street being cluttered. Anyway, moral of the story: my mate can take the bus next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭mackerski

The traffic flow was reversed on North Frederick Street a couple of years ago to be northbound only from Parnell Square to Dorset Street for general traffic with a contra-flow (i.e. southbound) bus lane.

Google aerial imagery seems to back you up there. It shows how rarely I've driven down there since they applied the restriction.

bazzer wrote: »
    If I had parked my car in a space at the very northernmost point on the street after travelling from Parnell Square, and I wished to u-turn back down towards Parnell Square, I could legally do so, as I would not be travelling in a bus lane.

I have to correct myself here. Today, I noticed a rather newish sign at the exit from Hardwick Street with a 'no left turn' restriction. This means that local traffic can enter Hardwick Street from Denmark Street/Parnell Square, but can exit only by turning right up to the Dorset Street junction - and then only left towards Bolton Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Yulkmn

Hi, just a quick question I know it may be an old thread but, this evening I turned left from dorset street onto fredrick street where after i turned i saw a sign saying only buses, taxis and cyclists allowed, I wasnt pulled over by the garda, but i made the journey back to see if there was any cameras insight and to my misfortune i noticed on a poll 2 cameras one pointing down fredrick street and one down dorset street , I am wondering if anybody knows if these are regular traffic cameras or actual cameras that catch people like me who make the left turn..?
    I went into the local chipper to ask and he believes them to be just traffic cameras, but they looked pretty big and he also said that he himself made the turn several times and never got anything in the post.. Not sure weather to trust the local chipper employee or to go to the garda station in the morning ask..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MGWR

Oh? What was wrong with Granby Row?

Dublin's gone mad. The people running the city want to eviscerate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

MGWR wrote: »

Dublin's gone mad. The people running the city want to eviscerate it.

Granby Row is one of the (very) few Traffic Management measures that actually works as it should.
    The provision of a Central Bus Lane for Dorset St/Drumcondra bound buses coupled with a significantly set-back stop line for Southbound Traffic on Dorset St has eliminated the (now almost forgotten) queues of buses every evening,inching along Granby Row to batter their way around onto Dorset St.
    The only issues at the junction remain the Taxi traffic serving the Maldron Hotel and the largely ignored No Left Turn restriction on general traffic heading Westbound on Granby Row.

Inexpensive Junction arrangements such as this,can and do provide great benefits,however,the continued reluctance of the Authorities to effectively monitor and police them,can be a problem.

Junction Monitoring Cameras are,by now,old and well proven technology,and both the Gardai & Dublin City Council need to rapidly drag themselves into the 21st Century in this regard.

Forget about banning manouveres...instead,apply a price to them....

PEAK HOUR LEFT TURN-€200 + 2 POINTS.STRAIGHT AHEAD-FREE OF CHARGE....YOU CHOOSE (Have a nice Day :))

Revenue would increase in the short-term,before the link between an empty Bank Account and being a Jinnet became astablished,but in very short order it would !

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

MGWR wrote: »

Dublin's gone mad....
    You do realise this thread is 10 years old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Yulkmn

yeah I kind of brought it back to life haha