Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did anyone ever try picking up the coins off the ground on the westlink toll bridge?

• 10-05-2008 10:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

I have pass the West link a good few times on a motorbike and have always noticed a heap of coins some embedded in the tar at the westlink. A few years ago I got off my bike and attempted to grab as many as I could :). Your one at the toll booth said that they were toll bridge property. I disputed and insisted that these were a free for all and belonged to motorists that dropped them accidentally while attempting to pay the toll. I am sure over the years all these coins add up as a nice handy tip for those that are working there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

What the hell is a tollbridge?
    You city folks should stick to your own forums rather than confusing us poor pikies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Well NTR own the bridge and the road on it, so it stands to reason that they own any coins embedded in or lying on the surface.
    You wouldn't deprive a poor vulnerable private company of their takings would you? Have you any idea how much it costs to maintain the bridge and pay people to collect a tax...sorry toll? I mean they've only had a decade or two to try and claw back the enormous outlay they made in building it....those coins could be the difference between profit and loss on this year's balance sheets...
    Shame on you....it's like stealing from a blind beggar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

For anyone who doesn't know, the Westlink Toll Bridge is in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭St Bill

Wertz wrote: »
    Shame on you....it's like stealing from a blind beggar.

Or candy from a baby

Whats a toolbridge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Wertz wrote: »
    Well NTR own the bridge and the road on it, so it stands to reason that they own any coins embedded in or lying on the surface.
    So if I owned a shop and you come in to purchase something and accidentally drop a score on the ground it automatically becomes mine :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Dudess wrote: »
    For anyone who doesn't know, the Westlink Toll Bridge is in Dublin.
    Thanks!

Just be lucky you wont be a billy goat gwuff when you cwoss the toll bwidge

(or something)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

You should alwaws have a look in the coin rejection slot :D Can get 2 euros back sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

On a similar note, have a look on the ground after gigs for money.

Was at Boys Noize in Spy last night and managed to pick up €8 when it finished. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

I have pass the West link a good few times on a motorbike and have always noticed a heap of coins some embedded in the tar at the westlink. A few years ago I got off my bike and attempted to grab as many as I could . Your one at the toll booth said that they were toll bridge property. I disputed and insisted that these were a free for all and belonged to motorists that dropped them accidentally while attempting to pay the toll. I am sure over the years all these coins add up as a nice handy tip for those that are working there.

I hope you told her to feck off and continued picking up any change you saw. My money would be on the workers after every shift going outside to 'clean up' their area. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Always look on the ground near the bar in nightclubs. Im work on the door of a "club" and there is always money on the floor. I found €15 last night, one of the lads came out with €90 one night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I dropped the entire contents of my pocket onto the bit between two booths

(I'm on a bike, so I pull into the middle to take out the money first so I don't have a queue build up behind me while i go through the glove off glove on shuffle)

Anyhoo, a manager comes running out of that central building and gives out to me for picking up my own money.
    I would have understood if it was a safety thing, but it was all about the money.

I've been told since that the toll bridge brings in enough to cover their staff from people not taking their change and the like. Since the bridge is paid for at this stage the profit must be pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

St Bill wrote: »

Or candy from a baby

Or candy from a blind baby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

You stopped and got off your bike on a motorway - correct me if I'm wrong but isn't illegal except in emergencies? Taking some spare change isn't an emergency...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

Wishing wells are more morally acceptable. Then you're only technically robbing the genie who can always wish for some more money.

MYOB wrote: »
    You stopped and got off your bike on a motorway - correct me if I'm wrong but isn't illegal except in emergencies? Taking some spare change isn't an emergency...
    Nope bikers do not have the privilege to keep loose change handy when we approach the toll booth. Sometimes its easier to dismount the bike altogether when rooting for change. They must stop the bike take off gloves, put hands in pockets, find change pay the toll, put gloves back on, get back on the bike and move on. Anyone who rides a bike or gets stuck behind one will understand. If they made motorcycles exempt they would not have this unnecessary delay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

Sherifu wrote: »
    Thanks!

This thread should be in the dublin forum..
    If i started a thread about the toll in cork, ye'd all go mad, so ye would, and it would be shipped off to the cork forum before i could even bat an eyelid, so it would....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

kowloon wrote: »

(I'm on a bike, so I pull into the middle to take out the money first so I don't have a queue build up behind me while i go through the glove off glove on shuffle)

Wow, your so considerate. I used to do that too. Had a change of mind though, now I take as long as humanly possible fumbling for change. Tough luck for anyone foolish enough to get in the same queue as me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Not so much considerate as much as I hate having a line of @ssholes behind me beeping at me and causing me to make mistakes, such as dropping my change :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Pick the lot up if you have to, f*ck the NTR.